Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Massage Oil & Cream or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Desert Essence 100% Pure Jojoba Oil -- 4 fl oz

For Hair Skin and Scalp. Non-GMO Project Verified. Desert Essence® Jojoba Oil is a pure and natural plant extract that will penetrate and moisturize your skin without leaving any oily residue. This luxurious oil can be used to remove makeup and to cleanse clogged pores leaving the skin clean. Soften your hands and feet by massaging them with Jojoba Oil after bathing. Treat your hair and scalp to a rejuvenating massage with Jojoba Oil - especially good for moisturizing the scalp and to prevent dry skin or flakiness. Suitable for even the most sensitive skin. May be used as a leave in hair treatment or as an aftershave moisturizer.
Overall rating:
4.84 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(470 reviews) 400
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 470 reviews
5 Stars
415
4 Stars
41
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
460 out of 470(98%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Desert Essence 100% Pure Jojoba Oil -- 4 fl oz
Review 1 for Desert Essence 100% Pure Jojoba Oil -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kitty
Liquid Gold
 March 28, 2007
"I purchase this wonderful oil quite often because I am a hairstlyist and I use it everyday on my clients. I never liked to use alot of oil or oily products. This oil is different because it is the only moisturizing oil available. All other oils just lubricate. Jojoba oil moisturizes and lubricates.
I have used other brands but I like this one the best and highly recommend it to my clients. They purchase it because they like the look and feel of their hair when they leave the salon. I call it liquid gold!
The added benefit is that it is also excellent for the skin and scalp. I use it on my skin whenever I run out of lotion. It makes the skin feel soft and silky and keeps my skin moisturized all day long. It especially works well on the heels of my feet.
I believe this is a product that I will continue to purchase and use for as long as I have purchasing power!"
+103points
109of 115voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Desert Essence 100% Pure Jojoba Oil -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ann84
fromBrampton, On
Hair or skin care
 February 4, 2016
"good for all type of hair and skin"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Desert Essence 100% Pure Jojoba Oil -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lampoel
fromWest Michigan
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Replaced my facial serum
 February 4, 2016
"I was paying about 3 x's the cost of this oil for a popular facial serum I had been using for years, when I heard that jojoba oil is the most similar to human skin. Wanting to use a more natural product, without all the additives that we don't need, I tried this. After washing my face I just drop about 5-6 drops into the palm of my hand and dip my fingers in it to spread it on all parts of my face. I absolutely love it! I let it saturate for a couple minutes and then apply my mineral powder foundation. I believe it helps to hold the powder on my face longer as well."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Desert Essence 100% Pure Jojoba Oil -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
perp
fromTravelers Rest, SC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
great non-greasy moisturizer!
 February 3, 2016
"I've been using coconut oil for years as an all-body moisturizer, but I often had issues with it leaving a residue on clothes. I decided to try a different natural oil. My research indicates that jojoba oil is very similar to the oils of the body, absorbs well without a greasy residue, nor does it pose a threat to clogging pores. On the contrary, it actually enhances release of toxins from the pores! Seems unbelievable but I've used half a bottle and have to say it has performed as I had hoped-- soft, smooth skin without the greasy residue. I've already ordered another bottle to keep from running out!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Desert Essence 100% Pure Jojoba Oil -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
novacayt
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Top quality
 February 3, 2016
"I use this jojoba oil to make my own eye makeup remover. I mix it with witch hazel and filtered water. This jojoba is top quality and perfect for the price."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Desert Essence 100% Pure Jojoba Oil -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
alighthouse
Gender:Female
Very Nice!
 January 28, 2016
"This has such a nourishing feel to the skin. I used this to make a natural body cream lotion."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Desert Essence 100% Pure Jojoba Oil -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
coleymom2016
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
great for natural 4C hair
 January 26, 2016
"use this as part of moisture loc regime."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Desert Essence 100% Pure Jojoba Oil -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purrr
fromPalatka, FL
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Vitacost price is SOOO reasonable!!
 January 23, 2016
"If you don't know Jojoba Oil, I will tell you that I have read that it "transports" other ingredients into the skin. I use a LOT of it, and Vitacost sells my very favorite Jojoba brand for MUCH less than other stores. I mix it with "E" oil and other oils and creams to help moisturize nails, feet, and skin in general. It's NOT greasy and seems to reduce the greasy feel of other oils. I love this stuff...AND Vitacost makes it affordable. I have been using it for several years."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Desert Essence 100% Pure Jojoba Oil -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
faith10
fromFL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great Hair And Body Oil
 January 19, 2016
"I use this oil on my hair and skin. My skin feels so soft and my hair looks silky. I love it and will buy it again. I also love buying from Vitacost...They have the best price on the internet."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Desert Essence 100% Pure Jojoba Oil -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durham419
fromWatertown, SD
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
This is a great product.
 January 17, 2016
"It is a good value and a great product. I use it daily and will continue to buy it again!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Desert Essence 100% Pure Jojoba Oil -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Squirrel63
fromMission BC Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 January 16, 2016
"Love this product! Closest to our own body oils. I use it in conjunction with other oils, such as monoi coconut oil/vanilla, Rosehip etc.. In the making of my own body & Facal oil, that I use after my showers on my skin! What difference in my skin since I have been doing this. heavenly! I gave it a 5 star but will only coming up as 4:("
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Desert Essence 100% Pure Jojoba Oil -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
XJ9000
fromMT
Very good
 January 13, 2016
"I love this oil for my hair, also good on my skin but I mainly use it for hair."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Desert Essence 100% Pure Jojoba Oil -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chulbal
Great face/body moisturizer
 January 6, 2016
"Great oil for all body moisturizing. I like to mix some with my favorite non-toxic lotion for extra moisture. I also switch between this jojoba oil and coconut oil as a facial cleanser as it is similar to natural sebum produced in our skin. Check out some tutorials on oil-cleansing method.
For a natural-haired black woman, I use some of this oil as a sealant for my curls which works okay for me.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Desert Essence 100% Pure Jojoba Oil -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JMCAPTSPARKY
fromcape canaveral, florida
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
using with essential oils
 January 6, 2016
"I am mixing this with Frankincense, Eucalyptus, cypress, and tea tree, it seems to be working well....i sometimes use coconut oil..."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Desert Essence 100% Pure Jojoba Oil -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Scrummie
fromRoanoke, VA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Good carrier oil
 January 5, 2016
"I had been looking for a good carrier oil for essential oils. I like that it's 100% Jojoba oil and that's it's non-GMO."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Desert Essence 100% Pure Jojoba Oil -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
carmart
fromNew York
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Jojoba oil is a standard
 January 4, 2016
"You can't go wrong with this. I would give it 5 stars if it were organic, but it isn't."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Desert Essence 100% Pure Jojoba Oil -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
DrRobotronic
fromCanada
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
High Quality Oil - Low Quality Container
 January 4, 2016
"Great price for high quality jojoba oil. I use this as a moisturizer, as well as a leave in conditioner for my hair and beard.
However, I've bought this more than once and every time the bottle leaks a little. Not only do I lose product, but it leaves my cupboard oily. Therefore, I cannot give this product five stars until they improve their packaging."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Desert Essence 100% Pure Jojoba Oil -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anibird
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great product, wonderful price
 January 4, 2016
"Desert Essence jojoba oil is high quality--been using it for over 15 years...great for skin, scalp and as a carrier oil for essential oil blends!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Desert Essence 100% Pure Jojoba Oil -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hanana
fromChicago
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
great product
 January 1, 2016
"Love it. It's not oily at all, but feel silkily smooth."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Desert Essence 100% Pure Jojoba Oil -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
hiplikov
fromCalabasas, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Great for natural healthy skin
 January 1, 2016
"I have been using Desert Essence 100% Pure Jojoba Oil for more than 10 years and this is the only product that matches the natural moisturizers as produced by our body. It his highly effective in healing skin irritation and revitalizing hair and scalp also."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 21 next