Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Coloring or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz

100% Grey Cover. Intense and Radiant Color. No Ammonia Resorcinol or Parabens. With Approved Certified Organic & Natural Ingredients. Naturtint®. Naturally Better. Discover a new concept in hair coloring that gives you healthy and revitalized hair. Discover Naturtint the first naturally better permanent hair color formulated with active plant-based ingredients that provide optimum color and care for health hair.  . Maximum Care. Ammonia and Resorcinol Free. • No Ammonia. • No Resorcinol. • No Parabens. • No Silicones. • No Paraffin. • No Mineral Oils. • No Heavy Metals. • No Artificial Fragrances. • No SLS. • No Formaldehyde Derivatives.  . Revitalizes. Naturtint's active plant-based ingredients bring back lost Vitality and Shine even in damaged hair.  . Strengthens. Naturtint Protects and Regenerates hair fibers. its hydrolyzed wheat peptides helps reduce hair breakage. Hair fibers appear smooth and soft and radiate healthy shine.  . Maximum Color. Long Lasting Gray Coverage. Naturtint's revolutionary formula provides long lasting gray coverage from the first application.  . Vibrant Natural Color. Naturtint's ultra-concentrated micro-pigments penetrate to the deepest layers of your hair giving it an intense and vibrant color that won't fade with washing.  . Long Lasting Color. Naturtint's Nutrideep Multiplier's natural sunflower extract provides increased protection against the elements so your hair can maintain its intense color until your next root touch-up.  . Final Results Depend on Color Thickness and the Overall Condition of Your Hair
Overall rating:
4.681 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(270 reviews) 243
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 270 reviews
5 Stars
216
4 Stars
34
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
4
1 Star
4
258 out of 270(96%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Review 1 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
organicrules
fromMiami, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Hide those greys!
 May 21, 2015
"Great product. No chemicals."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
health0freak
lasts long
 May 7, 2015
"I started using this when I got pregnant and wanted to avoid as many chemicals s possible. Covers great and stays longer than any box color from the store."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lavender71
fromCT
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Good product.
 April 25, 2015
"I've been using this hair color for 4 years now. It is much better than all the others I've tried. Gray hair gets very good coverage, it smells good, does not make my skin sting or itch and it's without all the nasty ingredients. I can highly recommended it."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GoingGreener
fromHemet, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Love this hair color!
 April 23, 2015
"Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown is amazing!
Great color, shine, no smell, and doesn't stain your skin like conventional brands do. This is my first experience with a more natural hair color product, and I am beyond pleased!
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
good product - good price
 April 19, 2015
"I have been using this hair color to cover grey for about 5 years now and it is great. I can use 1/2 of the box for short hair and need to re- apply about every 6-8 wks. Vitacost usually has the best price on this (I can be double the cost in the health shops.)"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Liger
fromBig Sky Country
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Naturally Better
 March 13, 2015
"Free of Ammonia, Resorcinol, & Parabens. Toxic chemicals to the immune system.
Nice Color and Easy to use.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LynneH
fromMinneapolis, MN
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
I highly recommend this product.
 March 8, 2015
"I have used this product for many years. It is free of many harsh chemicals found in most home use hair colorants. It covers the grey perfectly (and I have a lot of grey) and is very easy to apply. Best of all the Vitacost price is half what I was paying locally."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
SimplySouthern
fromGreensboro, NC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
I LOVE this product
 March 2, 2015
"Naturtint is fabulous! I am so thankful I found this hair coloring. It does not leave my hair looking "chemically processed". It leaves my hair looking soft and shiny and healthy. I love the fact there are no harsh chemcials.
I also love the shampoo and creme rinse that come with the hair coloring. I wish I could find these products sold separately.
The price is also reasonable."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Della843
fromBeaufort, SC
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
The color blends exactly with my natural color!
 February 26, 2015
"Naturtint 5N leaves my hair healthy and silky. I get so many compliments from husband and even at my college reunion last Spring. It is easy to use and lasts about 5-1/2 weeks. I use conditioner when I swim and cover my hair with a cap so the color lasts. My younger daughter convinced me that I could color my hair myself. I am so happy that I have learned this skill. The product directions are clear and accurate. The ingredients are natural and help give volume to my fine hair. Naturtint 5N is an excellent value, too."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Afande
fromOman
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
best color and no hair damages
 February 14, 2015
"I'm using the black and brown mixing them together and I got best natural color, as a man it dosn't look weird that I do that. I hate dark black color, so this was the best solution as a natural option and I didn't get dry hair or and problem from it.
I always keep one more at home. the barber dose his job."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
beverlyann
fromAtlanta
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Works Well but too Much Red 4 My Brown Hair Color
 February 6, 2015
"The product is great; it covers the small amount of gray hair I have. However, the color is not perfect for my hair color. My hair is medium brown with the slightest of auburn highlights. This light chestnut brown has a lot of auburn red in it. so beware if that is not what you are looking for. I'd prefer not so much red. The hair color on the model on the box is a dark brown with no red highlights and that was the color I was looking for."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KathyW116
fromUpstate, SC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great product
 January 24, 2015
"Low in odor and toxins. Covers gray VERY well. Best price I have found is here on Vitacost. My hairdresser loves the product as well."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MaryannMT
fromNJ
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Does the job!
 January 14, 2015
"This is the only product I will use to color my hair. All natural plant pigments without all of the toxic ingredients in salon products. It covers all the grey and does so with a great shine Lasts as long as the salon coloring processes!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HireAPcPro
fromjohnstown, pa
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
excellent product
 January 10, 2015
"I've used this product for many years. Excellent product!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
GIJayne
fromMA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Better than professional
 January 5, 2015
"This color does not dry my hair like the professional color my stylist uses and it doesn't fade! Even after 2 weeks with my professional color, the color faded to a dull brown. This doesn't fade at all. If I didn't have some gray roots I wouldn't have to color my hair anyway near the every 2 1/2 weeks I do now. And that is just to cover my roots, the rest is still fresh.
I will not be using any professional color from now on. The only reason I give this 4 stars is because it's definitely NOT a light chestnut brown.. it's DARK brown.
"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Zgaga
fromChicago, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Not light....
 December 11, 2014
"I always buy the Herbatint hair color (5N), which i love love love.. I don't know how did it happen that I bought this one, must have been by mistake or something. Anyways I decided to give it a try. And...disaster, it is not light chestnut, it is far from chestnut, unless it is burned chestnut... my hair turned out very dark brown, almost black, even though I washed it sooner that indicated on the box. But there are some pros: smells good, it is natural and covers grey 100%. The bottle has a nice applicator. Cons: the name of the color and number is very misleading."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
VeganMarr
fromLos Angeles, CA
Gender:Female
Far less toxic way to color gray roots!
 November 22, 2014
"Been using Naturtint for several years now. Love that they have eliminated as many negative ingredients as possible. Have tried other "natural" hair colors & they did not cover gray well, this one does. It WILL fade via sun & washing, by 3 weeks, but if you have fast growing gray roots, you will likely be wanting a touch up by 3 weeks anyway. Do set a timer when you put the color on. If it's on too long it will go darker.
Vitacost sells it at the lowest price anywhere!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alenanature
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Puts Professional Hair Color to SHAME!!!
 November 22, 2014
"I started greying in my early 20's (genetics from mom & dad) and I spent over 1 year spending over $100 every 6 weeks at Salons to color my greys... Not only was it expensive, but NO hair dresser, NO salon could get close to my medium, soft ash brown color. Everyone colored my hair a red brown, burgundy and even black... All the coloring damaged my once healthy hair. FINALLY I came across Naturtint in Whole Foods and my hair was back to its natural medium, soft ash brown color AND health! My hair looks natural, NO REDNESS, PURE brown and is back to being thick, shiny and healthy. Naturtint should be called, "Miracle in a Box"!!! I have been a happy customer for almost 2 years now. I converted my Mom and she is absolutely inlove as well. This is the BEST hair color on the market and is EXTREMELY affordable."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
rf6848
fromSan Diego,Ca.
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
 November 19, 2014
"My wife loves this product and Vitacost ships it out promptly"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Naturtint Permanent Hair Color 5N Light Chestnut Brown -- 5.28 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
franny1949
fromPhila., PA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Not a good colorant
 November 2, 2014
"I've been using this product for years because it doesn't contain harsh chemicals. I have thick naturally curly hair. It's easy to apply and I've saved money buying on Vitacost versus Whole Foods. However, I've never been satisfied with the final color result; although I've tried several color options, none of them seem right. 5N comes out too dark, a dullish dark brown. The color is not long lasting and fades after a couple weeks of shampoos and ultimately goes orange. I've discussed this with the company's customer service and they recommend mixing colors, which is too troublesome for me. Maybe I'll continue to use the product, but I'm really not happy with the color results."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next