Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

5-HTP(504)
Amino Acids(1,328)
Calcium(3,505)
CoQ10(2,349)
Coconut Oil(3,247)
EFAs(3,344)
Fish Oil(1,485)
Iron(532)
Krill Oil(728)
Magnesium(1,697)
Melatonin(1,024)
Multivitamins(10,886)
Omega-3(4,711)
Algae(738)
Bee Pollen(276)
Caffeine(35)
Celadrin(78)
Charcoal(83)
Chitosan(40)
Chlorella(137)
Choline(126)
Collagen(223)
Colostrum(172)
D-Mannose(47)
DHEA(377)
DMAE(76)
EFAs(107)
EpiCor(30)
FOS(2)
GABA(159)
GLA(7)
GPLC(27)
Gelatin(13)
Glycine(7)
HGH(43)
Iodine(44)
L-Lysine(145)
L-Theanine(199)
LPP(39)
Lecithin(224)
Lithium(3)
Lutein(328)
Lycopene(96)
MSM(374)
NADH(46)
Pectin(39)
Propolis(71)
Pycnogenol(135)
Quercetin(124)
RNA/DNA(2)
Red Wine(10)
Relora(2)
Silica(17)
Soy(98)
Taurine(78)
Yeast(71)
Probiotics(4,863)
SAMe(548)
Spirulina(82)
Vitamin A(133)
Vitamin B(4,443)
Vitamin C(2,669)
Vitamin D(2,363)
Vitamin E(465)
Vitamin K(257)
Whole Foods(1,182)
Zinc(343)
Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop R-Lipoic Acid or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost R-Alpha Lipoic Acid Stabilized RALA -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules

A superior biologically active form of lipoic acid.   What is R-Alpha lipoic acid? R-Alpha lipoic acid (RALA) is the naturally occurring form of lipoic acid a nutrient present in every cell of the body essential to chemical reactions that allow the body to produce energy.* The body produces very little alpha lipoic acid and it is difficult to obtain sufficient quantities through diet alone. Lipoic acid has been called “a universal antioxidant” because it’s effective as an antioxidant in water-based environments such as blood yet its reduced metabolite dihydrolipoic acid (DHLA) is also effective in protecting fatty tissues and membranes.*. The "R" form is considered the biologically active form identical to that produced by the body. Unlike other forms of lipoic acid RALA is bioavailable and more stable in the body. How does R-Alpha lipoic acid support health? May promote cardiovascular health by protecting against free radical damage.*. Regenerates the antioxidant activity of vitamin C vitamin E and coenzyme Q10.*. May increase levels of glutathione the body’s most important antioxidant.*. Why choose Vitacost R-Alpha Lipoic Acid? Standardized to 70% active R-lipoic acid stabilized RALA. One bottle contains 60 one-capsule servings. Exceptional quality at an extraordinary value. About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP).  .  .  . * These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.605 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(43 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 43 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
40 out of 43(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost R-Alpha Lipoic Acid Stabilized RALA -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Review 1 for Vitacost R-Alpha Lipoic Acid Stabilized RALA -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mkretz
great product for dieting or bulking
 August 11, 2014
"Does a great job of shuttling carbohydrates into muscles and away from fat cells. Gives a great pump when used with a preworkout meal containing carbs."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost R-Alpha Lipoic Acid Stabilized RALA -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
MistyZ
fromUrbana. Oh
Age:75+
Gender:Female
 July 9, 2014
"This form of lipoic acid is the best. I have taken it for 3 or 4 years. I buy from Vita Cost because it is gluten free."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost R-Alpha Lipoic Acid Stabilized RALA -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
CitrusNow
 April 21, 2014
"I read R-Alpha Lipoic Acid is better utilized by the body than simply Alpha Lipoic Acid. I used the whole bottle. I did not notice any difference in energy or well-being. Mind you, I do not notice a difference either when I take just ALA, but I nonetheless still use it. Jury is still out on if R-Alpha Lipoic Acid is significantly better than Alpha Lipoic Acid. One thing is for sure - it is a lot more expensive!"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost R-Alpha Lipoic Acid Stabilized RALA -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lindy4
fromPA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
The best form of ALA
 April 4, 2014
"Great product and price"
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost R-Alpha Lipoic Acid Stabilized RALA -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everest
fromNYC
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Just what I was looking for;difficult to find item
 September 25, 2013
"Just what I was looking for; difficult to find item"
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost R-Alpha Lipoic Acid Stabilized RALA -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Daisy1474
fromGold Canyon, AZ
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Got Energy?
 September 22, 2013
"Someone we know and trust told us about Vitacost and R-Alpha Lipoic Acid Stabilized RALA and said to use it. It's a naturally occurring form of lipoic acid and a nutrient we need for energy. Who doesn't want more energy. Well we use it and we love it. Gotta have our energy to keep going."
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost R-Alpha Lipoic Acid Stabilized RALA -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wallaby
fromCairns,Australia
Age:75+
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
 May 5, 2013
"This is a top product especially when taken along with L-Carnitine and with Vitacost prices you can't go wrong."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost R-Alpha Lipoic Acid Stabilized RALA -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
melinar
fromHouston
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Pharmacist
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Better than regular alpha lipoic acid!
 April 29, 2013
"I had used alpha lipoic acid, along with l-carnitine, for several years. Then a health products expert recommended that I take R-alpha lipoic acid for its better absorption. Yes, this product is more expensive than regular alpha lipoic acid, and more than a combo ALA + L-Carnitine. But I prefer to pay a bit more for a more beneficial formula. The capsules are tiny and you hardly know you've swallowed anything! I wish VC would consider selling it BOGO sometimes, as they do regular ALA, to make it less expensive."
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost R-Alpha Lipoic Acid Stabilized RALA -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dsamovar
fromNorth Idaho
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Pharmacist
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Just as good as brand names
 March 24, 2013
"I found this to be just as effective as the Source Naturals brand and it's a lot cheaper."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost R-Alpha Lipoic Acid Stabilized RALA -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BirdyinFL
fromSalisbury MD
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Excellent product
 March 5, 2013
"I was recommended to take this by a friend. I checked with my physician and he agreed it's an excellent supplement.
I had tried another brand at first and had some digestive upset but this product did not cause any issues.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost R-Alpha Lipoic Acid Stabilized RALA -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BigBillNoMore
fromFLA
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great Product
 February 16, 2013
"This is the best form of ALA at a great price. I did have an issue that Vitacost addressed right away."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost R-Alpha Lipoic Acid Stabilized RALA -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
taranuphab
worth to buy
 February 14, 2013
"save money with line of R-Lipoic compare to other brands"
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost R-Alpha Lipoic Acid Stabilized RALA -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KAM10
fromIowa
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:30-60 days
Excellent Product
 February 2, 2013
"Better metabolized than Alpha Lipoic Acid. A lot of available information on this subject."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost R-Alpha Lipoic Acid Stabilized RALA -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1stPaddler
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
 December 25, 2012
"I came across articles written by a naturopathic doctor that R-ALA (not the S type) is an extremely powerful antioxidant. It could rejuvenate again and again other kinds of antioxidants in our body that have been used up to neutralize free radicals.
But R-ALA is expensive. I am glad that Vitacost makes it very affordable.
Research more about this product on the Internet. Eventually, you will categorize it together with Vitamin C as the most important supplements you have to take with you when you travel. 200 mg is the minimum dosage for maintenance."
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost R-Alpha Lipoic Acid Stabilized RALA -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
amitogic
fromTaipei
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
It is good but not quite good enough.
 October 14, 2012
"I wish there is a 120 /180 or even more capsules' package in a single bottle.
I also like to see there has some combination supplement which use R-ALA instead of racemic ALA in it's formulation,becouse S-ALA of racemic ALA is not a nature form for biology.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost R-Alpha Lipoic Acid Stabilized RALA -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
skiinghelen
fromAlaska to Hawaii
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great product
 September 26, 2012
"R-ALA is an exceptional antioxidant that I recommend for everyone."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost R-Alpha Lipoic Acid Stabilized RALA -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
USAtruenutrition
very good value for an often expensive product
 August 3, 2012
"like that they are in capsules...much more powerful than its cousin, alpha lipoic acid...so dont confuse the two
good news is that R-alpha is really so strong...daily use may not be necessary for great benefits...some only take it 2 or 3 days per week
very good product for liver health
I like to use with l-carnitine, CoQ10, alpha lipoic acid for heart health"
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost R-Alpha Lipoic Acid Stabilized RALA -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yardman
fromTexas
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:Over 180 days
The second part of ALA
 July 11, 2012
"It seems to provide support for well being and the knowledge that you are getting the whole spectrum of ALA. I have heard it helps in muscle building."
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost R-Alpha Lipoic Acid Stabilized RALA -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Matrush
Great Product
 May 6, 2012
"Now even better with the new shipping arrangements to me in Australia. Products arrived in less than half the time they used to arrive. Great service."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost R-Alpha Lipoic Acid Stabilized RALA -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HomeIsWhereTheHeartIs
fromRichmond, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great Antioxidant!
 January 27, 2012
"I've been taking this for years and when I run out, I can tell. ALA is recommended by so many doctors, I actually started with this after reading the book the Antioxidant Miracle by Lester Packer, Ph.D. and Carol Colman.
Defnitely a great Antioxidant to add to your daily routine!
"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 next