Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Massage or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Desert Essence Pure Jojoba Oil -- 4 fl oz

For Hair Skin and Scalp. Desert Essence® Jojoba Oil is a pure and natural plant extract that will penetrate and moisturize your skin without leaving any oily residue. This luxurious oil can be used to remove makeup and to cleanse clogged pores leaving the skin clean. Soften your hands and feet by massaging them with Jojoba Oil after bathing. Treat your hair and scalp to a rejuvenating massage with Jojoba Oil - especially good for moisturizing the scalp and to prevent dry skin or flakiness. Suitable for even the most sensitive skin. May be used as a leave in hair treatment or as an aftershave moisturizer.
Overall rating:
4.832 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(376 reviews) 315
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 376 reviews
5 Stars
330
4 Stars
34
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
367 out of 376(98%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Desert Essence Pure Jojoba Oil -- 4 fl oz
Review 1 for Desert Essence Pure Jojoba Oil -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kitty
Liquid Gold
 March 28, 2007
"I purchase this wonderful oil quite often because I am a hairstlyist and I use it everyday on my clients. I never liked to use alot of oil or oily products. This oil is different because it is the only moisturizing oil available. All other oils just lubricate. Jojoba oil moisturizes and lubricates.
I have used other brands but I like this one the best and highly recommend it to my clients. They purchase it because they like the look and feel of their hair when they leave the salon. I call it liquid gold!
The added benefit is that it is also excellent for the skin and scalp. I use it on my skin whenever I run out of lotion. It makes the skin feel soft and silky and keeps my skin moisturized all day long. It especially works well on the heels of my feet.
I believe this is a product that I will continue to purchase and use for as long as I have purchasing power!"
+66points
72of 78voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Desert Essence Pure Jojoba Oil -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dolphinwatcher
fromSarasota, FL
great moisturizer
 October 27, 2014
"I originally got this to remove eye makeup but didn't like the greasy feel on my eyes. Since I didn't want to waste the rest I looked for other uses and found its great to mix a drop of lavender essential oil with it at night and put on my neck and chest. It is a good moisturizer and the lavender calms me for sleeping. I also put it on my hands at night and found I like it better than specialized hand creams because it doesn't smell, absorbs quickly and doesn't leave my hands too greasy to open doors or touch things. My hands and cuticles no longer need any other moisturizer during the day. I will always make sure I have this and don't run out."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Desert Essence Pure Jojoba Oil -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Carrea
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Great Product!
 October 18, 2014
"This product is great for moisturizing my natural hair."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Desert Essence Pure Jojoba Oil -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
blueberry73
fromYpsilanti,MI
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great oil
 October 15, 2014
"I use this on natural hair and it is great. The price is good also."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Desert Essence Pure Jojoba Oil -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reeba
fromGeorgia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Light Oil
 September 30, 2014
"The Jojoba Oil is a light oil that absorbs quickly. I put it on my face every day."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Desert Essence Pure Jojoba Oil -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Grma03
fromMinnesota
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Not What Expected
 September 18, 2014
"I bought this Jojoba oil based on reviews stating it helped for their dry hair. I have dry hair so hoped it would help but just ended up making my hair look greasy. Only used a very small amount and only on the ends but it was a mess. Will use as moisturizer but do not use in your hair."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Desert Essence Pure Jojoba Oil -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
djholcombe
fromRaleigh, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great make up remover
 September 11, 2014
"I purchased this to be a carrier oil for diluting my essential oils but read many reviews saying it is an excellent make up remover. It's true! It's great for gently removing mascara and keeps my lashes looking healthy. Works great as a carrier oils as well. No complaints."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Desert Essence Pure Jojoba Oil -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
reader999
fromKansas City, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Excellent quality
 September 9, 2014
"Excellent quality, soaks into skin completely within a few minutes. Had a very bad sunburn, but repeatedly applied this product and within 6 hours had no pain, never got any blisters, and had no skin damage.
After applying, the hands and fingers feel oily, but that dissipates within 5 minutes. You can either wipe off your hands or allow it to soak in."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Desert Essence Pure Jojoba Oil -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tsocativ14
fromohio
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
excellent
 September 2, 2014
"This product is excellent for body moisturizer and creates a smooth soft texture of the skin. It does not stain clothing! Yeah!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Desert Essence Pure Jojoba Oil -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1proudgrandma
fromCharlotte ,N. C.
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
face feels soft
 September 2, 2014
"I had never used jojoba before I decided to try it. I use this on my face after cleansing, toning and anti aging serum . Small amt. is all you need . My face is softer. With this routine I feel my face looks much better .I never wore make up regularly before but with age decided to try to improve as much as I can. Still no cosmetics but very happy with what I see ."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Desert Essence Pure Jojoba Oil -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nessie31
fromUSA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
BEST THING EVER!
 August 30, 2014
"Just buy it, its awesome!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Desert Essence Pure Jojoba Oil -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
butterfly83
fromMemphis, TN
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
LOVE IT!!
 August 17, 2014
"My hair loves this product!! So far vitacost offers the cheapest price that I have seen. I usually stock up."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Desert Essence Pure Jojoba Oil -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
eviljanedoe
fromUSA
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Not for me
 August 14, 2014
"Smooth, silky and absorbs nicely. However, it broke out my very sensitive skin."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Desert Essence Pure Jojoba Oil -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Organbuff
fromCanton, Ohio
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
close but not quite there
 August 14, 2014
"I am a massage therapist and a colleague and I recently traded massage, and he used some Jojoba oil on me (but of a different brand). I am not always a fan of using oil for massage, since many of them can be heavy and get into your linens, but the kind he used left my skin feeling absolutely silky later in the day....and did not appear to bother my table linens.
Alas, since I couldn't remember the brand, I found this one (since I buy a lot of stuff from Vitacost anyway)--the price was right, but I am not as satisfied with it. At least it seems to have little smell and does a fair job of moisturizing my very temperamental skin (I am a Type I diabetic so that is an inherent problem), but the texture is completely different from what was used on me. My inclination is to go re-find the other brand, then, even though it was more costly. In my work, however, I need something a little more dependable for my needs.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Desert Essence Pure Jojoba Oil -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lovefree
fromArizona
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
really good product
 August 11, 2014
"I use this mostly as a carrier oil for essential oils, and for use on face, scalp, and body. It works perfectly. It is a light and pure oil, and feels good on my sensitive skin. I like it also because it is cruelty free, not tested on animals, although I have applied it with ease and safety on my animals at times with skin irritations or bites."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Desert Essence Pure Jojoba Oil -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
campergirl1
fromGlobe, AZ
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great for so many uses!
 August 9, 2014
"I originally bought this oil for my hair, which I do put in the ends of my hair after washing. It absorbs beautifully and is not greasy. Then I discovered it makes the most amazing eye makeup remover! I think it's made my eyelashes healthier too. They don't fall out like they used to. I'll always keep it around now for daily use. It's wonderful on my cuticles too!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Desert Essence Pure Jojoba Oil -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kellsz
fromEast Boothbay, ME
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Amazing!!!
 August 9, 2014
"I use jojoba for my dry scalp issues, I usually have a ton of flakes, but this along with some coconut oil, kept my scalp clean and free of those annoying flakes. I use it on my skin also, its moiturizing and not greasy, it works well with my oily skin. I don't think I'll ever stop using this product."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Desert Essence Pure Jojoba Oil -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Christine70
fromLas vegas
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great product
 August 7, 2014
"I've been making my own beauty products and this ingredient is used in a lot of them. It blends easily. I would recommend this and it's a great price too!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Desert Essence Pure Jojoba Oil -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
rayonce
fromSacramento, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great Product
 July 31, 2014
"I use this in a hair mask I found on pinterest and it leaves my hair feeling soft and smooth. .And the price is incredible. Thank you!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Desert Essence Pure Jojoba Oil -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
plant7trees
fromLos Angeles, CA
Gender:Female
Great for your skin and hair!
 July 24, 2014
"Well I have to give credit to one of the reviews placed here which prompted me to purchase this wonderful oil! She said that it was extremely moisterizing for the scalp and skin. So after purchasing it I tried it on both and was really happy to learn that it works extremely well! The key is to use just a tiny bit as the oil will spread quickly so a little goes a long way."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 16 next