Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop 5-HTP or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules

Natural amino acid supplement containing 5-hydroxytryptophan. What is 5-HTP? 5-Hydroxytryptophan or 5-HTP is an amino acid that converts to serotonin in the body. Serotonin is a substance that acts as a neurotransmitter or chemical that helps relay signals from one area of the brain to another.  . How does 5-HTP support health?  5-HTP can elevate levels of serotonin which is associated with good mood in humans.*.  5-HTP can increase a sense of well-being.*. Why choose Vitacost 5-HTP?  Free of the compound “peak X” for health safety reasons.*.  Exceptional quality at an extraordinary value. About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP). .  .  .  . *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.252 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(147 reviews) 96
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 147 reviews
5 Stars
93
4 Stars
30
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
4
1 Star
14
128 out of 147(87%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
Review 1 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Supersnacker1
fromMA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
sleep
 August 11, 2014
"I use this everynight, and am out in 1/2 hour or less. It also helps with nerves and stress. I recommended that everyone give this a try."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
danabythesea
fromEnsenada, Mexico
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great price
 July 24, 2014
"Good quality product and a great price"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
gitrdun
fromMississippi
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Feeling Better
 July 21, 2014
"I take this product at night and it seems to help me sleep better."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
bruskik
fromNortheast Michigan
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Price is right
 March 3, 2014
"Too soon to know if this is effective, but the price was better than elsewhere."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sigyn
Seems to work well.
 November 18, 2013
"Have only been taking this for 2 months now but it seems to be working well. I work a very high stress job with long hours and it seems to help me stay more balanced and feel less stressed out. Am in a better mood by the time I get home too, so I don't drag down the family!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
afy1776
Very Comparable
 July 11, 2013
"This has a great price and a great product. Comparable to the expensive brands. I do feel it is not as potent then the other but I can still feel the effects."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
metalofiron
fromConnecticut
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Didn't do a thing
 May 20, 2013
"Took as prescribed and didn't notice any difference (for me anyways) 3 days ago (5-17-13) I stopped taking the 5-HTP and started taking a melatonin supplement. Now this product does its job. I am able to relax and fall asleep in the late evening and wake up feeling super refreshed with no side effects. I also feel more relaxed throughout the day. Not tired mind you, but just a great overall feeling of a good night's sleep and ready to "pound the pavement" Some may benefit from 5-HTP but for me it was a dud."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Woodsie
fromPearland, TX
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
The product does not help me sleep.
 April 11, 2013
"I use this product with melontonin. I have found that it dos not help me sleep. When I do sleep I wake up and can not get back to sleep."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Seal53
fromSavannah, GA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great product!
 April 7, 2013
"Good price. Easy to swollow. No aftertaste. Good information regarding product."
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ciao
fromLong Island
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
 February 22, 2013
"They work just as well as name brand"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
pioneer
fromFredericksburg, TX
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Good product for the price
 February 16, 2013
"I love the BOGO sales. This product works fine for me."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cab7
Cost effective 5-HTP
 December 10, 2012
"I use this product just before going to sleep. I like Vitacost's brand, they are more cost effective and work just as well as higher priced products/brands."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mjob13
 November 17, 2012
"I have never tried a different brand of 5-HTP because I started with these and got great results. I recommend them."
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tsobenes
Love it, great price!
 November 8, 2012
"This is a must have in our cabinet. It works as well or better than other brands I have tried. I use this and L-Typtophan and get great results!"
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
gracklette
fromTexas
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
I've not felt any ill effects from this product
 October 11, 2012
"Have been having restful sleep since I began taking this product."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Marycat
fromTexas
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Helps this anxious sleeper sleep!
 September 29, 2012
"I am always looking for ways to not take sleeping pills or tranquilizers for sleep, and combining this with melatonin plus theanine really seems to help. Even if I wake up in the middle of the night, I usually can get back to sleep quickly."
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
rosco9058
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
 July 11, 2012
"great sleep aid best price in town"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
3tmsacharm
fromFairfax, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
I have never slept better
 July 6, 2012
"I started taking 200mg each night with magnesium, and I can honestly say that I have never slept sounder or felt so refreshed in the morning. I will definitely buy again."
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kimberj
fromLouisville KY
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
 June 4, 2012
"This product really helps me sleep!"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
FatlossForever
fromSpotsylvania, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
NOT enteric coated!
 September 27, 2011
"Why would you even sell a 5-HTP product that is not enteric coated? When it is not enteric coated, the stomach uses almost all of the 5-HTP itself, so almost none of it ever gets to the brain! Therefore, those of you who think this product is improving your mood are all experiencing a placebo effect, which I guess is fine if that is acceptable to you. I will wait for Vitacost to make a proper 5-HTP product."
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next