Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

5-HTP(490)
Amino Acids(1,280)
Calcium(3,413)
CoQ10(2,283)
Coconut Oil(3,013)
EFAs(3,302)
Fish Oil(1,425)
Iron(504)
Krill Oil(705)
Magnesium(1,615)
Melatonin(979)
Multivitamins(10,614)
Omega-3(4,619)
Algae(715)
Bee Pollen(258)
Caffeine(33)
Celadrin(78)
Charcoal(81)
Chitosan(39)
Chlorella(126)
Choline(123)
Collagen(201)
Colostrum(169)
D-Mannose(43)
DHEA(363)
DMAE(73)
EFAs(103)
EpiCor(28)
FOS(2)
GABA(153)
GLA(6)
GPLC(27)
Gelatin(13)
Glycine(7)
HGH(32)
Iodine(40)
L-Lysine(142)
L-Theanine(191)
LPP(39)
Lecithin(218)
Lithium(3)
Lutein(308)
Lycopene(89)
MSM(366)
NADH(44)
Pectin(38)
Propolis(68)
Pycnogenol(128)
Quercetin(122)
RNA/DNA(1)
Red Wine(10)
Relora(2)
Silica(17)
Soy(97)
Taurine(73)
Yeast(69)
Probiotics(4,654)
SAMe(534)
Spirulina(78)
Vitamin A(127)
Vitamin B(4,223)
Vitamin C(2,571)
Vitamin D(2,241)
Vitamin E(454)
Vitamin K(241)
Whole Foods(1,136)
Zinc(332)
Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Chitosan or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Chitosan -- 1500 mg per serving - 240 Capsules

Natural dietary fiber supplement featuring LipoSan Ultra™ with 90% chitosan from shellfish. What is Vitacost Chitosan? Vitacost Chitosan is a unique fiber formulation featuring LipoSan Ultra® a patented high-quality form of chitosan derived from the outer shells of Pandalus borealis shrimp harvested from cold North Atlantic waters. Chitosan is an amino polysaccharide fiber derived from chitin a substance found naturally in the shells or exoskeletons of arthropods such as shrimp crab and lobster. Chitosan has been used historically for agricultural horticultural and health purposes including skin/hair care and weight management. How does Vitacost Chitosan support health? For use with a healthy diet and regular exercise program. Why choose Vitacost Chitosan? Supplies 1500 mg of LipoSan Ultra® per 3-capsule serving. Contains 80 servings per bottle. Great value compared to other brands! About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP). .  .  .  . * These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.091 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
18 out of 22(82%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Chitosan -- 1500 mg per serving - 240 Capsules
Review 1 for Vitacost Chitosan -- 1500 mg per serving - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
AJBon99
fromFrankfort, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Excellent results
 April 21, 2014
"I have been using this quite a while with great results. I've been eating a clean diet while using this supplement. After three kids I have visible ab muscles."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Chitosan -- 1500 mg per serving - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
DawnP
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Works well
 April 29, 2013
"I have been taking Chitosan for years. It keeps me regular and helps me to maintain my weight. This product is easy to swallow, does not repeat on me and works well overall."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Chitosan -- 1500 mg per serving - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
j1040
frompgh pa
Age:55-64
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
works well
 March 7, 2013
"Really like this product"
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Chitosan -- 1500 mg per serving - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alico
fromMelbourne Australia
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
This product is a Health Booster
 February 13, 2013
"We, my wife and myself, have just started using Vitacost Chitosan; after investigating and gathering good information we beleive this product will be very good for our wellbeing and hopefully for anyone else."
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Chitosan -- 1500 mg per serving - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Shunta
fromTaipei, TW
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:61-180 days
It works.
 July 20, 2010
"This is a great product! It is works for me."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Chitosan -- 1500 mg per serving - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
vbyrd6
fromScottsdale AZ
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Chitosan
 April 11, 2010
"Suppose to break down fat and process the energy - I am up to 4 a day but not seeing any change in the weight?
I have only been on it three weeks but I expected some progress by now?"
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Chitosan -- 1500 mg per serving - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
djm20
fromWescosville, PA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Fiber
 September 14, 2009
"Good source of fiber and helps control weight."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Chitosan -- 1500 mg per serving - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
slimr
fromSpring Branch, Tx.
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
worked for a week
 July 23, 2009
"I am not happy with the results,it seemed to work for a week,then I didn't notice any effects at all. Maybe my body adjusted to it? I am wondering if anyone else experiences the same thing?"
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Chitosan -- 1500 mg per serving - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
scorpio1
fromDayton, Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:30-60 days
Chitosan
 January 25, 2009
"This was a good buy for me. I read about the effectiveness of this product on the appetite and decided to try it. It does the job providing you take it prior to meals as directed. I would recommend this to a friend who is struggling with weight and want a boost to the daily diet and exercise."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Chitosan -- 1500 mg per serving - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
seashore
 September 19, 2007
"Don't know yet. been using for two and a half weeks and have not lost a pound yet?"
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Chitosan -- 1500 mg per serving - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
pon2000
It works!
 June 26, 2007
"After taking NSI Chitosan, I noticed there was oil in the toilet when I went to the bathroom. That oil could only have come from the food and it was trapped in the NSI Chitosan and passed directly through my digestive tract and out of me."
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Chitosan -- 1500 mg per serving - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
healthlyone
Not happy with results
 June 20, 2007
"product tends to cause constipation and bloating"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Vitacost Chitosan -- 1500 mg per serving - 240 Capsules
Based on the average of (10) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
4.3 / 5
4.3 / 5
9 out of 10 recommend this product