Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz

100% Grey Cover. Intense and Radiant Color. No Ammonia Resorcinol or Parabens. With Approved Certified Organic & Natural Ingredients. Naturtint®. Naturally Better. Discover a new concept in hair coloring that gives you healthy and revitalized hair. Discover Naturtint the first naturally better permanent hair color formulated with active plant-based ingredients that provide optimum color and care for health hair.  . Maximum Care. Ammonia and Resorcinol Free. • No Ammonia. • No Resorcinol. • No Parabens. • No Silicones. • No Paraffin. • No Mineral Oils. • No Heavy Metals. • No Artificial Fragrances. • No SLS. • No Formaldehyde Derivatives.  . Revitalizes. Naturtint's active plant-based ingredients bring back lost Vitality and Shine even in damaged hair.  . Strengthens. Naturtint Protects and Regenerates hair fibers. its hydrolyzed wheat peptides helps reduce hair breakage. Hair fibers appear smooth and soft and radiate healthy shine.  . Maximum Color. Long Lasting Gray Coverage. Naturtint's revolutionary formula provides long lasting gray coverage from the first application.  . Vibrant Natural Color. Naturtint's ultra-concentrated micro-pigments penetrate to the deepest layers of your hair giving it an intense and vibrant color that won't fade with washing.  . Long Lasting Color. Naturtint's Nutrideep Multiplier's natural sunflower extract provides increased protection against the elements so your hair can maintain its intense color until your next root touch-up.  . Final Results Depend on Color Thickness and the Overall Condition of Your Hair
Overall rating:
4.692 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(308 reviews) 279
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 308 reviews
5 Stars
249
4 Stars
37
3 Stars
13
2 Stars
4
1 Star
5
295 out of 308(96%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Review 1 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Penelopi
fromboston, ma
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
I love this product.
 February 10, 2016
"I have been using for many years now and it is as good as you can get without very harmfull chemicals."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Maizegirl
fromIndiana
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
have used it for years
 February 9, 2016
"I have used Naturtint for several years. I have fairly dark hair, but alternate between this and dark blonde. I always leave it in longer than recommended on the greyer root area (usually about an hour). If all of the hair is treated for the full 40 minutes this color is too dark for me. So I like to often leave dark bonde on longer or mix the two colors in a separate bowl. I appreciate that even with thick hair I can make this work for 2 colorings of roots plus "highlights". I love that there is no odor. It doesn't stink up the whole house, so I don't feel guilty using it with kids around. Grey hair isn't quite as dark as the other color, but really, I think that it makes it look more natural with color variation in hair."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ivy123
fromLos Angeles
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
great product
 February 5, 2016
"Smooths on well and color stays-- and there are so many shades to choose from. I've tried many different coloring products and this is y favorite."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
peppamin
Great Product, colors tends to be dark though
 January 26, 2016
"Love that it's a natural product, and that i can worry less using it during my pregnancies. Smells great too, and my kids don't complain about my hair being stinky after i color it.
I have long and thick straight hair, that is usually healthy and glossy. but i did find hair was drier the first few days after use.
if it might help anyone, I'm an asian with dark hair. I usually use Clairol's light brown, which gives my hair a dark brown.
Bought Naturtint 5N - Light chestnut brown, and it turned out very very dark - almost black. Will go for a lighter shade the next time."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lauradaylily
fromAtlanta, Ga
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Excellent Permanent Hair Color
 January 16, 2016
"Great product. I have used this product for nearly 20 years and it looks perfectly natural. It lasts for about 6 weeks and I even mix a little in the interim to touch up around edges of face."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lnviktoriia
fromGreenville sc
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Easy to apply
 January 16, 2016
"The best hair color I have ever tried"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
teloh
fromAZ
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
works perfect
 December 6, 2015
"I really like this hair color, the color looks natural and it covers my grays completely. I used to hate coloring hair because of the bad chemical smell, now that I found Naturtint, I am a happy camper :)"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
flygirl77
fromFlorida
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great product
 December 6, 2015
"Wonderful, natural product that works!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
orgnicchica
fromchicago
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
great coverage
 November 27, 2015
"I never use harsh chemicals on my hair and this hair color does a nice job covering my grey hairs. I have not had any adverse reaction using this product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
CatherineML
fromSan Diego
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Excellent gray coverage; radiant color
 November 27, 2015
"Unfortunately, my mobile access to this survey seems to not allow me to choose 5 stars here, which is my choice, not stars.
I have been using the Naturtint products for about 9 years and found them online at Vitacost last year. The savings through Vitacost is significant. My hair grows rapidly, so I must color every 11 days, otherwise the gray roots show. Vitacost shopping provides a savings that doesn't hurt my wallet. I buy 3 boxes of color each time I order, then I always have some on hand. The color allows my hair to be soft and look natural. Recommend passing color throughout the hair for the last 5 minutes of processing. This tip from a friend allows for a natural and complete coverage of color. The shipping time is always rapid, which I appreciate."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Elissie
fromMichigan
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Excellent product at A great discount
 November 11, 2015
"I started using this hair color When I decided that I wanted a Natural hair color without all the chemicals, I found that it covers the Gray better than my other brand without the offensive smell.My hair is much softer, It hold the color way longer and looks totally natural. It does not fade to the Washed out brassy orange that my other hair color used to do. I am constantly getting comments on my hair color, even though it is the same color that I used to apply. Big difference. I do recommend this product , And the price is about half at Vitacost.
I love this shop.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kayla12
fromNC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Excellent hair color.
 October 28, 2015
"Unlike other hair colors it leaves your hair nice and soft."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pointlomagirl
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Excellent hair color product!
 October 23, 2015
"Love this permanent hair coloring product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
colorqueen
fromLouisville, KY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great product
 October 22, 2015
"Excellent coverage, even with gray. Beautiful color."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NeverPayRetail
fromDallas, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Sexy Chestnut Tresses
 October 18, 2015
"Naturtint hair color is a natural plant based alternative to chemical hair color. It provides a deep, radiant, beautiful color that lasts, even on gray hair. I have used many different hair colors at salons and at home and this is the best that I have found. I feel like I am finally getting great color without jeopardizing my health. Vitacost has a very good price for this product."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GirlfriendFriendly
fromNorth Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
True Color, Staying power, Gray Coverage, Safe
 October 15, 2015
"I work in the Fashion Arts & Entertainment industry. That translates to; I have had world class stylists and colored my own hair for years. Over the last five years, I have been on a hunt for quality, success of application, with a final result of staying power. It seemed that all lines faded that were considered high quality and familiar pro lines and not safe at all. The at home brands and the pro lines until the latest revolution, were loaded with harsh chemicals and some companies continue to do so while many try to go as green as possible. After much research, I found that Henna was the closest to safe but did not cover gray, and had its' own set of issues and reddish tones. I stumbled upon this line and researched and gave it a try. It is my fav, hands down, it has natural color and a range of shades to choose from. It actually seemed to improve my hair condition, it covers gray and does not fade. There is zero; itch, burn, smell, annoyances. Very impressed, would suggest to give it a try. Reasonably priced as well."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DLeeN
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
excellent price excellent product
 October 10, 2015
"This is a very good covering the grey product. It is not a bit harsh. Stains are easy to remove from skin."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jonalyn
fromOrlando
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Love the color!
 October 9, 2015
"I've been using Naturtint for years and always happy with the result."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
BotanyGirl
Be Careful What You Wish For!
 October 8, 2015
"Okay - I gave this product one star because it 'does' cover the gray and the color was fine. So why the bad review? I have had my hair colored in salons in the past, however the last four years I had decided to start only using natural products to color my hair since the scalp is one of the places on our body that absorbs every thing it comes in contact with (both toxic and good!).
That being said, I started concocting my own blends using rainbow research's henna and herbs, flowers, and all sorts of plants that gave me the smoothest hair with really beautiful highlights. The only problem was it wasn't permanent and slowly washed out - just like your 6 week semi-permanent colors in the salon/stores.
So I decided to try this instead. Keep in mind I had the smoothest hair to begin with.... After putting this in my hair and waiting the required amount of time I jumped in the shower to rinse it out and immediately went whoa... I had a lump of hair that didn't want to untangle and felt like a cross between a steel wool pad and coarse straw.
Although worried, I finally rinsed it out and hoped the conditioner would help get it out of the mass it had become (I have semi-long hair). This was not to be, the conditioner that comes with it wasn't touching this mess. I had to use a non-natural conditioner to get it to straighten out the strands (pantene-smooth and silky). I have spent 6 weeks washing it and hoping it will 'get a little better' and start being more manageable, but every time I put water on it and washed it, it went right back to the steel wool feeling bunch. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone as now I have to wait for my hair to grow out and keep trimming it to get rid of the damaged areas. What a mess!
"
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SouthwestSusan
fromFlorida
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
color takes well, leaves hair soft
 September 3, 2015
"love this product, includes everything needed, even additive you add in product before applying, which makes the color take well. Lasts better than any other products I have tried. Covers gray well."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next