Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Coloring or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 4M Mahogany Chestnut -- 5.45 fl oz

100% Grey Cover. Intense and Radiant Color. No Ammonia Resorcinol or Parabens. With Approved Certified Organic & Natural Ingredients. Natural Hair Coloring with Naturtint!  . Ammonia-free Hair Coloring - Naturally! Naturtint natural hair color is unlike most hone hair dyes - Naturtint is a ammonia-free hair color nor does it contain other harsh chemicals that can irritate and damage your hair. Naturtint is Paraben free as well. Naturtint provides color that lasts while leaving hair healthier and revitalized. It combines natural activators that nourish your hair and highly concentrated micro-pigment dyes for rich radiant color allowing you to color your hair with care. Natural hair coloring by Naturtint offers optimum color and care and everything that you need is in the Naturtint package.
Overall rating:
4.71 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 38 reviews
5 Stars
30
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
36 out of 38(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 4M Mahogany Chestnut -- 5.45 fl oz
Review 1 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 4M Mahogany Chestnut -- 5.45 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
gingergg
fromroscoe, illinois
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
great color, slow to fade, doesn't stink
 August 21, 2014
"have been changing my hair color for 56 years...think I have finally found a brand that I will stick with for as long as I have hair..."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 4M Mahogany Chestnut -- 5.45 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
hmark
fromNaples, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great Hair!
 May 19, 2014
"This product makes my hair feels as good as it looks. I am a brunette, but I hate the way most black look on women - very artificial so I use Mahogany. In regular light, it looks black (not flat black) and in the sun, it has a gentle red highlight and it doesn't hurt my hair, scalp or skin. It has no ammonia, and has a multiplier that makes your hair behave as of old."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 4M Mahogany Chestnut -- 5.45 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JGRFangirl
fromSalt Lake City, UT
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great DIY Haircolor
 February 23, 2014
"I really like this haircolor brand. It's gentle and easy to use. As all of us 'redheads' know, it's really hard to find a red that doesn't fade. The Naturtint does fade eventually, but it stays true a lot longer than any other brand. I use a couple of different colors depending on the time of year, this review is for the 4M Mahogany Chestnut. Another cool thing is that you can mix different colors together and get beautiful results. I've mixed the Mahogany Chestnut with the Fireland color for times that I've wanted a brighter red. This is the best DIY haircolor I've ever used, and the Vitacost price can't be beat!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 4M Mahogany Chestnut -- 5.45 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Zbabe
fromOxford ,CT
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
This product is the best!
 February 13, 2014
"I've been using Naturtint hair color for quite some time now and the color is just great! I receive so many compliments! This is just the best price too as I was getting it from a local health food store previously and it is almost double the price there! No more driving and waiting for a sale to get this product now that I shop vitacost.com!!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 4M Mahogany Chestnut -- 5.45 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HorseLady56
fromDurham, NC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great Product!!
 February 11, 2014
"I love Naturint. It gives me beautiful color without the harsh ingredients. This hair dye is my choice indefinitely."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 4M Mahogany Chestnut -- 5.45 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sisbo
fromSaratoga Springs, NY
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
May wash out on gray hair
 January 2, 2014
"I used this product over my normally Nutratint dark chestnut brown and for my roots. Although it did give my hair a deep "purple" tint, which was nice, and not guady, as I continued to wash my hair it seemed to rinse out more and left my root section a purpley color, mostly due to my gray hairs there. If you don't have alot of gray hair, then I am sure it will give the desired results."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 4M Mahogany Chestnut -- 5.45 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
intoxicating
fromCalifornia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great color
 November 17, 2013
"This product has great color and gray coverage. The smell , however is not too pleasant. I need to check in terms of safety of it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 4M Mahogany Chestnut -- 5.45 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
edctweety
Great Product
 June 4, 2013
"I am writing on behalf of my mother.
She loves that there is no harsh or lingering smell, the color and all of the compliments she receives about her hair. Definitely recommended."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 4M Mahogany Chestnut -- 5.45 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
shell17
fromBrisbane Australia
Wonderful product
 May 21, 2013
"No nasty chemical smell, left my hair feeling moisturised and silky. Great colour coverage. Would definitely use again."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 4M Mahogany Chestnut -- 5.45 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
PammieC
fromNew Egypt, nj
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Awesome grey coverage!!
 May 5, 2013
"Excellent product!!! Smell is minimal. You don't have to leave it on too long or your hair looks eggplant color for a few days."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 4M Mahogany Chestnut -- 5.45 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grayless
fromKansas
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
LOVE IT
 April 11, 2013
"I used this product for the first time and I love the color and it covered my gray wonderfully. The last time that I colored my hair with a store product it colored my grays purple. This product colored my hair all the way to the roots and I love the auburn highlights."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 4M Mahogany Chestnut -- 5.45 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
mqseattle
fromSeattle, WA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Natural color!
 March 23, 2013
"I started using this brand when the conventional hair color brands started making my scalp ache. The product does a great job of covering the gray and lasts as long as the other brands."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 4M Mahogany Chestnut -- 5.45 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SA67
fromcentral OH
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Gentle, effective, lovely color
 March 19, 2013
"Have used many hair coloring products and this is by far the most gentle. Did not itch on application and did not damage hair. Colors well but for covering tough grays may need to be left on for maximum recommended time. This particular shade is lovely, brown with a hint of burgundy. For a more neutral look, I've mixed it with another chestnut shade."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 4M Mahogany Chestnut -- 5.45 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
SuperMar
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
4M Mahogany Chestnut
 December 12, 2012
"I loved this color while it lasted, it faded pretty quickly from my hair though, my hair type probably just didn't like this dye. I'll stick with another brand on here that I never had a problem with."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 4M Mahogany Chestnut -- 5.45 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Carolyn8
Great Coverage and Conditioning
 July 4, 2012
"Love the coverage for gray/white hair and the great conditioning of my hair when I use it. Have to color every 3 weeks and my hair loves it."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 4M Mahogany Chestnut -- 5.45 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromLake Worth, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great!
 April 20, 2012
"Great price and great product. I love the color, and it feels good to use. Very comparable to mainstream hair dye. I use it slowly over time to cover my roots and streak my hair, rather than dye all my hair at once. Beautiful, subtle color that blends very naturally with my dark brown hair."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 4M Mahogany Chestnut -- 5.45 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
victorianlady
fromMO
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Naturtint
 March 30, 2012
"This is a beautiful color that really shines in the light ( I get many compliments ). Easier on my scalp than reg. brands. Covers the grey!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 4M Mahogany Chestnut -- 5.45 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
energyhealing4u
fromNJ
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Naturatint
 October 23, 2011
"Love the product and have been using for years. It is a safe, natural hair color, easy to use, no odor or chemicals. It lasts approximatley 5 -7 weeks depending on number of hair washes."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 4M Mahogany Chestnut -- 5.45 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ayurveda
fromOrlando
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:Over 180 days
simlpy natural
 April 26, 2011
"I have tried many brands, from store brand to mixing my own. This is the best I have found in over 10 years. I like the conditioner they supply with the color. And last few I bought came with the shampoo. Truly Heavenly. I wish they would market the shampoo, such a great product. I put oil in my hair, the night before I color, comes out awesome. Very Happy with the product."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 4M Mahogany Chestnut -- 5.45 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ssteph
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Family Member
Duration of use:30-60 days
Highly recommend this product
 March 6, 2011
"I was originally a medium brown color to start with; I was looking for the darkest brown color there is without it being black. For me, it turned out to be just that. This product does indeed have a red hue to it, mainly in the sun. Indoors or in shade it looks to be a very dark brown. I was looking for a change in my look and am satisfied because that is what I got. I have received many compliments on the color. I could tell there was less stripping and drying of my hair as there have been in the past with chemical dyes."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 next