Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop 5-HTP or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Jarrow Formulas 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules

5-Hydroxytryptophan. Supports Serotonin Synthesis. Gluten Free. Vegan. Jarrow Formulas 5-HTP (5-Hydroxytryptophan) is an extract of Griffonia simplicifolia seeds from coastal West Africa. Purity is assured by HPLC. 5-HTP is the direct metabolic precursor of serotonin and is important for the production of melatonin.
Overall rating:
4.421 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
17 out of 19(89%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Jarrow Formulas 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Review 1 for Jarrow Formulas 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
vitality43
fromLos Angeles
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
happy I found Vitacost
 September 21, 2013
"I am grateful I found a website that offers the name brand vitamins I trust and need at a discount price! thank you vitacost:)"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Jarrow Formulas 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RedRbn
fromSt Louis, MO
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Consistent 5-HTP product
 July 20, 2013
"I have tried many different brands of 5-HTP, but I keep coming back to this one. I take 1 upon rising and 1 at dinner. I can tell the difference in how I sleep with this product. I value every hour I get and this product helps me sleep soundly (without waking up to hear my husband snore... :-)))"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Jarrow Formulas 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromHongkong
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
good product
 July 3, 2013
"good product"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Jarrow Formulas 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
rudysf
fromSan Francisco
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
This is a great product!
 May 10, 2013
"I have been using 5-HTP for about two months. After about two weeks I began sleeping much better and my mood changed for the good. It really works."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Jarrow Formulas 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LLea
fromAZ
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Quality product with results
 March 18, 2013
"I have used Jarrow 5HTP for years and have found it to be the best quality and recommended by my Dr. Ordering this product from Vitacost has saved me quite a bit of money over walking into a health food store or a retail outlet carrying Jarrow products."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Jarrow Formulas 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
RJGnyc
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Excellent product
 February 3, 2013
"I don't know why, but I have found that this product from Jarrow worked better than the same dosage available from some other popular brands."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Jarrow Formulas 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
pauliejo
frompgh, pa
odd stuff
 December 9, 2012
"I had some bad side effects using this. It might just be the 5-htp itself. I realized after taking this for a little over a week that it was doing more harm than good."
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Jarrow Formulas 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Oshun
fromMassachussetts
Age:45-54
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
great value
 May 31, 2012
"This product works as well for me as any of the leading medical quality brands. What a value."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Jarrow Formulas 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jenny11
fromNew Jersey
Age:35-44
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
It Works!!
 June 12, 2010
"I have had trouble sleeping and this product was recommended by a friend. After taking one, I have never slept better. It is amazing what a good night's sleep can do because I had totally forgotten."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Jarrow Formulas 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
peculiarsmith
fromPeculiar, MO
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Better than other brands!
 July 11, 2009
"I tried another brand of 5-HTP a few months ago and didn't notice that it was doing anything to help me sleep. I tried Jarrow's and am sleeping soundly. My husband is having the same results. This is a great product."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Jarrow Formulas 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
gvdaley
 May 24, 2009
"I took this product for a month, and I'm sorry to say, it didn't do anything for me."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Jarrow Formulas 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
rhrh
fromTexas
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
HIGH QUALITY-GREAT PRICE
 May 17, 2008
"Very effective and exceptional value."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Jarrow Formulas 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
sdaniels
fromIndianapolis, IN
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great value
 August 12, 2007
"5-HTP has been recommended to me by 2 doctors; one of them specifically used the Jarrow brand. This is such a great price on the product!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Jarrow Formulas 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brandy
Jarrow's fomula 5 HTP
 May 26, 2007
"I am had trouble sleeping for sometime and have tried all the natural sleep aids on the market today.
Jarrow's Formula 5 HTP gets me to sleep every night.
Glad to have found something that works so well.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Jarrow Formulas 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Based on the average of (5) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8 / 5
5 out of 5 recommend this product