Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

5-HTP(491)
Amino Acids(1,286)
Calcium(3,422)
CoQ10(2,293)
Coconut Oil(3,026)
EFAs(3,305)
Fish Oil(1,431)
Iron(507)
Krill Oil(708)
Magnesium(1,618)
Melatonin(984)
Multivitamins(10,635)
Omega-3(4,622)
Algae(718)
Bee Pollen(259)
Caffeine(85)
Celadrin(78)
Charcoal(82)
Chitosan(39)
Chlorella(127)
Choline(125)
Collagen(205)
Colostrum(170)
D-Mannose(43)
DHEA(364)
DMAE(74)
EFAs(104)
EpiCor(28)
FOS(2)
GABA(154)
GLA(6)
GPLC(27)
Gelatin(13)
Glycine(7)
HGH(33)
Iodine(40)
L-Lysine(142)
L-Theanine(191)
LPP(39)
Lecithin(220)
Lithium(3)
Lutein(308)
Lycopene(89)
MSM(369)
NADH(44)
Pectin(38)
Propolis(68)
Pycnogenol(128)
Quercetin(122)
RNA/DNA(1)
Red Wine(10)
Relora(2)
Silica(17)
Soy(97)
Taurine(73)
Yeast(69)
Probiotics(4,664)
SAMe(534)
Spirulina(79)
Vitamin A(128)
Vitamin B(4,240)
Vitamin C(2,576)
Vitamin D(2,254)
Vitamin E(456)
Vitamin K(243)
Whole Foods(1,140)
Zinc(332)
Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Alpha Lipoic Acid - ALA or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 700 mg - 240 Capsules

Powerful antioxidant combination provides anti-aging nutrition and may help promote healthy cardiovascular and cognitive function.*. What is Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl? Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl is a combination formula featuring two well-known antioxidant nutrients. Antioxidants are substances that help protect healthy cells throughout the body from free radical damage.*.  . Alpha lipoic acid (ALA) has been called a “universal antioxidant” because it is effective as an antioxidant in water-based substances such as blood while its reduced metabolite dihydrolipoic acid (DHLA) is effective in protecting fatty tissues and membranes.*.  . Acetyl L-Carnitine is the acetyl ester of carnitine an amino acid derivative and is distributed throughout the central and peripheral nervous system.  . ALA and ALC are known as mitochondrial antioxidants that can provide anti-aging nutrition.* Mitochondria are the “power plants” of cells providing the energy necessary to fuel a broad range of cellular processes.  . How does Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl support health? ALA may promote cardiovascular health by protecting against free radical damage.*. ALA and ALC can help to maintain blood pressure levels already within the normal range.*. ALC has been shown to reduce both physical and mental fatigue associated with aging.*. ALA enhances the antioxidant activity of vitamins C and E and coenzyme Q10. ALC is a precursor to the important brain neurotransmitter acetylcholine which contributes to the support of cognitive function and memory.*. Why choose Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl? Combines two antioxidant nutrients on one convenient formula. Exceptional quality at an extraordinary value. About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP). .  .  .  . *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.259 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
24 out of 27(89%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 700 mg - 240 Capsules
Review 1 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 700 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
fromBedford, Texas
Age:75+
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
NSI Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl
 July 10, 2010
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
"I have taken this product for some time and started it because my research showed that it had mitochondrial antioxidants that can provide anti-aging nutrition.*
As far as seeing any boby changes or feeling different I don't but based on my own interernet research feel the cell health benefits are worth the price"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 700 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
g522181
fromTN
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Fantastic Product
 March 18, 2010
"Excellent supplement providing the recommended dose of ALA with a dose of ALC. I highly recommend this product to anyone."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 700 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cat5
fromTexas
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great product
 February 26, 2010
"been taking this for years and can really tell a difference when I stop. I think this is the main reason people think I am 10 years younger than I really am. I have bought it other places but Vitacost has the best price and can't beat NSI products!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 700 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
hawkfan
fromIowa
Age:55-64
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Good supplement
 November 22, 2009
"As with most daily supplements, it is very difficult to observe short term improvements in your health. However, research suggests that this is a very positive addition to the diets of most people over forty. I think what can be observed is the quality of the supplement, capsule vs caplet, and the cost. On those measures I highly recommend this product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 700 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
toadhall
fromSanta Monica, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
get out your tums
 May 22, 2008
"I gave this product a very negative review because it was a complete waste of money for me. this particular formulation upset my stomach to the point where I could not take it. But since I had already opened the product, I was stuck with it. I have no trouble with most supplements, so if you are thinking about using this one, start small so you won't end up throwing your money away like I did."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 700 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Memory
fromNC
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Products always dependable
 December 18, 2007
"Great product. Vitacost really gets it out quickly."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 700 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromDetroit
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great product, excellent value!
 October 10, 2007
"I recently read an article on things you can do to slow the aging process and one of the items was to take 2000 mg of Acetyl L-Carnitine and 800 mg of Alpha Lipoic Acid daily. I started searching health food stores for these items and could not believe the price, so expensive! I checked online and found this product, in the exact dosage I needed, (I take 4 capsules daily) for an amazingly low price. My energy level is increased, I feel great, and people can't believe it when I reveal my age! (41)"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 700 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sjbp
makes a difference
 September 26, 2007
"I really notice a difference with my memory when I take this product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 700 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
YvonneCC
Great Value
 September 1, 2007
"I read all the articles on this combo and its very interesting and promsing. I have noticed increased concentration with use (about one month).
I would recommend this product along with plain ACL--articles recommend effective dosage of 1000-2000 mg a day. I would not recommend that dose with this product because too much of alpha lopic acid can cause low blood sugar problems.
But you can take one of these and one of plain ACL (from this site) and your done.
I think this is the best product/value.
Vitacost is the best in value!
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 700 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
nikim
Average rating because I don't know what it's doin
 August 26, 2007
"I have no idea if this is doing a thing for me. I've been taking it for about 3 to 4 years because I've read how terrific it is for you, but haven't a clue about how it is really working. Blind faith, I guess you could say."
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 700 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
rivka
fromAberdeen, WA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Best for the price
 May 6, 2007
"We read about studies on Alpha Lipoic acid and L carnitine being given to mice and how it affected their brain function, activity level and longevity in an amazing way. Based on this study and the recommendation of many cutting edge anti-aging western medicine doctors, we felt we should be taking this and have done so for several years and feel it has helped us very much. Always looking for the best price on everything, I discovered Vitacost and started purchasing this combination and now many of my other supplements because the price is almost always lower than elsewhere in addition to the fact that Vitacost has provided excellent service."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 700 mg - 240 Capsules
Based on the average of (16) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
4.3 / 5
4.3 / 5
15 out of 16 recommend this product