Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

5-HTP(542)
Algae(818)
Amino Acids(1,725)
Bee Pollen(311)
Caffeine(36)
Calcium(3,744)
Celadrin(79)
Charcoal(89)
Chitosan(43)
Chlorella(161)
Choline(135)
CoQ10(2,416)
Coconut Oil(3,788)
Collagen(285)
Colostrum(175)
D-Mannose(56)
DHEA(409)
DMAE(79)
EFAs(3,540)
EpiCor(35)
FOS(2)
Fish Oil(1,544)
GABA(185)
GLA(7)
GPLC(23)
Gelatin(15)
Glycine(9)
HGH(42)
Iodine(55)
Iron(545)
Krill Oil(728)
Lecithin(249)
Lithium(6)
Lutein(364)
Lycopene(102)
MSM(419)
Magnesium(2,024)
Melatonin(1,145)
Multivitamins(11,797)
NADH(51)
Omega-3(5,075)
Pectin(21)
Probiotics(5,620)
Propolis(72)
Pycnogenol(145)
Quercetin(130)
RNA/DNA(1)
Red Wine(11)
Relora(2)
SAMe(592)
Silica(19)
Soy(74)
Spirulina(108)
Vitamin A(150)
Vitamin B(5,001)
Vitamin C(2,874)
Vitamin D(2,638)
Vitamin E(515)
Vitamin K(305)
Yeast(62)
Zinc(372)
Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop 5-HTP or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules

Natural amino acid supplement containing 5-hydroxytryptophan. What is 5-HTP? 5-Hydroxytryptophan or 5-HTP is an amino acid that converts to serotonin in the body. Serotonin is a substance that acts as a neurotransmitter or chemical that helps relay signals from one area of the brain to another.  . How does 5-HTP support health?  5-HTP can elevate levels of serotonin which is associated with good mood in humans.*.  5-HTP can increase a sense of well-being.*. Why choose Vitacost 5-HTP?  Free of the compound “peak X” for health safety reasons.*.  Exceptional quality at an extraordinary value. About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP). .  .  .  . *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.26 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(158 reviews) 103
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 158 reviews
5 Stars
101
4 Stars
31
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
4
1 Star
15
138 out of 158(87%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
Review 1 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
topaz
fromTucson
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Seems to help relax for sleep
 July 14, 2015
"I use this periodically as a sleep aid when I can't seem to relax enough to fall asleep. However, I have also found that taking a capsule every night results in tiredness through the next day. I will continue to use on a periodic basis."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
pammywammy
fromOregon
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great product
 June 10, 2015
"I have used this 5-HTP for several months now, and have been completely satisfied."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
praktisch
fromColumbus, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Doesn't do the job
 May 31, 2015
"I've tried several brands of 5-htp, and this one does not do the job for me. It's less expensive, but I ended up throwing it away."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reese967
fromEnon valley, pa
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
This product really made a big difference
 May 30, 2015
"I had been to the Dr. Several times and they couldn't figure out how to help me get some sleep or help me with my mood without prescribing drugs which I won't take, I spoke to my sister in law and she said try 5htp from vita cost so I did!!! Oh my what a difference. Finding out later I'm peri-menopausal, these were just what I needed. My attitude change drastically and after 3 months of no sleep I'm getting a great nights rest. Thank you!!! Will continue to purchase!!!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
healthywhey
fromCalifornia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
really works!
 April 20, 2015
"Simple and sweet--this works in combo with a few other items. Take it with Theanine, just before bedtime. About an hour before bedtime, put sublingual GABA and melatonin (Vitacost has a great product for these)."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromCommerce ,MI
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
small capsules, easy to swallow
 April 10, 2015
"I'm very happy with the size and ease of taking these capsules. They do the job and I feel so much better since taking them. Vita cost price is best I have found especially when you know they are good quality."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
EduardoB
fromJoão Pessoa - PB, Brazil
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
 October 22, 2014
"Ohh, good suplement. Makes me relaxed! ;)"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Supersnacker1
fromMA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
sleep
 August 11, 2014
"I use this everynight, and am out in 1/2 hour or less. It also helps with nerves and stress. I recommended that everyone give this a try."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
danabythesea
fromEnsenada, Mexico
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great price
 July 24, 2014
"Good quality product and a great price"
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
gitrdun
fromMississippi
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Feeling Better
 July 21, 2014
"I take this product at night and it seems to help me sleep better."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
bruskik
fromNortheast Michigan
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Price is right
 March 3, 2014
"Too soon to know if this is effective, but the price was better than elsewhere."
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sigyn
Seems to work well.
 November 18, 2013
"Have only been taking this for 2 months now but it seems to be working well. I work a very high stress job with long hours and it seems to help me stay more balanced and feel less stressed out. Am in a better mood by the time I get home too, so I don't drag down the family!"
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
afy1776
Very Comparable
 July 11, 2013
"This has a great price and a great product. Comparable to the expensive brands. I do feel it is not as potent then the other but I can still feel the effects."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
metalofiron
fromConnecticut
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Didn't do a thing
 May 20, 2013
"Took as prescribed and didn't notice any difference (for me anyways) 3 days ago (5-17-13) I stopped taking the 5-HTP and started taking a melatonin supplement. Now this product does its job. I am able to relax and fall asleep in the late evening and wake up feeling super refreshed with no side effects. I also feel more relaxed throughout the day. Not tired mind you, but just a great overall feeling of a good night's sleep and ready to "pound the pavement" Some may benefit from 5-HTP but for me it was a dud."
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Woodsie
fromPearland, TX
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
The product does not help me sleep.
 April 11, 2013
"I use this product with melontonin. I have found that it dos not help me sleep. When I do sleep I wake up and can not get back to sleep."
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Seal53
fromSavannah, GA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great product!
 April 7, 2013
"Good price. Easy to swollow. No aftertaste. Good information regarding product."
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ciao
fromLong Island
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
 February 22, 2013
"They work just as well as name brand"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
pioneer
fromFredericksburg, TX
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Good product for the price
 February 16, 2013
"I love the BOGO sales. This product works fine for me."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cab7
Cost effective 5-HTP
 December 10, 2012
"I use this product just before going to sleep. I like Vitacost's brand, they are more cost effective and work just as well as higher priced products/brands."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mjob13
 November 17, 2012
"I have never tried a different brand of 5-HTP because I started with these and got great results. I recommend them."
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next