Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Acai Berry(483)
Aloe Vera(562)
Artichoke(21)
Astragalus(110)
Beet Root(25)
Berries(230)
Bilberry(104)
Boswellia(87)
Broccoli(17)
Chamomile(30)
Chia Seeds(482)
Chrysin(37)
Cinnamon(281)
Curcumin(103)
Dandelion(73)
Echinacea(161)
Elderberry(126)
Eleuthero(26)
Eyebright(39)
Fenugreek(120)
Feverfew(27)
Flaxseed(278)
Fo-Ti(45)
Garlic(326)
Ginger(150)
Ginseng(265)
Gotu Kola(34)
Green Tea(487)
Guggul(24)
Hawthorn(111)
Hibiscus(15)
Horsetail(38)
Kelp(190)
Kudzu(8)
Maca(317)
Mullein(24)
Mushrooms(290)
Neem(52)
Oregano(311)
Osha(1)
Other Herbs(1,873)
Pine Bark(62)
Pygeum(11)
Raspberry(62)
Relora(28)
Rose Hips(25)
Rosemary(18)
Senna(39)
Skullcap(34)
Suma Root(10)
Tribulus(15)
Triphala(176)
Turmeric(773)
Valerian(269)
Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Holy Basil or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Holy Basil Extract -- 800 mg per serving - 180 Vegetarian Capsules

High-quality standardized natural extract of a traditional Ayurvedic herb. What is holy basil? Holy basil is an aromatic herb from the Lamiaceae (mint) family with small slightly hairy leaves and a strong clove-like scent. Native to India holy basil (also called tulsi) has been used for centuries for culinary health and religious purposes.  . How does holy basil support health? In traditional Ayurvedic medicine holy basil is used for balance stress and longevity. Holy basil contains tannins flavonoids and an essential oil. Holy basil essential oil is sometimes used for skin-health purposes. Why choose Vitacost Holy Basil Extract? Supplies 800 mg of holy basil extract per 2-capsule serving. Standardized to ensure consistent levels of active ingredients in each dose. Suitable for vegetarians. Extremely high quality at a great value. About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP). .  .  .  . * These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
22 out of 24(92%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Holy Basil Extract -- 800 mg per serving - 180 Vegetarian Capsules
Review 1 for Vitacost Holy Basil Extract -- 800 mg per serving - 180 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BCgal
fromVictoria, BC, Canada
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
good quality, good price
 May 11, 2015
"Been taking this for several months now. Calms menopausal jitters and makes me feel more balanced. The Vitacost brand is as effective if not more so than any of the more expensive brands I've tried."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Holy Basil Extract -- 800 mg per serving - 180 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dd2u
fromCleveland, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
A recommended adaptogen
 April 17, 2015
"I ordered this the same time as I did ashwagandha, while putting my formerly used Rhodiola on the shelf. I believe in the power of adaptogens to control stress and cortisol so I will have to see how these 2 compare. For now, I am using the Ashwagandha in the mornings, and if I'm feeling a little wiry, take the Holy Basil at night, which seems to calm me into more restful sleep. Am I less stressed? I do feel calmer...but have had a surge of energy since using these 2 supplements...to the point of completing a bathroom remodel which has been on the back burner for 2 years. Something's working!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Holy Basil Extract -- 800 mg per serving - 180 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beach60
fromAynor, SC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 April 8, 2015
"Great Product, been taking it 2 years."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Holy Basil Extract -- 800 mg per serving - 180 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
kimmie672
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Not as good
 February 5, 2015
"I have used Planetary Herbals and New Chapter Holy basil. This vitacost Holy Basil had little to NO effect on me, whereas even the extremely inexpensive Planetary Herbals was much more effective, and the New Chapter was very effective."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Holy Basil Extract -- 800 mg per serving - 180 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sherber
fromsarasota, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
highest qualitty
 January 20, 2015
"this product delivers the potency for tranquility desired effect."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Holy Basil Extract -- 800 mg per serving - 180 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NOTEK
fromCHICAGO
VALUE
 November 1, 2014
"EXCELLENT VALUE"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Holy Basil Extract -- 800 mg per serving - 180 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pamela2012
fromFort Collins, CO
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Always keep this on hand!
 August 23, 2014
"Vitacost Holy Basil is a mainstay in my whole health routine. It helps sooth as well as calm me. Effective & the price is very reasonable."
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Holy Basil Extract -- 800 mg per serving - 180 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HeatherSays
fromToronto, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Vitacost Holy Basil
 June 30, 2014
"So, I've used other brands of Holy Basil which were excellent and this was my first time trying Vitacost Brand Holy Basil and it's excellent - as good as the other stuff. Holy Basil is a great way to start the day. :)"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Holy Basil Extract -- 800 mg per serving - 180 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CMrBill
fromSouth Florida
Age:75+
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
 March 19, 2014
"I have found this product great for balance and relaxing. I have also been taking it in the form of Tulsi tea which is delicious."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Holy Basil Extract -- 800 mg per serving - 180 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dog555
fromOhio
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Recommend all give it a try as benefits outstandin
 March 15, 2014
"Like the 800 mg vs 450."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Holy Basil Extract -- 800 mg per serving - 180 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mact
fromGrand Rapids mi
 February 23, 2014
"This is a great product, I use it everyday."
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Holy Basil Extract -- 800 mg per serving - 180 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
BeyondHealth86
fromLong Island, NY
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Good price and value
 December 20, 2013
"Seems to be helping my mood."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Holy Basil Extract -- 800 mg per serving - 180 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sydney0800
fromColorado
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Love that Basil!
 April 27, 2013
"This supplement makes me feel so good. Take it every day. Will certainly order again."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Holy Basil Extract -- 800 mg per serving - 180 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cheeta
fromMontana
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Very interesting product
 September 19, 2009
"Different taste and aroma.
Am enjoying taking it.
"
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost Holy Basil Extract -- 800 mg per serving - 180 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
FitnessFan
Holy Delight
 June 30, 2009
"Easy to swallow tablets seem to keep my spirits high. Since I'm generally upbeat, the holy basil may be enhancing what I already feel."
-1point
5of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost Holy Basil Extract -- 800 mg per serving - 180 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ssmcgee
fromLoveLand, Colorado
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
quite a good product
 September 24, 2008
"Holy basil taken twice a day has a wonderful calming effect on me. Less stressed and more intuned to the people around me.I have been taking this for awhile and will continue to."
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost Holy Basil Extract -- 800 mg per serving - 180 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
yolazz
fromcalifornia
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
heartburn to the bone
 January 19, 2008
"i ordered this product and i took it on a full stomach well
it never failed i always ended up with full blown heartburn i had to stop taking it and it was a shame because i had just opened the bottle
"
+8points
14of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost Holy Basil Extract -- 800 mg per serving - 180 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
vitavegemin
Holy Basil
 August 1, 2007
"Recommended by my physician - in combination with several other components."
-5points
3of 11voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Vitacost Holy Basil Extract -- 800 mg per serving - 180 Vegetarian Capsules
Based on the average of (6) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
4.7 / 5
4.7 / 5
6 out of 6 recommend this product