Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Soap or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Peppermint -- 32 fl oz

Dr. Bronner's Magic Soaps: 18-in-1 Hemp Peppermint Pure-Castile Soap. Made with organic oils. No foaming agents. Enjoy 1 soap for 18 different uses! Guaranteed pure potassium castile soap & 100% vegetarian. Dr. Bronner's Peppermint Pure-Castile Soap has our most controversial label as it includes Dr. Bronner's ecstatic love poetry. When the Almond-Castile label is rhythmically recited while bathing and breathing in the almond-scented steam-misted waters of the inner bath-tub sanctum people enter deep dreamy mystical trance states of super-sensuous luxuriousness and consciousness and emerge from their bath as if from the Fountain of Life--reborn renewed refreshed and ready to help unite the human race! All-One! All One! Supermild Castile has outstanding water softening and cleansing powers preferable to harsh soap & defattening synthetics. It does not cut dirt but dissolves it. It is the mildest most pleasant soap you have ever used. Soap is made by saponifying a fat or oil with a strong alkali. A fat or oil is a triglyceride which means that three fatty acids of various carbon lengths are attached to a glycerine backbone. The strong alkali is either sodium (for bars) or potassium (for liquids) hydroxide. The saponification process is a simple one-step reaction with no waste generated: the glycerine is split off from the fatty acids and the fatty acids combine with the sodium or potassium to form soap while the hydroxide forms water. The result is soap glycerin and water (no alkali remains). Quality soap-making consists in great part in choosing the right proportions of the right oils with their different fatty acids. Most commercial soaps skimp on quality because of cost and use lots of tallow from beef fat with a little bit of coconut or palm kernel oil. Our unsurpassed soaps use olive hemp and palm oils instead of tallow and use three to four times more coconut oil than commercial soaps. Saponified coconut oil generates high-lather cleansing even in hard water because it has shorter-chain saturated fatty acids. Hemp olive and palm based soaps make a mild smooth creamy lather because these oils contain longer chain unsaturated and polyunsaturated fatty acids. Dr. Bronner's makes a higher quality soap in other ways as well. Unlike most commercial soapmakers who distill the glycerin out of their soaps to sell we retain it in our soap for its superb moisturizing qualities. We also superfat our soap with olive fatty acid which both ensures that there is no free alkali and lowers the pH making a milder smoother lather. We use rosemary extract and plant-derived vitamin antioxidants to protect freshness (the rosemary is effective at 0.005% so it contributes absolutely no scent). We do not add any chelating agents dyes whiteners or synthetic fragrances. We use only 100% pure high quality essential oils. Our liquid soaps are so concentrated that they are only a few percent away from being a solid which ecologically saves on packaging materials. They are a superb value costing less than less-concentrated inferior detergent body-wash "liquid soaps." Our soaps are most popular for at-home washing but they also are the choice when camping and hiking as our soaps are so biodegradable and nature-friendly. Dr. Bronner's soaps have spread by quality and word of mouth alone into virtually every health food store in the country. Unsolicited articles raving about our soaps have appeared in magazines and newspapers as diverse as Natural Health Outdoor Gear Vogue The Washington Post The Chicago Tribune The Associated Press The Wall Street Journal Parenting and New Age.
Overall rating:
4.877 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(220 reviews) 189
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 220 reviews
5 Stars
200
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
216 out of 220(98%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Peppermint -- 32 fl oz
Review 1 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Peppermint -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Eduardo1
Best soap monet can buy
 March 28, 2007
"I have been using Dr. Bronners for over 20 years. There is nothing like it! Being liquid in a plastic jar it is never messy like a bar. The soap itself is mild and with the mint it is quite refreshing. It is my favorite soap of all time, and if I run out of shampoo I have no problem using it for my hair as it is mild but still cleans well. Highly recommended!"
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Peppermint -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bythesea
fromMA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great Summer Soap
 August 3, 2014
"Dr. Bronner's Peppermint Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap is cooling and refreshing so it is a favorite summertime soap for our household. I've tried other peppermint soaps, but this one has more cooling power than the rest, yet it's gentle on skin. I don't know what all the other uses for it are...I think it states that there are 18 uses, but if you use it in your shower or tub, you'll be happy!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Peppermint -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JW67
fromKnoxville, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
A Classic
 July 14, 2014
"I have used this soap for 20 years or more and it is my favorite liquid soap! Smells great, cleans great and leaves your hands feeling fresh. Guests always comment on how they love the soap I have out."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Peppermint -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bmmer100
fromTucson, AZ
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Best Soap On the Planet
 May 3, 2014
"I have been using this soap for years and it does not get any better than this. Refreshing, leaves a fresh clean scent and lasts forever. It will not irritate your skin and the almond version is just as good. I use almond in the winter and peppermint in the summer."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Peppermint -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
oreospeedwagon
fromPennsylvania
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
love how it cools my skin
 March 30, 2014
"This soap is wonderful. It smells nice and doesn't dry my skin."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Peppermint -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
longwood1549
fromNewington, GA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
This is the best soap ever!
 March 19, 2014
"I have loved this soap for years and had trouble finding it. I'm glad to be able to order it from Vitacost whenever I need it! The peppermint scent is so refreshing!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Peppermint -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Izybnj71
fromNJ
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great Product
 February 20, 2014
"I love all of dr bronners soaps but this one definitely wakes you up. I've gotten it from vitacost before, but I hate to say I just bought it last week at trader joes for $9.99, daily regular price."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Peppermint -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
pttheot
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great stuff for so many uses!
 February 20, 2014
"This stuff is great! There are so many uses for it! From cleaning products, laundry detergent, dish washer detergent, helps with skin issues, and it feels wonderful in the shower or bath! ITs done wonders for my skin!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Peppermint -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tanas
fromNebraska
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
LOVE IT!
 February 10, 2014
"I use this soap everyday, it's the best! The bottle is filled with amazing positive quotes and thoughts to read too!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Peppermint -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GoodQualityBargainBuyer
fromCT
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
I like this product
 December 30, 2013
"Good clean feel. Tingly on the skin and I love the smell. I mix it with some tea tree Soap and dilute with water and have a great mixture that leaves me refreshed and invigorated."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Peppermint -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
gardenia7
fromMidwest
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Everyday Uses
 November 23, 2013
"I have been buying Dr. Bronner's Castille soaps for many years. It is our standard hand soap for kitchen and bathrooms. I use foam pump dispensers (recycled from other soap brand); add about 2/3 water and three long squirts of this soap. Sometimes I add a short squirt of the tea tree soap (to disinfect). Also use it to wash fruits and veggies, spot treat stains, quick wash a pan or pot, quick wipe down of the sinks, wash the counters, etc. The peppermint is my family's favorite. Many uses. And safe!
You'll like this soap!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Peppermint -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sallymander
fromMontana
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great stuff!!!
 November 21, 2013
"But why buy a quart for $15 when a gallon in only $29?
Four times as much for twice the price.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Peppermint -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KevinBC
fromNew Braunfels, Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
SImply the best
 October 21, 2013
"I have used this stuff for years. Not only is it all organic but the way it makes your skin feel"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Peppermint -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dazzlingdo
fromButler, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Love the smell and peppermint feel
 September 12, 2013
"Chose this soap for it's purity and no sulfates and love the peppermint smell and slight tingle you get!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Peppermint -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alyce
fromSouthern California
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Love it!
 August 15, 2013
"I have been searching for a cleaning product that works, does not smell awful (i.e. vinegar), and does not trigger a migraine. This is it. I use it for all my household cleaning and especially love the peppermint scented one. I add a capful of the castile soap to a spray bottle of peroxide for a cleaning disinfectant spray. For floors and walls I add about 1/8th of a cup to a gallon of water. I love it!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Peppermint -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
MsSimple
love it, but
 July 15, 2013
"Simplifying, I use Dr Bronner's for as many things as possible: hand washing, shower soap, shampoo, travel soap. I love the product, and would only down-rate it a star for the fact that peppermint has a couple of adverse effects the other Dr B's soaps do not have.
One: it makes Mr Simple's skin itch. Two: even I admit a mild reaction after a long period of time if I wash my hair with only this. The places where my hair tends to touch my face will slightly itch unless I vary what I wash my hair with. And three: the peppermint soap somewhat burns skin in sensitive areas.
But, because my hair smells like mint all the time, I use it anyway. Fortunately most of the other Bronner's varieties smell good, too."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Peppermint -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mhart
fromNC
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
We've used this for decades
 May 20, 2013
"This is an excellent brand -- clean and pure soap. Dr. Bronners has several natural frangrances available, and even one for baby. Works in a dispenser at the sink or in the shower (we do both). We even take a small container with us when we travel. We prefer it to any other soap."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Peppermint -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HappyManfromStatenIsland
fromStaten island
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Great product
 May 13, 2013
"This product is awesome. It tingles all over and is a real eye opener. When I use with a lady friend in the shower, she is taken by surprise. It is a great soap as a prelude to a "happy ending" because when applied to sensitive areas, it becomes a form of fun and drives women wild. Apply all over exp to the nipple area."
-25points
4of 33voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Peppermint -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Brooke28
fromVA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
 April 25, 2013
"I love the fact that these soaps are very versatile and eco friendly, but I find them a bit drying. And they leave a thick soap film. Not the end of the world. I do love the peppermint scent, very refreshing!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Peppermint -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JJ123
fromDenver,Co
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Dr.Bronner is the best.
 April 22, 2013
"I have been using this for along time and is so good."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next