Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

Giovanni Straight Fast™ Straightening Elixir -- 6.8 fl oz

STRAIGHT FAST™ STRAIGHTENING ELIXIR. ultimate hair straightening elixir. Smooth the curls relax the waves control the unruliest hair. This lightweight crystal gel adds silky shine while repelling humidity. Smoothes and soothes hair for the ultimate sleek style. Straightens hair temporarily until your next shampoo. Certified organic botanicals protect hair from heat styling
Overall rating:
3.389 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
4
10 out of 18(56%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Giovanni Straight Fast™ Straightening Elixir -- 6.8 fl oz
Review 1 for Giovanni Straight Fast™ Straightening Elixir -- 6.8 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
MsArizona
fromArizona
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Terrible
 September 16, 2013
"This stuff is absolutely horrendous. H.O.R.R.E.N.D.O.U.S.............the worst straightening product I have ever tried..............it feels more like a gel and it just leaves the hair a goopy mess...................other products by Giovanni are good, but this one should be discontinued, it is that bad."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Giovanni Straight Fast™ Straightening Elixir -- 6.8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
589Nicky
fromPark Forest, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
It's okay
 October 11, 2012
"It's okay, but it didn't give me the shine I wanted."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Giovanni Straight Fast™ Straightening Elixir -- 6.8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tammileigh2
fromNortheast, Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
The best hairgel
 April 27, 2012
"This gel is part of my regular routine. I use it with Giovanni Tea Tree Shampoo and Smooth as silk Conditioner. I have naturally curly hair and this gel gives me defined and controlled curls. Love it."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Giovanni Straight Fast™ Straightening Elixir -- 6.8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
OrganicNSoCal
fromSan Diego
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Friend
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Works for Me
 November 28, 2011
"Love this stuff. I have a lot of hair and its semi-curly wavy.
this calms it down and with a round brush gets it pretty straight-until my next wash. Not sticky-been using this for about 2 years and hope the continue to make it.
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Giovanni Straight Fast™ Straightening Elixir -- 6.8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
cd
fromSouth Carolina
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Curly hair gals/guys
 September 4, 2011
"Giovanni Straight Fast Straightening Elixir is GOOD for my hair; doesn't have any alcohol or stiffening products - all natural ingredients!
All is do is put the product in my hair, comb it through, put some clips to keep hair down for a few and Wow, my hair looks wavy natural, not curly/frizzy! I'm buying more!! I'll also see what other Giovanni products for curly hair are out there!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Giovanni Straight Fast™ Straightening Elixir -- 6.8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SHERRYLYNN
love this stuff
 April 21, 2010
"works Great and you only need a tiny bit-keeps down fly aways without leaving your hair feeling greasy or weighed down"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Giovanni Straight Fast™ Straightening Elixir -- 6.8 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
faith123456789
Not pleased
 September 14, 2009
"I am african american 4a/b hair and this did not work for me so just warning others like me."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Giovanni Straight Fast™ Straightening Elixir -- 6.8 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
LCflorida
fromFlorida
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Not For Natural African American Hair
 May 18, 2009
"Thick, sticky, drying. This product is definitely not for my hair. I purchased 5 tubes and threw the one that I opened, out. The other four are going to be donated or thrown out also. VERY disappointed with this product. Giovanni has some wonderful products, but this in not one of them."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Giovanni Straight Fast™ Straightening Elixir -- 6.8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
NinaOC
fromIrvine, CA
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Not a straigtening product
 January 17, 2009
"It's good for frizzy hair but if you put just a little it can make your hair look oily. It really depends on your hair. I put it on after a shower and it really set my hair. I took it with me on a trip and the NSA took my brand new bottle and threw it in the trash in front of me. I never bought it since."
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Giovanni Straight Fast™ Straightening Elixir -- 6.8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lilT
frombristol ,tn
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Referral source:Friend
Duration of use:30-60 days
 October 30, 2008
"this products workss good and smells great.i have unruley hair and thiss stuff works.makes your hair feel gressy @ first then soaks in.my only problems is it makes my head itch and gave me a rash along my hair line .also gave me dandruf which i dont normally have."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Giovanni Straight Fast™ Straightening Elixir -- 6.8 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
d4dd
frommichigan
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
giovanni straight fast gel not straight
 October 15, 2008
"This is a great product if your looking for very soft smooth hair but it does absolutely nothing to straighten it. Great company with great ingredients but if you're looking to just straighten try something else."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Giovanni Straight Fast™ Straightening Elixir -- 6.8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
justtryin
more for women
 August 8, 2008
"The gel is great for women with thick or hard to deal with hair, but a little to heavy for guys. I bought it for my husband, but now I use it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Giovanni Straight Fast™ Straightening Elixir -- 6.8 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
bablondie25
fromSeattle area
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:61-180 days
Try try again...
 August 8, 2008
"I love the Giovanni line, don't get me wrong. It's my favorite with great ingredients, great prices and excellent products. But this just doesn't do it for my daughter, and she's used to high-end straightening creams. Will try again. Hopefully they'll come out with a "cream" in the Giovanni line we can try."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Giovanni Straight Fast™ Straightening Elixir -- 6.8 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
ScottishLass
fromSouthern USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Didn't Work for Me
 July 30, 2008
"My hair is naturally wavy and frizzy. I live in the humid south and every time I step outside my hair frizzes up. After I used this product, my hair felt a little weighed down, but, after using the flat iron it was straight and smooth. It was fine just as long as I stayed inside, but didn't last in the outside humidity."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Giovanni Straight Fast™ Straightening Elixir -- 6.8 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Teel
fromChicago, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Still like hair spray
 December 10, 2007
"I do not like this product because it makes my hair stiff, like hairspray. I would rather use a product without the stiffness."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Giovanni Straight Fast™ Straightening Elixir -- 6.8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
TIJA
Great Stuff
 August 13, 2007
"This stuff really works. A little bit goes a long way, and it doesn't make your hair hard or crunchy. This is a new staple for me!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Giovanni Straight Fast™ Straightening Elixir -- 6.8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Marci
High-end haircare w/o the pricetag!
 April 12, 2007
"I recieved a sample of this and wasn't expecting the kind of results that I get from my high-end staples. OMG, not only is this line organic but no heaviness, greasiness that is left behind with most hair serums/straightening products! It has the consistency of a petroleum jelly but your hair soaks in all the goodies and your left w/ lightweight, straight, shiny (not greasy or weighed down) hair! This is the the best site as far as price also!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Giovanni Straight Fast™ Straightening Elixir -- 6.8 fl oz
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product