Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

5-HTP(542)
Algae(818)
Amino Acids(1,725)
Bee Pollen(311)
Caffeine(36)
Calcium(3,744)
Celadrin(79)
Charcoal(89)
Chitosan(43)
Chlorella(161)
Choline(135)
CoQ10(2,416)
Coconut Oil(3,788)
Collagen(285)
Colostrum(175)
D-Mannose(56)
DHEA(409)
DMAE(79)
EFAs(3,540)
EpiCor(35)
FOS(2)
Fish Oil(1,544)
GABA(185)
GLA(7)
GPLC(23)
Gelatin(15)
Glycine(9)
HGH(42)
Iodine(55)
Iron(545)
Krill Oil(728)
Lecithin(249)
Lithium(6)
Lutein(364)
Lycopene(102)
MSM(419)
Magnesium(2,024)
Melatonin(1,145)
Multivitamins(11,796)
NADH(51)
Omega-3(5,075)
Pectin(21)
Probiotics(5,620)
Propolis(72)
Pycnogenol(145)
Quercetin(130)
RNA/DNA(1)
Red Wine(11)
Relora(2)
SAMe(592)
Silica(19)
Soy(74)
Spirulina(108)
Vitamin A(150)
Vitamin B(5,001)
Vitamin C(2,873)
Vitamin D(2,638)
Vitamin E(515)
Vitamin K(305)
Yeast(62)
Zinc(372)
Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Flax Seed Oil or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Flax Seed Lignan Extract -- 40 mg - 120 Capsules

High-quality source of lignans from flax seed. Supports menopausal and post-menopausal women.*. What is Vitacost Flax Seed Lignans? Vitacost Flax Seed Lignans is a high-quality extract of lignans from flax seed. Lignans are natural plant compounds that have been intensively studied for their phytoestrogenic effects. Characteristic for phytoestrogens lignans can weakly bind to estrogen receptors. A sufficient level of lignans can compete with natural estrogen for estrogen receptors helping to balance estrogen levels. This basic mechanism has different effects in men and women. The main lignan in flax is secoisolariciresinol diglucoside (SDG). When ingested micro-organisms in the colon convert SDG into enterodiol and enterolactone the so-called mammalian lignans. These are the body's own active forms of lignans. How do flax seed lignans support health? Can help modulate estrogen levels thereby supporting some of the symptoms of menopause.*. May support healthy cognitive function in women 20 to 30 years postmenopausal.*. May support healthy bones.*. Helps maintain prostate health.*. Why choose Vitacost Flax Seed Lignans? Supplies 40 mg of lignans per capsule. Features LinumLife a high-quality standardized source of flax seed lignans. Contains 120 servings per bottle. Exceptional quality at an extraordinary value. About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP).  .  .  . *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.538 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
12 out of 13(92%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Flax Seed Lignan Extract -- 40 mg - 120 Capsules
Review 1 for Vitacost Flax Seed Lignan Extract -- 40 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromCork, Ireland
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Must be good for you...
 May 13, 2015
"This product must be good for you since they are always trying to stuff it into bread for maximum goodness. I prefer it this way. The tablet is easy to take...just one a day. Happy with it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Flax Seed Lignan Extract -- 40 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Arelle
fromUSA
No more hot flashes!
 December 12, 2014
"I have had relief from symptoms of menopause with this product, most notably from the hot flashes, which used to keep me awake at night."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Flax Seed Lignan Extract -- 40 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
London777
fromDuluth, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Excellent product.
 October 3, 2014
"I purchased this product in hopes that it would help my hot flashes/menopausal sweating especially at night. Imagine my surprise and joy when I took one capsule three hours before bedtime and it eliminated all hot flashes/sweating. I was able to sleep comfortably."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Flax Seed Lignan Extract -- 40 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
AudreyTwo
fromGilbert, AZ
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Easy to swallow
 May 21, 2014
"As large as the pill is to take, it goes down easily."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Flax Seed Lignan Extract -- 40 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everest
fromNYC
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
large quantity, easy-swallow caps, good price
 December 2, 2013
"large quantity, easy-swallow caps, good price"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Flax Seed Lignan Extract -- 40 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
1mamac
fromFlorence South Carolina
Age:35-44
Good product
 August 10, 2013
"It is a good product."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Flax Seed Lignan Extract -- 40 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
rogerinwilmington
fromwilmington, nc
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
40 mg flax lignans
 February 20, 2013
"this is the most powerful and least expensive flax lignans
i've found. this is an excellent product. flax is the best
source of plant lignans in the world.
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Flax Seed Lignan Extract -- 40 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jbirder
fromnortheast Texas
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Seed substitute!
 March 10, 2010
"Ordinarily I add freshly ground flax seeds to my morning cereal for the added fiber and the protective lignans. But when I travel I use this product instead to continue the protection without the seeds."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Flax Seed Lignan Extract -- 40 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Hearty
fromCalifornia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Did not work for me
 August 26, 2008
"I had hoped that the flax seed lignans would relieve my hot flash/menopausal sweating, but it did not. I was taking 1-2 capsules a day for more than 2 weeks, and it did not alleviate it. Some days it seemed worse, but that was probably coincidental. Previously, I had been taking flax seed oil, which also did not have a positive effect."
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Flax Seed Lignan Extract -- 40 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Macey
Excellent Product
 November 28, 2007
"This is a great flax seed lignan product. This is good for so many things everyone should take it. I was starting to have hot flashes which were annoying. I didn't want to take hormones so I tried this. After one day, no more hot flashes! I swear by it now."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Flax Seed Lignan Extract -- 40 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bratkat
Awesome Product!
 June 18, 2007
"I think this is an awesome product and the price is FANTASTIC! One of the highest standardized lignan products out there that I could find!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Vitacost Flax Seed Lignan Extract -- 40 mg - 120 Capsules
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
2 out of 2 recommend this product