Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

5-HTP(488)
Amino Acids(1,282)
Calcium(3,253)
CoQ10(2,231)
Coconut Oil(2,832)
EFAs(3,289)
Fish Oil(1,384)
Iron(493)
Krill Oil(673)
Magnesium(1,526)
Melatonin(959)
Multi-vitamins(10,409)
Omega-3(4,475)
Probiotics(4,444)
SAMe(520)
Spirulina(74)
Vitamin A(116)
Vitamin B(4,051)
Vitamin C(2,436)
Vitamin D(2,145)
Vitamin E(442)
Vitamin K(224)
Whole Foods(1,015)
Zinc(323)
Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Digestive Health or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Vitacost.

American Health Gestazyme Digestive Enzymes -- 100 Tablets

Digestive Aid for Protein Fat and Starch. Gestazyme tablets are specially constructed to release pepsin papain amylase and betaine hydrochloride in the digestive system where these factors are most active. The betaine hydrochloride provides hydrochloric acid supplementation to ordinary gastric secretions. The pancreatin (which digests protein fats and starches) and the ox bite extract (which enhances the fat digesting activity and absorption of fat soluble vitamins A D E and K) are enterically coated for release into the small instestine.
Overall rating:
4.2 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
8 out of 10(80%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for American Health Gestazyme Digestive Enzymes -- 100 Tablets
Review 1 for American Health Gestazyme Digestive Enzymes -- 100 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vannyman
Yes!
 October 6, 2013
"These are 80% cheaper than Acti-Zyme and work just as well for me. I recommend you give them a try!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for American Health Gestazyme Digestive Enzymes -- 100 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Multited
fromMadison, IN
Age:75+
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Gestazyme does the job.
 February 28, 2013
"I used Gestazyme several years ago during an indisposition. After using a few bottles (with meals), it cleared. I needed these tablets again this winter but found that a still-sealed supply that I had kept was outdated & when opened it, it was no longer usable. I located Vitacost as a supplier and obtained a fresh supply. Once more Gestazyme worked and digestion was restored to normal."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for American Health Gestazyme Digestive Enzymes -- 100 Tablets
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
nan2
fromSeattle, WA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
It works for me
 July 28, 2010
"I have used this product on and off for several years. It does have a strong smell and the taste can be offensive. That being said, it works for my system. I've tried many digestive enzymes over the years that were suppose to be higher quality, plant based, much higher price points etc. but I always come back to this one because it works for me."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for American Health Gestazyme Digestive Enzymes -- 100 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ktross
fromWashington
Age:45-54
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
Great price and product
 November 9, 2009
"I have a lot of digestive problems and this product helps me better than anything I have tried."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for American Health Gestazyme Digestive Enzymes -- 100 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Excellent product
 May 26, 2009
"I am 75, and if I eat favorite foods that don't agree with me, I take two of these Gestyme tablets with water and the burning and belching taper off in suprisingly few minutes."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for American Health Gestazyme Digestive Enzymes -- 100 Tablets
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
snickelfritz
Didn't work
 April 27, 2009
"I was trying to find a product with ingredients similiar to another digestive product I had had. For some reason, this product seemed to give me more flatulence than not taking it. It may work fine for someone else, but it didn't work for me."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for American Health Gestazyme Digestive Enzymes -- 100 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KAPJC
It works
 January 29, 2008
"The biggest reason I use digestive enzymes is that I eat a lot of beans and get flatulence if I don't have a good enzyme with the meal. I have tried other animal-product enzymes and vegetarian enzymes that were expensive and presumably high quality. I have immediate feedback regarding the effectiveness of the enzyme when I eat beans. These enzymes work! Plus they are not even expensive although I do need to take two per meal rather than one. I am a vegan and would much prefer a vegetarian enzyme so my satisfaction rating is only a three."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for American Health Gestazyme Digestive Enzymes -- 100 Tablets
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
knowledgable
made me gag
 May 15, 2007
"This product is one of the worst tasting products i've ever tried. You can't help tasting the putridness because of the tablet size and shape. IT DOESN'T GO DOWN EASY! Don't waste your money. There are better, higher quality enzymes out there for good prices (like Source Naturals DigestActive)."
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for American Health Gestazyme Digestive Enzymes -- 100 Tablets
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
2 out of 2 recommend this product