Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Amino Acids or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Vitacost.

Vitacost L-Glutamine -- 2000 mg per serving - 300 Capsules

Strengthen and defend yourself against stress and muscle fatigue!*. What is L-glutamine? L-glutamine is an amino acid found in a proportionally high amount in the body compared to other amino acids. Scientists consider L-glutamine to be a conditionally essential amino acid meaning its intake is not normally required in the diet. L-glutamine is the most abundant amino acid in blood plasma and a major transporter of nitrogen. It is an important precursor for protein synthesis and it supports cellular functions of all types. L-glutamine is also a precursor of L-glutamate (an amino acid involved in energy metabolism). How does L-glutamine support health? Assists in the process of exercise recovery and helps maintain nitrogen/ammonia balance for better muscle metabolism.*. Helps maintain normal function of the entire gastrointestinal tract.*. Under physiological stress L-glutamine may have to be supplied by diet to maintain normal gut liver immune and muscle function.*. Why choose Vitacost L-Glutamine? Delivers 2000 mg of L-glutamine per 4-capsule serving. Contains 75 servings per container. High quality at an incredible value! About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP).  .  .  . *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.409 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
19 out of 22(86%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost L-Glutamine -- 2000 mg per serving - 300 Capsules
Review 1 for Vitacost L-Glutamine -- 2000 mg per serving - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
immortalnlb
Must have!
 September 4, 2013
"Good stuff, helps the muscles recover more rapidly than without it! Glutamine also helps decrease recovery time therefore, it improves one's ability to perform longer with less overall fatigue when you stop the activity."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost L-Glutamine -- 2000 mg per serving - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mightymite
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Excellent recovery
 July 24, 2013
"I always use this product after a hard workout. It helps me recover quickly and be prepared for my next session."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost L-Glutamine -- 2000 mg per serving - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JWQDDS
fromDenver
Age:75+
Gender:Male
 May 15, 2013
"I like all of the supplements I get here ,that's why I keep coming back.
Thanks
JWQDDS
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost L-Glutamine -- 2000 mg per serving - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MC99
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Love it <3
 May 12, 2013
"Great product for the price!
Vitacost shipping is fast and well done!
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost L-Glutamine -- 2000 mg per serving - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Glutamine
fromIndependence, MO
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great product for sugar cravings and gut repair!
 August 6, 2012
"This is an amazing product! It curbs sugar cravings better than anything I have ever used and trust me, I have used a lot of supplements over the years. It gives great energy without the shakes and improves over all alertness. Must have if you're trying to cut sugar from your diet."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost L-Glutamine -- 2000 mg per serving - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
shaull
frompa
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
great product and value
 May 2, 2012
"Love this product and will purchase again."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost L-Glutamine -- 2000 mg per serving - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Lifelong
So-so
 June 9, 2010
"I didn't like that the serving size is 4 tablets. I'm going back to the powder and Jarrow tablets."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost L-Glutamine -- 2000 mg per serving - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Anonymous
misleading label
 May 22, 2010
"I bought this because it said 2000 mg per serving, and I thought that meant per capsule. But when I went to take it, I realized it only had 500 mg per capsule, so I need to take 4 pills to get the dose I want. This is really irritating, and I'll go back to Jarrow after this."
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost L-Glutamine -- 2000 mg per serving - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Turbo6x2
fromCaledonia, MI
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Not as good as other products I've used
 August 28, 2008
"It does not seem to have the same effect as the name brand but I would recommend it for the value"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost L-Glutamine -- 2000 mg per serving - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
FrankDB
fromPhillipsburg, KS
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great Product
 December 26, 2007
"This product is a good fit for anyone enhancing their workout with L-Glutamin. This item provides you with a substantial amount of this essential amino acid at a very good price. As far as results are concerned, I feel more energetic and the workout has a bigger impact on my muscular growth."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost L-Glutamine -- 2000 mg per serving - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mstrooperwife
great product
 September 13, 2007
"this is great. it helps me lose weight and it also
curbs my appetite from sweets along with taking chromium 500 mg
"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost L-Glutamine -- 2000 mg per serving - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
whisperingsage
fromHerlong CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
L Glutamine
 July 26, 2007
"I was under the impression when I bought it that each cap was 2 grams. When I got it, they were 500 mg each, necessitating me to take 4 instead of one. I went through them too fast this way."
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost L-Glutamine -- 2000 mg per serving - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
xtra1959
NSI L-Glutamine -- 300 Capsules
 May 22, 2007
"great product for a great price"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost L-Glutamine -- 2000 mg per serving - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Arlene
L Glutamine with Chromium
 May 17, 2007
"L Glutamine taken with chromium picolinate helps to aleviate cravings for sugar while on a low carb diet. At least it works for me! Try it, it can't hurt! I've been on a low carb diet off and on since 1999, and that keeps me on the straight and narrow!"
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Vitacost L-Glutamine -- 2000 mg per serving - 300 Capsules
Based on the average of (8) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
8 out of 8 recommend this product