Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop L-Theanine or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Jarrow Formulas Theanine -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules

Promotes Relaxation. Supports Learning Ability. Neurologically Active Amino Acid. Theanine is a unique amino acid found almost exclusively in green tea that exerts beneficial effects on brain metabolism. Theanine induces relaxation without causing drowsiness as measured by increased generation of alpha-waves. Theanine may improve learning ability and sensations of pleasure by affecting dopamine and serotonin neurotransmitters in the brain. Also Theanine exerts protective effects on the brain by mitigating glutamate toxicity. Jarrow FORMULAS Theanine is 100% L-theanine made enzymatically from amino acids and is identical to the theanine found in green tea.
Overall rating:
4.7 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 10(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Jarrow Formulas Theanine -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Review 1 for Jarrow Formulas Theanine -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grammy605
fromIndiana
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Worked well for me.
 June 27, 2014
"Was having difficulty going to sleep and waking up frequently during the night, with difficulty falling asleep again. Dr. asked if my mind was racing and I said, sometimes, but not usually, just couldn't sleep. I was asked to try Theanine to see if it helped calm the brain. It was like a magic pill the first ten days. I slept better and woke up less frequently. I have been taking for about 6 months and, while the results are not the same every night, it is rare that I have a problem with sleep anymore."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Jarrow Formulas Theanine -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
natrl4me
fromWestern North Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reduces anxiety
 May 29, 2014
"This product helps soothe anxiety in a very gentle way. I am thankful for this product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Jarrow Formulas Theanine -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Kitty
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Better Sleep
 August 3, 2013
"I read that L-Theanine can promote better sleep. What I've noticed most nights is that if I awaken in the middle of the night, I'm able to turn over and go right back to sleep. Therefore, I sleep longer and feel more refreshed in the morning upon rising. It also seems to work better when taken on an empty stomach as w/ most amino acids. Jarrow is a good brand of products."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Jarrow Formulas Theanine -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cerph
Gender:Male
High Quality
 July 6, 2013
"I use this product, primarily, to sharpen my mind, first thing in the morning- (most people use it as a sleep aid).
I tried another brand recently- it was far less effective.
Vitacost previously sold the 200mg. version of this product, but for some reason, discontinued carrying it- (so I take 2 capsules).
I highly recommend Jarrow Theanine."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Jarrow Formulas Theanine -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cylee
best product
 June 13, 2013
"excellent"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Jarrow Formulas Theanine -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
organicmamma
fromIrving, TX
calming
 May 23, 2013
"I find this product to be calming. I use it at night to help me fall asleep and if I wake up during the night, I take one to help calm my active brain to that I can go back to sleep."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Jarrow Formulas Theanine -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
IST56
fromParkland, Florida
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Can also be used for Pets
 September 11, 2008
"Actually I use this product for my very active and nervous 2 1\2 yr old Boston Terrier.
It keeps him focused.
"
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Jarrow Formulas Theanine -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
wicket
husband likes it
 September 4, 2008
"My husband just started using it but he likes it and we are gonna reorder."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Jarrow Formulas Theanine -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fortysomething
fromIndianapolis
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
good product
 February 28, 2008
"This is a good product at a good price. The NSI brand L-Theanine actually worked a little better for us, though, and is also at a good price."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Jarrow Formulas Theanine -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product