Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop 5-HTP or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost 5-HTP -- 50 mg - 120 Capsules

Natural amino acid supplement containing 5-hydroxytryptophan. What is 5-HTP? 5-Hydroxytryptophan or 5-HTP is an amino acid that converts to serotonin in the body. Serotonin is a substance that acts as a neurotransmitter or chemical that helps relay signals from one area of the brain to another.  . How does 5-HTP support health? 5-HTP can elevate levels of serotonin which is associated with good mood in humans.*. 5-HTP can increase a sense of well-being.*. Why choose Vitacost 5-HTP? Free of the compound “peak X” for health safety reasons.*. Great quality great value. About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP).  .  .  . *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.231 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(39 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 39 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
3
1 Star
3
33 out of 39(85%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 50 mg - 120 Capsules
Review 1 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 50 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JLAS
fromMedford, OR
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great product.
 March 26, 2015
"Used this Product for a long time. Works as advertise."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 50 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hazzy
fromMaryland
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
It works!
 January 13, 2015
"I have used this product for several months and am very pleased with the results."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 50 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
mwp2364
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Fine Product Good Price
 November 23, 2014
"Does the job"
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 50 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Srk9mom
fromLawson, MO
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
5-HTP
 October 4, 2014
"I read about this product in Woman's World magazine. Supposedly it has a dual use but my main interest was in the weight loss it created as a side effect. My daughter started taking it before I did and started having headaches so she quit. I never have headaches so I started taking it and after the first dose I woke up with a headache so I quit taking it. I also discussed it with my doctor and since I take a prescription drug for Hypothyroidism, she didn't feel I should take it since it can interact with Thyroid medication. I know others have had great results losing weight with this product but I won't be one of them. If you are going to use it, use caution."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 50 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ammanna
fromberkeley, california
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
pleased with this product
 November 6, 2013
"i like having the 50 mgs dosage so that i can increase
or decrease incrementally. it's been about a month and i
do feel that seretonin level has been boosted by taking 5 HTP;
i am feeling better.
"
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 50 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Squidlet
fromVirginia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Build serotonin with 5-htp
 October 23, 2013
"This product aids the ability to build serotonin, essential for use in handling stress. Vitacost delivers a good product."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 50 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromColumbia, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Good for me
 July 23, 2013
"I take a 50 mg 5- HTP Vitacost brand about 1 hour before bed time to help me sleep. I notice if I don't take one, I wake up cranky the next morning. So in addition to my prescription sleep aid, I always add 5 -HTP to the mix for a good nights rest and immediate awakening the next morning."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 50 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
donatella
fromCalifornia
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
 April 26, 2013
"Bought this product for my husband. Helps him sleep better.
Will see as time goes by.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 50 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Desertfox
Better sleep, steady mood
 March 7, 2013
"This seems to promote better, restful sleep and I am more positive than before."
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 50 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LP12345
fromAlbuquerque, NM
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
The product does work
 March 6, 2013
"I am happy to report that this product really does work if you take one tablet 30 mins before your meal."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 50 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Profesora
fromAguadilla, Puerto Rico
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
 January 14, 2013
"Excellent product. I have lost 4 pounds. I will recommend it to my friends!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 50 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JingLing
fromMurrells Inlet, SC
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
This product works for me.
 November 15, 2012
"My days are brighter and lighter when I take 5htp. Vita cost brand works as well as any other I have tried. Not habit forming."
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 50 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jmfr
fromFlorida
Age:75+
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Important supplement for me at reasonable cost
 July 28, 2012
"I have been using this supplement for several years. I tried your brand because of its cost. I have re-ordered it because it appears to be as effective.as the higher priced brands,"
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 50 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
smoothrunner
fromJunction City Ore
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Works!!
 July 10, 2012
"I sleep much better and sounder. I also take alot less melatonin. Also kinda takes the edge off."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 50 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
donbon
fromColorado
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
very good
 June 28, 2012
"A good source of 5-htp at a good price"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 50 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
5-HTP
 May 9, 2012
"Great product, great price!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 50 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
yahu
weak
 January 1, 2012
"these are not the 100 mg I thought I was getting."
-13points
0of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 50 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
geeker
fromWI
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
no effect
 September 29, 2011
"This product had no effect on me whatsoever far as i could tell. Almost done with bottle. Did nothing for me, did not make me drowsy or help me sleep whatsoever. Will not be buying again. I have tried other brands of 5-HTP in the past with no effect there either. So it is not the brand, just the 5-HTP."
-3points
4of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 50 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Shig
fromArizona
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
5 HTP
 June 23, 2011
"it's ok, maybe to early still"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 50 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
annie65
fromnj
Age:45-54
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
great value
 April 16, 2011
"great value for the money from a company that is strict with is standardization. Will buy again when I run out."
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2 next