Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Coloring or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 8A Ash Blonde -- 5.98 fl oz

8A Ash Blonde. With Approved & Certified Organic & Natural Ingredients. No Ammonia. No Resorcinol. No Parabens. 100% Grey Cover. Intense and Radiant Color. Discover a new concept in hair coloration that gives you healthy and revitalised hair. Discover NATURTINT® GREEN TECHNOLOGIES the first 100% permanent hair colorant WITHOUT AMMONIA formulated with active vegetable ingredients that provides optimum colour & care for healthy hair.  . Maximum Care. Ammonia and Resorcinol Free:. No Parabens. No Silicones. No Paraffin. No Mineral Oils. No Heavy Metals. No Artificial Fragrances. No SLS. No Formaldehyde Derivatives. Revitalises & Gives Volume To Your Hair:. It's active vegetable ingredients PROTECT and REGENERATE hair fibres bringing back lost VITALITY and SHINE even in hair damaged by aggressive colouring processes and treatments.  . Strengthens Your Hair:. Thanks to the hydrolyzed wheat peptides hair breakage is reduced by 80%. Hair fibres appear smooth and soft bringing back the healthy shine of young unspoilt hair.  . Maximum Colour. 100% Coverage:. Its revolutionary formula provides 100% coverage even of grey hair permanently from the first application. It's the first hair colorant that is both healthy and effective.  . Vibrant Natural Colour:. Ultra-Intense micro-pigments penetrate to the deepest layers of your hair giving it an intense and vibrant colour that won't fade with washing.  . Long-Lasting Colour:. The Organic Certified Sunflower Extract provides increased protection against elements letting your hair maintain its intense colour for up to 5 weeks.  . This Box Contains:. Protective Gloves. Instruction Leaflet. 2.1 fl oz Naturtint® Colorant. 2.1 fl oz Color Developer. 1.2 fl oz Naturtint Nutrideep®. 0.53 fl oz Naturtint Shampoo
Overall rating:
3.618 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(34 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 34 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
5
1 Star
6
19 out of 34(56%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 8A Ash Blonde -- 5.98 fl oz
Review 1 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 8A Ash Blonde -- 5.98 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
EuropeanGirl
fromIdaho
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Straw(berry) - don't buy!
 February 20, 2014
"I was very excited about finding such a natural, hair-friendly product as this one was advertized to be. I also read in several 5-star reviews that those who had used it had had excellent results - perfect ash blonde tone with no brassy hue whatsoever. So, my hopes were high. I didn't even care that the product was much more expensive than the non-permanent ammonia-free alternatives sold in grocery stores (I actually prefer non-permanent dyes).
However, I should have taken the warnings in the 1- and 2-star reviews more seriously. My hair not only turned very strawberry blonde but also coarse like straw. After applying the conditioner included in the kit, the hair felt less like straw, but it was still very much strawberry blonde. And not just the previously dyed and highlighted hair, which had turned slightly reddish, obtained a brassy tone; but my naturally perfectly (medium) ash blonde roots turned super carroty! I was so devastated that I went to a hair product store and bought a peroxide-based toner, which was supposed to neutralize all brassiness, even after the damage was done. I applied the toner (which looked purple once applied to the hair) twice (on two successive days); and each time my hair got slightly less carroty but, of course, more damaged and straw-like. I am giving up now, since I ran out of the toner (the second time I only had enough left to appy it to the roots); and I also don't want to damage my hair any further. The end result is a slightly golden ash blonde hair with golden-brassy roots... (and let me remind you, my roots were a nice medium ash blonde before I applied the Naturtint 8A Ash Blonde dye).
I would not recommend you to take a chance on this dye if you absolutely want to have ash blonde and not strawberry hair. The conclusion of my personal experience: money wasted, hair ruined."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 8A Ash Blonde -- 5.98 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
healthywhey
fromCalifornia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
great color, healthier product than most
 February 17, 2014
"Environmental Working Group rates this around 4, which is a low warning level. Some hair color are in the 8 or 9 range (out of 10, with 10 being the most dangerous product), but this is a permanent hair color product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 8A Ash Blonde -- 5.98 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LadyMariesHair
fromNY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Works Great
 June 22, 2013
"I mixed some of this with 5N light chestnut brown and loved the color. I usually leave this on my roots for 40 minutes and never have any itching or irritated scalp problems like with Most American Hair dyesI have 60% grays and this color mixed with the light chestnut covered them fine and I did not see any red or brassy roots!"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 8A Ash Blonde -- 5.98 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
bebeatrice
fromMichigan City, In
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Shade is misleading!!
 June 21, 2013
"I'm not sure why this dye is called "Ash Blonde", because my hair came out a reddish color- or more like a strawberry blonde! According to other reviews, I am not alone. Even the dye looked reddish when I mixed it, but I still decided to trust what it said on the box said anyway. It's a shame because I've always like natural hair dye, but this shade definitely ruined the color of my hair."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 8A Ash Blonde -- 5.98 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
happlyeverafter
fromct
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
This was a mistake!
 February 23, 2013
"I thought I would give this a try as I have made the switch to healthy organic foods, so why not for my hair. I never liked all the harsh chemicals used in my regular hair coloring system. Well, the mixing was easy, and the application was easy. However, the rinsing was a nightmare! It felt as if I was trying to rinse out a gallon of glue. It was so stiff I could hardly get my fingers through it. I used the whole packet of conditioning rinse that came in the box, then had to use extra deep conditioner that I had on hand. After all that, it did not cover the grays near my face, and I applied extra color there. I would not try using organic hair color again after this experience."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 8A Ash Blonde -- 5.98 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Raleighmom
fromN. Carolina
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Greatest haircolor ever
 November 24, 2012
"I love this product. No harsh chemical smell, no harsh tingling on scalp, color is vibrant and lasts."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 8A Ash Blonde -- 5.98 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
smily1
fromCalifornia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 November 14, 2012
"the product did not work on my hair, it did not cover the grey as i had hoped.
I will need to try another product next time.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 8A Ash Blonde -- 5.98 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
1Reese
fromDumbville, NH
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Very Drying Hair Color
 August 30, 2012
"This is a VERY Drying Hair Color, and should NOT be used. I will offer that the color selected did have a nice result, but having my hair feel like straw after use was not what I expected from using a natural product! I am just glad that I did not leave it on for the full amount of time that was suggested, or the end result would have been much worse!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 8A Ash Blonde -- 5.98 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
OceanGal
fromColorado Springs, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Gentle product, but could not get anything but red
 August 16, 2012
"I was trying to achieve coloring my roots to blend with existing hair highlights - My natural color is dark blonde (dish water blonde) w/ a little graying starting. I understood that this would be a multi-step process because the product is not "high lift". I tried several of the blonde colors (testing hidden sections of hair) & even contacted the company. I tried 40 minutes to an hour of process time. They suggested the 8A and then 10A. Neither of the colors could lift my hair beyond the 'red' stage even though 8a should have been a close match. I finally gave up and had to go to Sally's and use a peroxide based product. For some reason this product just didn't work for my hair."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 8A Ash Blonde -- 5.98 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DawnCast
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
A little more color
 July 19, 2012
"LOVE this stuff"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 8A Ash Blonde -- 5.98 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GinaGobble
fromFrederick, MD
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:61-180 days
NO BRASS!!
 August 5, 2011
"My naturally mousy hair almost always gets brassy with color-in-a-box, but not this one! I was thrilled when I used this product and looked in the mirror after drying off and found no trace of orange roots! You should be very blond after using the 8A Ash blond! It's more like light ash blond! I think I found my favorite hair color that doesn't have me running to the expensive salon two days later to fix my brassy roots!"
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 8A Ash Blonde -- 5.98 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RiaB
fromcambridge, ma
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Naturtint Permanent Hair Colorant
 May 27, 2011
"This is a natural hair color product and I have been using it for years. During this time the volume of my hair increased and everybody comments on the color how natural it looks. I was an original blond and my grey hair is basically white. It covers the grey in my case perfectly. Another nice aspect of the product it does not have any irritating odor while applied."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 8A Ash Blonde -- 5.98 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
OSUBumpkin
fromOklahoma City, OK
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Definitely not Ash Blonde
 May 7, 2011
"I naturally have a rather drab dark ash blonde/light ash brown colored hair. For the past few years I've been using different brands of ash semi-permanent colors to give my hair a little lift. But, I wanted to try a natural product to color my hair. My hair still feels healthy, but it is definitely not ash blonde. It has a very orange/strawberry blonde look to it now."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 8A Ash Blonde -- 5.98 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LGold
Naturtint 8A
 May 2, 2011
"I have been using Naturtint 8A for years. It leaves my hair shiny, smooth, and healthy. Most importantly, it doesn't leave reddish overtones which other hair colorants do. I highly recommend this product."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 8A Ash Blonde -- 5.98 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
gracee59
fromVancouver,BC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
excellent
 April 27, 2011
"Great color, leaves hair soft, not drying like other products tend to do."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 8A Ash Blonde -- 5.98 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Renie0
fromMichigan
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Longer lasting than most permanent color
 November 28, 2010
"I purchased the ash blonde to mix with dark blonde as the dark blonde had a reddish tint. I wanted to tone it down. I used 1/2 of each. I may use 2/3 dark blonde and 1/3 ash the next time as it seemed a little lighter than what I wanted. Still experimenting. Overall I love this brand of color as it last longer than the Loreal Excellence I was using and does not dry out my hair. It does a good job of covering gray."
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 8A Ash Blonde -- 5.98 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
13monthsapart
fromNJ
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Works very well
 October 16, 2010
"I have fairly dark brown hair and dye it blond. I usually use Loreal Preferance ash blonde and am happy with the color... it doesn't come out brassy (and my hair really has a tendency to do that). I read the reviews and decided to try this as my scalp has gotten flaky from dying my hair and wanted to try something more natural. I was nervous... but my color came out nice and blond! Even a bit lighter than with Loreal's. Very pretty color... just a tad more golden than the Preference Ash blonde, but still happy with the results. I like to add highlights so I might go a tad darker next time for contrast. I couldn't believe that a non-ammonia product could lighten my hair this much and not turn me into a redhead!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 8A Ash Blonde -- 5.98 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
KatrinaMC
fromCA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Ash Blonde?
 August 31, 2010
"Although this color claims to be "ash" the results were anything but! My normally ash hair turned into the most strawberry red. The intent was to cover my grey and match my ash hair. The grey covered fine but the color was not good at all. However I will say the product was less harsh/damaging on my hair than most products.. so I was able to recolor with another brand the next day."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 8A Ash Blonde -- 5.98 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BlondeMonica
fromSan Francisco, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
You'll never go back to the others.
 March 7, 2010
"Having bleached/dyed my hair for over 25 years, I started out with the typical box from the drug store. Once I tried Naturtint, I knew I would never go back. It does not sting or produce noxious fumes. The color is great and looks much more natural than the others and my hair stays softer much longer."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 8A Ash Blonde -- 5.98 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
busia
 October 6, 2009
"I chose this haircoloring product because I have used other hair coloring products in the past and they left my hair dry to the point of breaking off, and they never gave me a natural looking color (my own mousy blond shade.) Although this product showed a very close match to my real hair color on the box, the color I got after using it was very much lighter-- a light golden blonde, not the ash blonde I wanted. Also, I got the same dryness and breakage that I got from using non-"organic" hair coloring products."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next