Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Krill Oil or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Source Naturals NKO® Neptune Krill Oil -- 500 mg - 60 Softgels

Supports Heart Health & Cell Membrane Integrity. NKO® is an extract from Antarctic krill that is rich in cell membrane building blocks: highly unsaturated phospholipids co-functionalized with omega-3 fatty acids (EPA & DHA). Although beneficial for both men and women NKO also supports temporary relief of PMS symptoms.
Overall rating:
4.147 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(34 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 34 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
4
28 out of 34(82%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Source Naturals NKO® Neptune Krill Oil -- 500 mg - 60 Softgels
Review 1 for Source Naturals NKO® Neptune Krill Oil -- 500 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
highgrade
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
excellent product
 March 22, 2013
"I am very happy with the Source Naturals NKO. Previously, I was using Prograde EFA icon (krill oil). The cost difference was enough to give the Source Naturals a try. No negative effects. As expected, no fishy burps or the sort. I will continue to use this product."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Source Naturals NKO® Neptune Krill Oil -- 500 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
buybuybuy
fromMadison, SD
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
good company, good product
 March 14, 2013
"I've used Source Naturals NKO for years now. I'm happy with this product. However, the last couple of years, the capsules often are leaky and make quite a mess. Source Naturals is a good company. I can't understand why these capsules would leak. I haven't noticed any adverse consequences from using the leaky capsules, so I continue to buy and use them. VitaCost offers them at a good price. This particular size and dosage seems to be the best value."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Source Naturals NKO® Neptune Krill Oil -- 500 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
DennisF
fromNJ
Age:55-64
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Used to be ok, not so anymore
 January 18, 2013
"The last 2 orders of this product (a total of 4 bottles) had oil leaked out of the softgels, making for a stinky, sticky mess on the capsules and the inside of the bottle. The last bottle had one softgel that had completely leaked inside the bottle. What a mess! Very poor quality control. I will not buy them again."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Source Naturals NKO® Neptune Krill Oil -- 500 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
waliatif2
fromDecatur, GA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Disappointment.
 December 6, 2012
"When I open the bottle, one of the capsule's had burst and the oil was all over the rest of them. They all had a strong fishy smell and was covered in oil. I had to wipe off each capsule before using it."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Source Naturals NKO® Neptune Krill Oil -- 500 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
AuntMeghey
fromGeorgia
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
So Far So Good But....
 November 26, 2012
"I can't really attest to effectiveness yet but I did want to note: You really want to eat an actual meal in the mornings with this. I usually just eat a cup of yogurt and a muffin but this made me VERY nauseated.
No after taste or anything just nausea.
Now I eat a bit more for breakfast and no nausea:)"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Source Naturals NKO® Neptune Krill Oil -- 500 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
SCHealthnut
fromSC
Age:55-64
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Fish odor
 August 27, 2012
"When you open the bottle, the strong fish smell will make you gag. Not only is the smell horrible, but the pill will stain anything it touches.
I haven't noticed any difference in my health by switching to these Krill oil gels. I will try another brand since Mercola recommends Krill oil over fish oil."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Source Naturals NKO® Neptune Krill Oil -- 500 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
WalrusKing
fromSouthern California
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
switched from this one
 June 4, 2012
"I've switched from this product to the Source Naturals Arctic Pure Krill Oil.
When I began taking krill oil, this was the one I selected. I trust Source Naturals products, and my research made me prefer the NKO. The first batch was fine. But the later batches all had a very strong fishy smell when the bottle was opened, and the softgels were coated with oil ... enough they stained the plastic pill holders I use.
I don't doubt that they are effective, but I don't have the same issues with the Arctic Pure.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Source Naturals NKO® Neptune Krill Oil -- 500 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Elljay
fromCalifon, NJ
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Source Naturals NKO is my favorite
 March 8, 2012
"My holistic chiropractor had recommended Source Naturals NKO several years ago and I've been taking it ever since. I have been recommending it to my friends over the years and they all love it!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Source Naturals NKO® Neptune Krill Oil -- 500 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
intempo
fromPortland, OR
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great Product
 January 8, 2012
"Great product!!! Very little fish smell, no fish belch, and you get all the benefits of Krill."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Source Naturals NKO® Neptune Krill Oil -- 500 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dolphina
fromFlorida
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
bEST KRILL OIL
 November 22, 2011
"Source Naturals NKO Krill Oil is
something I take daily, with no bad aftertaste that comes from some fish oils. I feel certain that I'm getting the maximum benefits of Krill Oil with NKO.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Source Naturals NKO® Neptune Krill Oil -- 500 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happilyeverandever
Impressive
 November 1, 2011
"I research everything I order or buy . For the saving plus ingredients, to what others review about this. So I bought this brand because of those reasons. It doesn't make you burp up however when you open the bottle just don't breathe into it. It smells pretty fishy. However I was impressed because it didn't make me feel sick , I felt more energetic and my husband was super impressed with this product as well."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Source Naturals NKO® Neptune Krill Oil -- 500 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Austinbabe
fromAustin, MN
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Neptune Krill Oil
 October 15, 2011
"Neptune Krill oil is considered the BEST that money can buy for you--I agree. No fishy taste, just great nutrition"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Source Naturals NKO® Neptune Krill Oil -- 500 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MagicMarker
fromDeBary, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Krill Oil
 June 19, 2010
"This was my first time buying this product and I will purchase again. Easy to take and no fish oil taste."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Source Naturals NKO® Neptune Krill Oil -- 500 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
scusa
krill oil
 February 6, 2010
"strong fishy odor"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Source Naturals NKO® Neptune Krill Oil -- 500 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LongLiveNKO
fromWashington, DC area
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Best Krill Oil
 July 31, 2009
"Fish oil is not for me due to fish burps. I tried this krill oil and had no such problems. Then I tried to save some money by buying NSI's KriaXanthin Antarctic Krill Oil. What a mistake. That stuff gave me awful fish burps. I switched back to Source Naturals NKO and the fish burps are gone. Too bad it costs so much more, but well worth the price if you are like me and can't stand the fishy aftertaste of fish oil and cheaper krill oil products."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Source Naturals NKO® Neptune Krill Oil -- 500 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
riscman
fromMinneapolis, MN
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Terrible Odor
 June 8, 2009
"After opening the bottle I was almost sickened by the odor. Smelled like rotting fish."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Source Naturals NKO® Neptune Krill Oil -- 500 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kittank
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
 May 5, 2009
"I love this product because it doesn't repeat like other fish pills. You won't burp up horrific fish oil with krill capsules. I can definitely see differences in my appearance as well. My face seems more full, less dry."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Source Naturals NKO® Neptune Krill Oil -- 500 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rudolph
fromLewisburg, WV
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Stinky but effective
 February 26, 2009
"The inside of my knee has had major soreness to the touch from my running routine. Now after 30 days taking NKO I can say the pain has been reduced significantly, but not entirely gone."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Source Naturals NKO® Neptune Krill Oil -- 500 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dftd
fromVirginia
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Good supplement
 January 2, 2009
"Improved my overall mood and found it to be more effective then fish oil. Better then the NSI offering."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Source Naturals NKO® Neptune Krill Oil -- 500 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tiberius
fromFulton, MO
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
Wonderful product
 December 18, 2008
"I use this as a supplement for the Omega oils. I find these oils help to keep my ears clear of ear wax. That is no joke. It makes a huge difference. I use hemp powder for the same reason. I don't have problems with my ears and I find the ear wax, the little that I have, actually softening and easy to get out. So I love the supplement. If I run out of my hemp powder I am using this. The idea isn't a new one. Omega's help with ear wax so those with hearing problems ought to try this as it is an excellent way to get those tough harden waxes soften and going away when showering. Those people that I know who don't use hemp or fish oil or krill oil have problems with ear wax. And some of those people have seriious hearing problems. I've read about the idea from others so I tried it and it is really amazing stuff. It is hard to have Omega oils in one's diet so this is a great way to do it."
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 next