Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Iron or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Chelate Iron - Albion® Ferrous Bisglycinate Chelate -- 18 mg - 120 Capsules

Superior patented form of iron with enhanced bioavailability. Gentle and well tolerated!   What is Vitacost Chelate Iron - Albion® Ferrous Bisglycinate Chelate - Ferrochel® Iron?  . Vitacost Chelate Iron is a high-quality supplement delivering 18 mg of Albion® Ferrous Bisglycinate Chelate a patented form of iron that's gentler on the digestive system.  . How does iron support health? Iron is a trace mineral essential for health. According to the National Institutes of Health iron is used by the body to make the proteins hemoglobin (in red blood cells) and myoglobin (in muscles). They help carry and store oxygen in the body. Iron is also part of many other proteins and enzymes in the body. Why choose Vitacost Chelate Iron - Albion® Ferrous Bysglycinate Chelate - Ferrochel® Iron? Supplies 18 mg of iron per single-capsule serving. Easily absorbed and gentler on the stomach than other iron supplements. Does not react with other nutrients. Contains 120 servings per bottle. Superior quality incredible value! About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP). .  .  .  . *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.73 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(37 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 37 reviews
5 Stars
33
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
35 out of 37(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Chelate Iron - Albion® Ferrous Bisglycinate Chelate -- 18 mg - 120 Capsules
Review 1 for Vitacost Chelate Iron - Albion® Ferrous Bisglycinate Chelate -- 18 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
MarshallH
fromMyrtle Beach, SC
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
This product worked for me.
 September 7, 2013
"The doctor recommended boosting my iron intake .....This chelate iron supplement worked rapidly and fit my needs nicely. I would recommend it with confidence."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Chelate Iron - Albion® Ferrous Bisglycinate Chelate -- 18 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
idahocntryboy
fromIdaho
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Good iron supplement
 August 24, 2013
"These are a good iron supplement since I am a vegan and juice most of my veggies."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Chelate Iron - Albion® Ferrous Bisglycinate Chelate -- 18 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
envy52
fromTulsa, OK
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
No stomach upset
 August 13, 2013
"This iron is great. I did not experience any stomach upset and it was easily absorbed."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Chelate Iron - Albion® Ferrous Bisglycinate Chelate -- 18 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TreehuggerMama
Best iron supplement if you have digestive problem
 August 5, 2013
"This iron supplement has worked very well for me. Other forms of iron were causing major digestive/intestinal issues, but this one has been no problem at all for me. I like the 18 mg size, too, because it is super easy to swallow. I take three per day because I am still overcoming anemia due to pregnancy. But my iron level has improved quickly, I think due to the chelated form of this supplement."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Chelate Iron - Albion® Ferrous Bisglycinate Chelate -- 18 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
healthymike
fromDetroit,Mich
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
This product is awesome!
 August 3, 2013
"I tried iron glycinate 18mg from two other well known viamin companies.There effectiveness was least to be desired. I have more energy and well being.Vitacost I wish that I would have knowned about this product earlier!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Chelate Iron - Albion® Ferrous Bisglycinate Chelate -- 18 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GFChicky
Goes down easily and no consitpation
 May 11, 2013
"This is a great product!
Wish I would have discovered this years ago.
Much better than ferrous gluconate as it does not affect bowel movements.
I also have issues swallowing pills, but this is tasteless and goes down very easily. Will be re-ordering soon!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Chelate Iron - Albion® Ferrous Bisglycinate Chelate -- 18 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JoAnnC
Great Product
 March 30, 2013
"I tried another product after running out of this one. The results were not what I expected, so I'm back to this product for an easily absorbed iron supplement."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Chelate Iron - Albion® Ferrous Bisglycinate Chelate -- 18 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
4thePlanet
fromCenterville, Ohio
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Seems to be working- feeling better
 March 29, 2013
"Have not used this for very long- feels like it is working. I am also getting more animal protein, as well. The combination has me feeling better."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Chelate Iron - Albion® Ferrous Bisglycinate Chelate -- 18 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DoryG
fromEau Claire, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
I have normal iron levels after 2 months use.
 March 24, 2013
"I have ordered products in the past for my mom. Two months ago my doctor told me to start an iron supplement because my iron level was below normal. So I ordered some iron for myself too. As of last friday my level was in the normal range! My doctor said to keep taking the supplement and doing what I was doing."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Chelate Iron - Albion® Ferrous Bisglycinate Chelate -- 18 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
joybringer49
fromPA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great Product
 January 29, 2013
"Has all the iron I need in one dose."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Chelate Iron - Albion® Ferrous Bisglycinate Chelate -- 18 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
foodandnutrition
Great Stuff!
 December 29, 2012
"Get blood work every two months,
this product keeps me in a healthy range.
Actually was able to stepped down from the 45 mg tabs!
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Chelate Iron - Albion® Ferrous Bisglycinate Chelate -- 18 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HGolightly
fromSan Francisco, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Finally
 November 11, 2011
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
"Finally an iron supplement I can tolerate. I've looked for one for years. Great product!!!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Chelate Iron - Albion® Ferrous Bisglycinate Chelate -- 18 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
boat13
fromNew Jersey
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Iron
 May 18, 2011
"My Dr. prescribed iron twice a day at meals. NSI Ferrochel iron is easy to digest and absorbs as the Dr. wanted."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Chelate Iron - Albion® Ferrous Bisglycinate Chelate -- 18 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KiKisMommy
fromFWB
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great, even for children
 January 6, 2011
"My 5 ear old refuses to chew or swallow any children's vitamins. I decided to get a capsule, so I could just open it and dump the contents into her juice. I decided to let her try to swallow it and she did great. Theyare very tiny and she can take them even without water. She does better swallowing pills then some adults I know."
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost Chelate Iron - Albion® Ferrous Bisglycinate Chelate -- 18 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Paducci
fromAtlanta, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Great!
 June 15, 2010
"My wife loves it. Not for men I don't think."
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost Chelate Iron - Albion® Ferrous Bisglycinate Chelate -- 18 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cavtana
fromColfax, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
No Nasty Taste!
 March 9, 2010
"I've taken other Iron Supplements before and couldn't tolerate the nasty smell and taste. These are capsules with no taste or smell, and no constipation!"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost Chelate Iron - Albion® Ferrous Bisglycinate Chelate -- 18 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
nz6524
 March 3, 2010
"Great source of iron - does not cause issues that I have had with other iron supplements!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost Chelate Iron - Albion® Ferrous Bisglycinate Chelate -- 18 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bonnie1944
fromFlorida
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
formulation matches criteria
 February 13, 2010
"this is just enough iron to keep my blood iron-rich for regular blood donations ..."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost Chelate Iron - Albion® Ferrous Bisglycinate Chelate -- 18 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bikeman
fromMurrieta, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Didn't work for me
 September 27, 2009
"After having taken Enzymatic Therapy's Ultimate Iron for months, and being very satisfied with the performance, I couldn't resist the temptation to try Ferrochel iron because it's sooo much cheaper and gets some good reviews. Right from the start, it caused me stomach grief. Pain and constipation which has NEVER been a problem before Ferrochel iron. Cheaper is not better in this case. I recommend using the best-Ultimate Iron."
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost Chelate Iron - Albion® Ferrous Bisglycinate Chelate -- 18 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JM
easy on the stomach!
 September 19, 2009
"I can take this iron on an empty stomach with no problems! No constipation or problems at all!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 next