Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

5-HTP(504)
Amino Acids(1,328)
Calcium(3,504)
CoQ10(2,349)
Coconut Oil(3,247)
EFAs(3,344)
Fish Oil(1,485)
Iron(532)
Krill Oil(728)
Magnesium(1,697)
Melatonin(1,024)
Multivitamins(10,885)
Omega-3(4,710)
Algae(738)
Bee Pollen(276)
Caffeine(35)
Celadrin(78)
Charcoal(83)
Chitosan(40)
Chlorella(137)
Choline(126)
Collagen(223)
Colostrum(172)
D-Mannose(46)
DHEA(377)
DMAE(76)
EFAs(107)
EpiCor(30)
FOS(2)
GABA(159)
GLA(7)
GPLC(27)
Gelatin(13)
Glycine(7)
HGH(43)
Iodine(44)
L-Lysine(145)
L-Theanine(199)
LPP(39)
Lecithin(224)
Lithium(3)
Lutein(328)
Lycopene(96)
MSM(374)
NADH(46)
Pectin(39)
Propolis(71)
Pycnogenol(135)
Quercetin(124)
RNA/DNA(2)
Red Wine(10)
Relora(2)
Silica(17)
Soy(98)
Taurine(78)
Yeast(71)
Probiotics(4,863)
SAMe(548)
Spirulina(82)
Vitamin A(133)
Vitamin B(4,441)
Vitamin C(2,668)
Vitamin D(2,363)
Vitamin E(465)
Vitamin K(257)
Whole Foods(1,182)
Zinc(343)
Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop N-Acetyl Cysteine (NAC) or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Jarrow Formulas N A C Sustain® -- 600 mg - 100 Tablets

Bilayer Tablets. Quick + Sustained Releases. Antioxidant and Glutathione Precursor. Supports Liver and Lung Function. Gluten Free. 600 mg. NAC SUSTAIN® is a powerful antioxidant amino acid and a precursor to the critical antioxidant glutathione. Glutathione exerts a variety of protective effects including detoxification and intracellular defense against oxidativestress. Substances known to reduce glutathione status are acetaminophen and alcohol.
Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
23 out of 24(96%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Jarrow Formulas N A C Sustain® -- 600 mg - 100 Tablets
Review 1 for Jarrow Formulas N A C Sustain® -- 600 mg - 100 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Afande
fromOman
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
I started to feel good after 1 week
 October 26, 2014
"This is recommanded by my doctor, I never knew that there is something for liver and lungs in the same time. I have notesed I can hold my breath longer under water. So far I can its working."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Jarrow Formulas N A C Sustain® -- 600 mg - 100 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
happyT
fromFlorida
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
great product
 August 11, 2014
"great product and great price"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Jarrow Formulas N A C Sustain® -- 600 mg - 100 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Leeber
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
This product has great features
 April 16, 2014
"time release, recommended personally by professionals, effective. cheaper through Vitacost"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Jarrow Formulas N A C Sustain® -- 600 mg - 100 Tablets
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sockster
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Careful while swalloing
 January 31, 2013
"Got stuck in my esophagus and took a few good hours to get dissolve after countless cups of hot tea so becareful not to take this with a fistful of your other supplements. Best to swallow this alone.
Product works great though can feel it working
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Jarrow Formulas N A C Sustain® -- 600 mg - 100 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RCogburn
Only sustained release found.
 June 6, 2012
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
"A quality manufacturer and a 600mg sustained release tablet can't be beat."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Jarrow Formulas N A C Sustain® -- 600 mg - 100 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
beautynbrains
fromMiami
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
 December 16, 2011
"This is the best NAC on the market, bar none. It is sustainable which makes it more effective. Jarrow got it right."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Jarrow Formulas N A C Sustain® -- 600 mg - 100 Tablets
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
ReveStar
fromIrvine, CA
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Unpleasant Smell
 September 9, 2011
"I generally rate Jarrows Formula products very high, but I can't do so for this product.
The Jarrows NAC Sustain develops a rotten egg smell after being opened and exposed to air. I complained to Jarrows and I was told the smell is due to the chemical ingredients inherent in the NAC and the product is not spoiled. Jarrows, however, apologized and sent me a replacement bottle. When I opened the replacement bottle there was no smell. Within a week , however, the same unpalatable smell was coming from the the new product.
If it is true that the ingredients inherent in NAC cause this problem, I wonder if NAC produced by other companies also produce the same terrible smell?"
-10points
1of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Jarrow Formulas N A C Sustain® -- 600 mg - 100 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jasmina
fromPutnam County, NY
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Time Release NAC
 January 29, 2011
"I love this NAC, particularly since it is time released...works all day!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Jarrow Formulas N A C Sustain® -- 600 mg - 100 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ThinkFirst
fromTucson, AZ
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Most Effective Form and Price
 November 12, 2010
"I take these 2 times a day with NSI's Advan-c and Carlson's D3 softgels. They work great together make sustained improvements as long as you take them. This combination is the best I've found in 20 years of searching."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Jarrow Formulas N A C Sustain® -- 600 mg - 100 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lepard
Good to have in the pantry
 July 13, 2010
"NAC is a great product to use when needed. A 10 day detox is great..You must take Vit C along with this suppliment"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Jarrow Formulas N A C Sustain® -- 600 mg - 100 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LovesPeonies
fromPhiladelphia PA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
high quality
 June 24, 2010
"Well-known premium brand with sustained release NAC. I recommend it to my patients."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Jarrow Formulas N A C Sustain® -- 600 mg - 100 Tablets
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
livelaughlove
fromorlando
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
I still have mercury fillings....
 July 6, 2009
"NAC is supposed to be one of the things that can detox you from heavy metal. I didn't know if I needed to do this or not....just wanted to try something new. The first few times taking it I got kind of a buzz, like a sudden pick up, maybe similar to having a Red Bull. But after that I haven't noticed a thing. Except maybe my nose seems to be a little clearer. Anyway I believe Jarrow to be a good brand and will finish this bottle."
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Jarrow Formulas N A C Sustain® -- 600 mg - 100 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
joss
fromLas Vegas
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
VERY GOOD
 January 9, 2009
"This is a precursor for glutathione production. I would say that after taking this I started to feel my body aches and pains disappeared. I use to take a lot of supplements for my joints and did not work.
I settled with that Bone Up,the NSI Bone Booster Complex supplement despite of the daily intake requirements,(finally found a 1 a day calcium supplement from Rainbow Light) no glucosamine,msm,chondroitin etc. Maybe it worked in synergy.
Price is reasonable as well as the no. of caplets. Sometimes I alternate it with Jarrow's Activated Selenium."
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Jarrow Formulas N A C Sustain® -- 600 mg - 100 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thane
fromDallas, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great Product
 December 31, 2008
"I've been using NAC Sustain for over a year now. Very good results."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Jarrow Formulas N A C Sustain® -- 600 mg - 100 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LadyCee
fromNew York, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Pharmacist
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Good But really SMELLS
 December 7, 2008
"Kinda smells like vinegar, but does great things in the weight loss process, i've had great results."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Jarrow Formulas N A C Sustain® -- 600 mg - 100 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mazz
fromCA
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
the best
 August 24, 2008
"great patented delivery system, large serving size, 100 tablets, excellent company, great price, this is my N-A-C of choice, take it with vit C for better absorption."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Jarrow Formulas N A C Sustain® -- 600 mg - 100 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smith10
No hang over
 August 23, 2008
"My husband and I take one tablet before we go out for an evening of drinking and one when we get home and we have never had a hangover the next day. It even works if you take one when you get home."
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Jarrow Formulas N A C Sustain® -- 600 mg - 100 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jetstream
If you take NAC, this is the one.
 September 28, 2007
"NAC is a powerful antioxidant which I have been taking for the past 5 years. Jarrow came up with a sustained release formula which permits the NAC to stay in the body longer, doing its job better. I tell everyone I can about this product."
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Jarrow Formulas N A C Sustain® -- 600 mg - 100 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Phil
Excellent, but expensive
 May 25, 2007
"This is a fantastic product: part immediate release, to raise your blood levels of N-A-C, and part sustained release, to keep them up. It's a pity that NSI don't produce a similar, cheaper tablet!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Jarrow Formulas N A C Sustain® -- 600 mg - 100 Tablets
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
spacemonkey8434
So far so good
 May 21, 2007
"I
have been using this product for 3 weeks now. It seems to be working so
far. I will post more later to give more accurate results.
"
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 next