Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

5-HTP(496)
Amino Acids(1,313)
Calcium(3,472)
CoQ10(2,324)
Coconut Oil(3,149)
EFAs(3,318)
Fish Oil(1,453)
Iron(523)
Krill Oil(721)
Magnesium(1,667)
Melatonin(1,009)
Multivitamins(10,762)
Omega-3(4,679)
Algae(729)
Bee Pollen(267)
Caffeine(85)
Celadrin(78)
Charcoal(83)
Chitosan(40)
Chlorella(134)
Choline(126)
Collagen(213)
Colostrum(172)
D-Mannose(43)
DHEA(369)
DMAE(75)
EFAs(105)
EpiCor(29)
FOS(2)
GABA(156)
GLA(7)
GPLC(27)
Gelatin(13)
Glycine(7)
HGH(37)
Iodine(41)
L-Lysine(144)
L-Theanine(196)
LPP(39)
Lecithin(220)
Lithium(3)
Lutein(318)
Lycopene(93)
MSM(373)
NADH(46)
Pectin(38)
Propolis(70)
Pycnogenol(134)
Quercetin(124)
RNA/DNA(1)
Red Wine(10)
Relora(2)
Silica(17)
Soy(98)
Taurine(77)
Yeast(71)
Probiotics(4,773)
SAMe(541)
Spirulina(81)
Vitamin A(130)
Vitamin B(4,346)
Vitamin C(2,627)
Vitamin D(2,307)
Vitamin E(470)
Vitamin K(249)
Whole Foods(1,160)
Zinc(339)
Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Alpha Lipoic Acid - ALA or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 300 mg - 240 Capsules

Powerful antioxidant to help protect the body from free radical damage.*. What is alpha lipoic acid? Alpha lipoic acid (ALA) is a natural compound that functions as a co-factor in vital energy-producing reactions.* The body produces very little ALA on its own and it is difficult to obtain sufficient quantities from diet.  . ALA is well known as a powerful antioxidant.* It has been called a “universal antioxidant” because it is effective in water-based substances such as blood while its reduced metabolite dihydrolipoic acid (DHLA) is effective in fatty tissues and membranes.*.  . How does alpha lipoic acid support health? May promote cardiovascular health by protecting against free radical damage.*. Enhances the antioxidant activity of vitamins C and E and coenzyme Q10. May increase levels of glutathione the body’s most important antioxidant.*. Why choose Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid? Contains 240 servings per bottle. Exceptional quality at an extraordinary value. About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP). .  .  .  . *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.677 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 31 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
29 out of 31(94%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 300 mg - 240 Capsules
Review 1 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 300 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bigt81243
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
This product is great
 March 23, 2014
"This stuff actually disolves in a juice. I use aa glass of juice in the morning to disolve it. It actually disolves. I had some stuff that I had bought before that wouldn't dissolve at all."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 300 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Simply the Best!
 October 21, 2013
"Hey, after trolling around the internet looking for best value for money, this is the best you can find…..trust me.
Vance Ashby, B.A. Business, Retired
"
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 300 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
goaskal
fromRichmond, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Great value
 October 18, 2013
"high quality, low price equals a great value"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 300 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
AZANIMAL
fromHouston, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Love Vitacost
 August 4, 2013
"This is the only place to shop for all your vitamin and supplement needs."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 300 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sgman
fromSingapore
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Value for money
 July 4, 2013
"Vita cost brand products are full value for money. I was using another brand and the cost was much higher. Both give me the same results."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 300 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CamillaK
fromCary, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great Product
 June 27, 2013
"My shipment arrived very quickly, and the product is exactly what I expected. Well done, Vitacost!"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 300 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thomah
fromIsrael
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
What a GREAT product!
 December 27, 2012
"Have decided to use Alpha Lipoic Acid after reading in various articles its benefits. But only when I started to use this specific product by Vitacost I could see how its unbelievable effect on my personal looks (and I wasn't the only one who noticed it, my girl friends started asking me, 'what did you do', lol).
Great product and a great price - and a great outcome: works great for me!
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 300 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
eizzol
fromBellflower, CA
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Product work great.
 December 11, 2012
"Product work really great in helping control my blood sugar level. With this product I can be sure that my bood sugar levels are good."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 300 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shimsar
fromIsrael
Age:75+
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Very satisfactory
 December 8, 2012
"The products we ordered arrived in record time and in good condition, even though we are oceans apart.
The prices are right and the general service exemplary.
Shmuel Shimshoni.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 300 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
xmvb
 February 16, 2012
"Been taking it for 10 yrs!"
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 300 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cavenroj
fromAnchorage,AK
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Alpha lipoic acid
 January 17, 2012
"Bought this one for my wife, she is happy with the results of using this product."
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 300 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
keir
fromNY,NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
alpha
 February 11, 2009
"I have been taking alpha lipoic acid for over a year now and always found it helpful. When I started taking this current bottle, I questioned if there was really Alpha Lipoic in the capsules, as the same results were just not there."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 300 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
goobalooba
bimbam
 August 14, 2008
"hollly moollyy number one most powerful antioxidant. I shall live a thousand years!"
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 300 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Gregstarr1
fromAlpine, NJ
Strange odor
 June 7, 2008
"I initially received this item after my first order ran out. When I opened the bottle, it had a strange burnt smell. I was taking it for a few weeks but the scent was very disturbing to the point that I called up to inquire. I was sent a replacement and guess what, same problem??? The first batch no problem. The last 2, strange burnt odors??? If it was not so potent it wouldn't matter, but I really dispise the smell so much that I will probably stop taking it altogether."
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 300 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jamsgrams
love this large size bottle
 June 18, 2007
"Vitacost not only has the products I want at great prices, they also have larger size bottles."
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 300 mg - 240 Capsules
Based on the average of (16) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
4.7 / 5
4.7 / 5
16 out of 16 recommend this product