Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Coloring or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz

100% Grey Cover. Intense and Radiant Color. No Ammonia Resorcinol or Parabens. With Approved Certified Organic & Natural Ingredients. Naturtint®. Naturally Better. Discover a new concept in hair coloring that gives you healthy and revitalized hair. Discover Naturtint the first naturally better permanent hair color formulated with active plant-based ingredients that provide optimum color and care for health hair.  . Maximum Care. Ammonia and Resorcinol Free. • No Ammonia. • No Resorcinol. • No Parabens. • No Silicones. • No Paraffin. • No Mineral Oils. • No Heavy Metals. • No Artificial Fragrances. • No SLS. • No Formaldehyde Derivatives.  . Revitalizes. Naturtint's active plant-based ingredients bring back lost Vitality and Shine even in damaged hair.  . Strengthens. Naturtint Protects and Regenerates hair fibers. its hydrolyzed wheat peptides helps reduce hair breakage. Hair fibers appear smooth and soft and radiate healthy shine.  . Maximum Color. Long Lasting Gray Coverage. Naturtint's revolutionary formula provides long lasting gray coverage from the first application.  . Vibrant Natural Color. Naturtint's ultra-concentrated micro-pigments penetrate to the deepest layers of your hair giving it an intense and vibrant color that won't fade with washing.  . Long Lasting Color. Naturtint's Nutrideep Multiplier's natural sunflower extract provides increased protection against the elements so your hair can maintain its intense color until your next root touch-up.  . Final Results Depend on Color Thickness and the Overall Condition of Your Hair
Overall rating:
4.684 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(253 reviews) 226
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 253 reviews
5 Stars
204
4 Stars
30
3 Stars
11
2 Stars
4
1 Star
4
241 out of 253(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Review 1 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
VeganMarr
fromLos Angeles, CA
Gender:Female
Far less toxic way to color gray roots!
 November 22, 2014
"Been using Naturtint for several years now. Love that they have eliminated as many negative ingredients as possible. Have tried other "natural" hair colors & they did not cover gray well, this one does. It WILL fade via sun & washing, by 3 weeks, but if you have fast growing gray roots, you will likely be wanting a touch up by 3 weeks anyway. Do set a timer when you put the color on. If it's on too long it will go darker.
Vitacost sells it at the lowest price anywhere!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alenanature
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Puts Professional Hair Color to SHAME!!!
 November 22, 2014
"I started greying in my early 20's (genetics from mom & dad) and I spent over 1 year spending over $100 every 6 weeks at Salons to color my greys... Not only was it expensive, but NO hair dresser, NO salon could get close to my medium, soft ash brown color. Everyone colored my hair a red brown, burgundy and even black... All the coloring damaged my once healthy hair. FINALLY I came across Naturtint in Whole Foods and my hair was back to its natural medium, soft ash brown color AND health! My hair looks natural, NO REDNESS, PURE brown and is back to being thick, shiny and healthy. Naturtint should be called, "Miracle in a Box"!!! I have been a happy customer for almost 2 years now. I converted my Mom and she is absolutely inlove as well. This is the BEST hair color on the market and is EXTREMELY affordable."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
rf6848
fromSan Diego,Ca.
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
 November 19, 2014
"My wife loves this product and Vitacost ships it out promptly"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
franny1949
fromPhila., PA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Not a good colorant
 November 2, 2014
"I've been using this product for years because it doesn't contain harsh chemicals. I have thick naturally curly hair. It's easy to apply and I've saved money buying on Vitacost versus Whole Foods. However, I've never been satisfied with the final color result; although I've tried several color options, none of them seem right. 5N comes out too dark, a dullish dark brown. The color is not long lasting and fades after a couple weeks of shampoos and ultimately goes orange. I've discussed this with the company's customer service and they recommend mixing colors, which is too troublesome for me. Maybe I'll continue to use the product, but I'm really not happy with the color results."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge
fromWisconsin
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
 September 18, 2014
"I have used this hair coloring many times, for a number of years. It is very good, and gentle on my hair. I dont trust any other on my delicate hair. Makes my hair better condition."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
micky3
fromLA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
excellent non-damaging product
 September 18, 2014
"It covers grey well and hair looks lovely after coloring. The only thing is after about 3 weeks hair gets a bit dull looking. However, I always find that happens with any hair color. I like that this one is natural."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Micheline
fromMA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
This products works great on gray hair
 September 12, 2014
"I have been using Naturtint Permanent Hair color for many years and love the fact that it has no ammonia. It covers the gray well with almost no fading. I touch up only roots, so the rest of my hair looks natural with slight highlights."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SandyST
Wonderful natural product
 September 4, 2014
"My dark brown hair used to have red highlights, but they have all but disappeared with my advancing age. I dye my hair not so much to cover the gray, but to get rid of the washed out mousy brown that my hair has become. I am so pleased with how the Naturtint hair dye does not hurt my hair like other dyes do. The light color covers my salt and pepper dark brown hair, offering highlights where it has covered the gray. I add a drop of the Light Mahogany and some dark golden blonde to add warmth and depth to the color. I like the Naturtint Multiplier Conditioner that comes with the hair coloring because it keeps my hair soft and hydrated, so I purchased a container of that too. All-in-all, I am very pleased with the results that I have gotten!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Snickers244
Light Chestnut Brown
 August 25, 2014
"This color is definitely NOT a LIGHT shade of brown at all. It is a very dark color when you put it on your hair and I only put it on for 30 minutes. The overall quality of how my hair felt afterwards was good but just the color was off. If you want a lighter brown this color is not it. I will be buying a Dark Blonde shade I think next time."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tumbleweed01
fromTifton, GA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
This is the one I use.
 August 24, 2014
"Even my hairdresser admires my color and texture. I have to reapply when the roots grow out, but the color seems to hold well."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lettymae
fromCasco, Maine
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Love it
 August 20, 2014
"Works very well, no nasty chemicals and virtually odor-free. It's the best!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kaye15
fromBirmingham, Al
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Very pleased with the quality and health safety
 August 16, 2014
"The color is excellent and lasts as long as any hair coloring product that I've ever used. Plus it's better for my health by minimizing the risk of cancer on one front. Love the shampoo! Incredible lather without sulphates. Very luxurious. The price with Vitacost is approximately $7 cheaper than buying from my local health good store. I'm really pleased, all in all."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
islandquilter4
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
great product !
 July 30, 2014
"I have been using this product for a couple of years... I have used the dark blonde and hazelnut blonde, combined with this shade, and it gives me a lighter brown, but still close to my natural dark brown shade... its easy to use , leaves my hair shiny and looks so natural !
I have long hair and I am still able to do this myself, I recommend to anyone if you haven't tried it... minimal odor, no annoying fumes like you have sometimes at a salon...
wear 2-3 pairs of vinyl gloves while applying and use a color application brush.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
VitaAddict111
fromAustralia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
love this product
 July 17, 2014
"There can be no other choice because of the use of carcinogenic chemicals in other hair dyes. Apart from that it is easy to use and looks natural. And fully covers grey hair."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lilliej
fromIowa
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
This product is fast and easy to use.
 July 15, 2014
"I have used it 4 times now. It was recommended to me from friends who have been using Naturtint for years. I am very happy with it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tamc
fromminnesota
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
lasts as long as mercury containing hair colors
 July 10, 2014
"gentler and safer to use than store bought color kits"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lexigirl
fromlexington, ky
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut
 July 9, 2014
"I like this product, but this particular color is a little dark. Wish they had a lighter brown with no hint of red. But overall it colors well and makes hair shiny and not stinky."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
AllDolledUp
fromOak Ridge, NC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 June 7, 2014
"I have used Naturtint for several months now. I use Light Chestnut Brown. The color is a wonderful rich brown, very pretty ! Naturtint's conditioner and shampoo leaves my hair soft and shiny...good stuff !! Highly Recommend !"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mon19
fromEaston, Massachusetts
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Good
 June 5, 2014
"I love this product, and great price half from wholefoods markets."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lillyta
fromAlberta
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Soft and gentle on the hair
 May 28, 2014
"I will be purchasing it again, simply love it!
Thank you vitacost!
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next