Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

5-HTP(566)
Algae(893)
Amino Acids(2,142)
Bee Pollen(330)
Caffeine(39)
Celadrin(82)
Charcoal(102)
Chitosan(43)
Chlorella(192)
Choline(144)
CoQ10(2,650)
Coconut Oil(4,119)
Collagen(353)
Colostrum(185)
D-Mannose(53)
DHEA(440)
DMAE(67)
EFAs(3,748)
EpiCor(38)
FOS(2)
Fish Oil(1,663)
GABA(196)
GLA(9)
Gelatin(19)
Glycine(14)
HGH(46)
Iodine(60)
Krill Oil(765)
Lecithin(282)
Letter Vitamins(12,714)
Lithium(6)
Lutein(404)
Lycopene(107)
MSM(445)
Melatonin(1,222)
Minerals(9,081)
Multivitamins(13,039)
NADH(53)
Omega-3(5,286)
Pectin(22)
Probiotics(6,337)
Propolis(84)
Pycnogenol(152)
Quercetin(136)
RNA/DNA(1)
Red Wine(12)
Relora(2)
SAMe(621)
Silica(21)
Soy(80)
Spirulina(112)
Yeast(65)
Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Alpha Lipoic Acid - ALA or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 300 mg - 240 Capsules

Powerful antioxidant to help protect the body from free radical damage.*. What is alpha lipoic acid? Alpha lipoic acid (ALA) is a natural compound that functions as a co-factor in vital energy-producing reactions.* The body produces very little ALA on its own and it is difficult to obtain sufficient quantities from diet.  . ALA is well known as a powerful antioxidant.* It has been called a “universal antioxidant” because it is effective in water-based substances such as blood while its reduced metabolite dihydrolipoic acid (DHLA) is effective in fatty tissues and membranes.*.  . How does alpha lipoic acid support health? May promote cardiovascular health by protecting against free radical damage.*. Enhances the antioxidant activity of vitamins C and E and coenzyme Q10. May increase levels of glutathione the body’s most important antioxidant.*. Why choose Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid? Contains 240 servings per bottle. Exceptional quality at an extraordinary value. About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP). .  .  .  . *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.727 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 44 reviews
5 Stars
34
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
42 out of 44(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 300 mg - 240 Capsules
Review 1 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 300 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNew Delhi
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
More counts at reasonable cost and formulation
 May 24, 2016
" It was part of my antioxidant regimen that my doctor prescribed. Earlier I was buying Source Naturals Timed Release version that I couldn't afford at 600mg. Btw, the doctor had not mentioned any "Timed Release". So, I went for plain ALA. But all Vitacost products contain rice is acceptable for me as rice eater. "
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 300 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromCarmichael, Ca
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great brain food!
 April 9, 2016
" Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid is the best along with Acetyl L Carnitine for brain health. It feeds your brain and helps memory. I know, I have been taking it for years and it works. I tell everyone about it. It is wonderful to have a great memory. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 300 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromFlorida
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great product
 March 30, 2016
" I have tried others and had them repeat on me. This doesn't. I recommended this brand to my doctor who had prescribed it to me. He is now recommending it to his patients. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 300 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromMI
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
worked well for me
 February 19, 2016
" Combined this with carnitine and this allows me to last all day long without "hitting the brick wall" of no energy at some point in the day. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 300 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromEast Flat Rock, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
ALA
 September 8, 2015
" Could not fine a better price, and the quality is the best. "
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 300 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
This product has great features
 June 11, 2015
" This product, among others, continues as an aid to good health. "
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 300 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:55-64
Great price and quality..
 April 1, 2015
" I have purchased this product at Sprouts and like the price and quantity better at Vitacost. "
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 300 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromAgoura Hills,CA
Age:75+
Gender:Female
A great product
 January 1, 2015
" This is a great product. My husband has taken this vitamins. for years
and it certainly has helped him in many ways.Vitacost is a great place to buy and your vitamins.
"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 300 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
This product is great
 March 23, 2014
" This stuff actually disolves in a juice. I use aa glass of juice in the morning to disolve it. It actually disolves. I had some stuff that I had bought before that wouldn't dissolve at all. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 300 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply the Best!
 October 21, 2013
" Hey, after trolling around the internet looking for best value for money, this is the best you can find…..trust me.
Vance Ashby, B.A. Business, Retired
"
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 300 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromRichmond, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Great value
 October 18, 2013
" high quality, low price equals a great value "
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 300 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromHouston, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Love Vitacost
 August 4, 2013
" This is the only place to shop for all your vitamin and supplement needs. "
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 300 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSingapore
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Value for money
 July 4, 2013
" Vita cost brand products are full value for money. I was using another brand and the cost was much higher. Both give me the same results. "
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 300 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromCary, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great Product
 June 27, 2013
" My shipment arrived very quickly, and the product is exactly what I expected. Well done, Vitacost! "
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 300 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromIsrael
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
What a GREAT product!
 December 27, 2012
" Have decided to use Alpha Lipoic Acid after reading in various articles its benefits. But only when I started to use this specific product by Vitacost I could see how its unbelievable effect on my personal looks (and I wasn't the only one who noticed it, my girl friends started asking me, 'what did you do', lol).
Great product and a great price - and a great outcome: works great for me!
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 300 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromBellflower, CA
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Product work great.
 December 11, 2012
" Product work really great in helping control my blood sugar level. With this product I can be sure that my bood sugar levels are good. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 300 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromIsrael
Age:75+
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Very satisfactory
 December 8, 2012
" The products we ordered arrived in record time and in good condition, even though we are oceans apart.
The prices are right and the general service exemplary.
Shmuel Shimshoni.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 300 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
 February 16, 2012
" Been taking it for 10 yrs! "
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 300 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromAnchorage,AK
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Alpha lipoic acid
 January 17, 2012
" Bought this one for my wife, she is happy with the results of using this product. "
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 300 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
fromNY,NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
alpha
 February 11, 2009
" I have been taking alpha lipoic acid for over a year now and always found it helpful. When I started taking this current bottle, I questioned if there was really Alpha Lipoic in the capsules, as the same results were just not there. "
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next