Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

5-HTP(566)
Algae(893)
Amino Acids(2,142)
Bee Pollen(330)
Caffeine(39)
Celadrin(82)
Charcoal(103)
Chitosan(43)
Chlorella(194)
Choline(144)
CoQ10(2,652)
Coconut Oil(4,120)
Collagen(353)
Colostrum(185)
D-Mannose(53)
DHEA(440)
DMAE(67)
EFAs(3,749)
EpiCor(38)
FOS(2)
Fish Oil(1,665)
GABA(196)
GLA(9)
Gelatin(19)
Glycine(14)
HGH(46)
Iodine(57)
Krill Oil(765)
Lecithin(284)
Letter Vitamins(12,717)
Lithium(6)
Lutein(404)
Lycopene(107)
MSM(446)
Melatonin(1,224)
Minerals(9,084)
Multivitamins(13,049)
NADH(53)
Omega-3(5,286)
Pectin(22)
Probiotics(6,343)
Propolis(84)
Pycnogenol(152)
Quercetin(136)
RNA/DNA(1)
Red Wine(12)
Relora(2)
SAMe(621)
Silica(21)
Soy(80)
Spirulina(112)
Yeast(65)
Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop 5-HTP or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Jarrow Formulas 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules

5-Hydroxytryptophan. Supports Serotonin Synthesis. Gluten Free. Vegan. Jarrow Formulas 5-HTP (5-Hydroxytryptophan) is an extract of Griffonia simplicifolia seeds from coastal West Africa. Purity is assured by HPLC. 5-HTP is the direct metabolic precursor of serotonin and is important for the production of melatonin.
Overall rating:
4.45 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
18 out of 20(90%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Jarrow Formulas 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Review 1 for Jarrow Formulas 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
frommidwest
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
good product
 November 15, 2014
" I have no problem with this item! I can take this without having a problem. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Jarrow Formulas 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromLos Angeles
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
happy I found Vitacost
 September 21, 2013
" I am grateful I found a website that offers the name brand vitamins I trust and need at a discount price! thank you vitacost:) "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Jarrow Formulas 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSt Louis, MO
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Consistent 5-HTP product
 July 20, 2013
" I have tried many different brands of 5-HTP, but I keep coming back to this one. I take 1 upon rising and 1 at dinner. I can tell the difference in how I sleep with this product. I value every hour I get and this product helps me sleep soundly (without waking up to hear my husband snore... :-))) "
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Jarrow Formulas 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromHongkong
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
good product
 July 3, 2013
" good product "
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Jarrow Formulas 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSan Francisco
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
This is a great product!
 May 10, 2013
" I have been using 5-HTP for about two months. After about two weeks I began sleeping much better and my mood changed for the good. It really works. "
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Jarrow Formulas 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromAZ
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Quality product with results
 March 18, 2013
" I have used Jarrow 5HTP for years and have found it to be the best quality and recommended by my Dr. Ordering this product from Vitacost has saved me quite a bit of money over walking into a health food store or a retail outlet carrying Jarrow products. "
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Jarrow Formulas 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Excellent product
 February 3, 2013
" I don't know why, but I have found that this product from Jarrow worked better than the same dosage available from some other popular brands. "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Jarrow Formulas 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
frompgh, pa
odd stuff
 December 9, 2012
" I had some bad side effects using this. It might just be the 5-htp itself. I realized after taking this for a little over a week that it was doing more harm than good. "
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Jarrow Formulas 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromMassachussetts
Age:45-54
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
great value
 May 31, 2012
" This product works as well for me as any of the leading medical quality brands. What a value. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Jarrow Formulas 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNew Jersey
Age:35-44
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
It Works!!
 June 12, 2010
" I have had trouble sleeping and this product was recommended by a friend. After taking one, I have never slept better. It is amazing what a good night's sleep can do because I had totally forgotten. "
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Jarrow Formulas 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromPeculiar, MO
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Better than other brands!
 July 11, 2009
" I tried another brand of 5-HTP a few months ago and didn't notice that it was doing anything to help me sleep. I tried Jarrow's and am sleeping soundly. My husband is having the same results. This is a great product. "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Jarrow Formulas 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
 May 24, 2009
" I took this product for a month, and I'm sorry to say, it didn't do anything for me. "
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Jarrow Formulas 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromTexas
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
HIGH QUALITY-GREAT PRICE
 May 17, 2008
" Very effective and exceptional value. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Jarrow Formulas 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromIndianapolis, IN
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great value
 August 12, 2007
" 5-HTP has been recommended to me by 2 doctors; one of them specifically used the Jarrow brand. This is such a great price on the product! "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Jarrow Formulas 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jarrow's fomula 5 HTP
 May 26, 2007
" I am had trouble sleeping for sometime and have tried all the natural sleep aids on the market today.
Jarrow's Formula 5 HTP gets me to sleep every night.
Glad to have found something that works so well.
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Jarrow Formulas 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Based on the average of (5) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8 / 5
5 out of 5 recommend this product