Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Protein or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Whey Vanilla Ice Cream -- 5 lbs

Whey Protein Isolates. Primary Source. 24G Protein. 5.5G BCAAs. 4G Glutamine & Glutamic Acid. Naturally and Artificially Flavored. 77 Servings. THE TRUE STRENGTH OF WHEY. Whey Protein Isolates (WPIs) are the purest form of whey protein that currently exists. WPIs are costly to use but rate among the best proteins that money can buy. That’s why they’re the first ingredient you read on the Gold Standard 100% Whey™ label. By using WPI as the primary ingredient along with premium ultra-filtered whey protein concentrate (WPC) we’re able to pack 24 grams of muscle-building protein into every serving. ON’s attention to detail also extends to mixability. This superior quality powder has been instantized to mix. easily using a shaker cup or just a glass and spoon. There’s no doubt that this is the standard by which all other. whey proteins are measured.  . BEYOND THE BASICS. › 82% Protein by Weight (24g of Protein per 29.4g Serving Size). › Whey Protein Isolates (WPI) Main Ingredient. › Whey Protein Microfractions from Whey Protein Isolate and Ultra-Filtered Whey Protein Concentrate. › Over 4 Grams of Glutamine & Glutamic Acid in Each Serving. › More than 5 Grams of the Branched Chain Amino Acids (BCAAs) Leucine lsoleucine and Valine in Each Serving. › The “Gold Standard” for Protein Quality.
Overall rating:
4.616 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(206 reviews) 173
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 206 reviews
5 Stars
159
4 Stars
27
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
4
1 Star
4
190 out of 206(92%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Whey Vanilla Ice Cream -- 5 lbs
Review 1 for Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Whey Vanilla Ice Cream -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
FrankieJay
fromCrockett, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Best whey product Ever
 May 23, 2007
"Optimum Nutrition Whey Gold Standard Vanilla Ice Cream is the best Whey product I have used to date. I have used many Whey products; Optimum Nutrition tastes the best. It mixes well in milk or water. I add it to my protein shakes every morning. I order from Vitacost often. I am very satisfied with the product and the service that Vitacost provides. Would recommend to anyone searching for an excellent Whey product at a great price from Vitacost.com"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Whey Vanilla Ice Cream -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
DaveB67
fromGrove City, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Tastes Good and Mixes Easily
 September 3, 2015
"I have one shake mixed with skim milk each night. Taste is very good and it mixes very easily in a shaker cup.
Far from the cheapest protein powder but worth the added cost in my opinion."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Whey Vanilla Ice Cream -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Avico78
fromIsrael
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Vanilla Ice Cream - disgusting
 August 19, 2015
"I just tried it - the Vanilla Ice cream is disgusting,
I guess the option to drink it is with Vanilla milk or real ice cream
otherwise - can't drink it.
"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Whey Vanilla Ice Cream -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DimaV
fromisrael
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Great product, fast shipping
 August 4, 2015
"The taste is a bit dominant but overall a great product, dissolves quickly and arrived fast!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Whey Vanilla Ice Cream -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
OhioRN
fromOhio
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Excellent
 July 23, 2015
"Dissolves beautifully. I also use it to make homemade "Quest" bars. Yum!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Whey Vanilla Ice Cream -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shayke
fromIsrael
Great product
 July 22, 2015
"Great product, excellent service and very quick shipment"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Whey Vanilla Ice Cream -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
PRkid718
fromBronx, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Great!
 July 5, 2015
"This product is good. 77 servings for $50+? Can't be beat! The taste is great too. Bought this same flavor twice, for its taste and value."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Whey Vanilla Ice Cream -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ProteinPro
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Excellent protein
 June 22, 2015
"Excellent protein. Great taste.
Very high quality.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Whey Vanilla Ice Cream -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Denverclimber
fromDenver, CO
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Excellent Whey Powder!
 June 22, 2015
"I've used a lot of whey powders over the years and can honestly say that The Gold Standard Vanilla has... great taste, mixes easily in the Vitamix, blends with all types of fruits and juices to create a smoothie that is pleasing to the whole family and friends. Highly recommended."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Whey Vanilla Ice Cream -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bulldog03
fromBirmingham, AL
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Solid protein
 May 25, 2015
"Great protein with glutamine & essential bcaa's. Mild flavor not overwhelming or too sweet."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Whey Vanilla Ice Cream -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
RoiZ
fromIsrael
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Bad taste!
 May 23, 2015
"I love the ON Whey Gold products but the Vanilla Ice Cream is not tasty at all.
It has a bad flavor at the end =\
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Whey Vanilla Ice Cream -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Simply great
 May 20, 2015
"Got it really fast and it's a great product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Whey Vanilla Ice Cream -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Che2
fromRetired and living in the U.S. Virgin Islands
Age:75+
Gender:Male
 April 27, 2015
"I've tried them all and ON's Optium Gold Standard 100% Whey mixes the easiest, taste the best and cost less than its competitors. And it contains all the indgrents you requires when you're into a 'weight lifting' body improvement program. Or if you're trying to loose a few pounds, just substitute this for a meal or two per day for thirty days and the pounds will fall off without creating a nutrition deficiency in body needs. Four stars because nothing is perfect but this protein supplement comes as close to perfect as one can expect. And I don't have any thing to gain by my strong endorsement except the satisfaction of getting the word out that this is an above adverage, top of the line protein powder. Try it and you will see what I mean. If you don't agree with me, well, everybody has an opinion and I've just given you mine."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Whey Vanilla Ice Cream -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Supafly
fromOklahoma City, OK
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Great product
 March 17, 2015
"Great quality. Mixes well and tastes great"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Whey Vanilla Ice Cream -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Eboknight
fromMichigan
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Gold Standard 100% Whey
 February 26, 2015
"Great product! Mixes easily in water, not so much in milk. It is not as thick or as strong in taste as other brands, which is fine with me. It has glutamine and BCAA amino acids, which is convenient.
Plan to purchase again.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Whey Vanilla Ice Cream -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1Good1
 January 21, 2015
"Good clean protein"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Whey Vanilla Ice Cream -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Taylrexo
fromWI
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Tastes so watered down
 January 20, 2015
"This was my first time trying ON protein, and I am sad to say that I am disappointed! The flavor is super watered down, and I even used less liquid than they recommend to try to get more of a flavor boost. I guess I will be putting the remaining whey in smoothies only since it's not tasty on it's own."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Whey Vanilla Ice Cream -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vitacostfanatic2
fromSouth Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
THIS FLAVOR IS THE BOMB! AMAZING!!!
 January 16, 2015
"I was hesitant to try this flavor as I am HANDS DOWN a chocoholic and I have been immensely enjoying the Double Chocolate flavor for a very long time. I am sooooo thankful I branched out and took a chance on this flavor. I am in love! This works GREAT in any drink I am making and if I want it to be chocolaty, I just add unsweetened cocoa powder. Here is a DELICIOUS recipe for you to try:
Chocolate Covered Strawberry Protein Frappe
Put the following into a blender:
1 cup chilled vanilla unsweetened almond milk
1 cup frozen strawberries
1/4 cup ON Double Chocolate whey protein or ON Vanilla Ice Cream Whey Protein powder
1 1/2 Tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
2 doonks pure stevia or sweeten to taste with your preferred sweetener (Truvia works nicely, too.)
Add a splash of vanilla and tiny pinch of salt of your choice & then blend until nicely whipped and light. Serves 2....or 1 :)
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Whey Vanilla Ice Cream -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kcychien
Good tasting and easy to digest
 December 26, 2014
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I have used Cytosport 100% Whey Protein, Muscle Milk Protein Powder, Six Star Pro and now Optimum Nutrition in various favours.
Of all of them, the best tasting is probably Six Star Pro and Optimum Nutrition, as they do not leave a funky aftertaste. Both dissolves fast and leaves little to no residue in my workout bottle.
If price is a concern you may want to look at Syntrax Matrix as I have heard it is a budget buy and some other good things about it.
-------
Also, I have moved temporarily away from the States, so international shipping cost becomes a concern for me. I don`t care if you have to do slow shipping by ship, please pressure down the international shipping cost, or provide a slow but cheap shipping option."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Whey Vanilla Ice Cream -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
azabado
this product is very good
 December 3, 2014
"good protein product"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next