Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Conditioner or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Giovanni 50:50 Balanced Conditioner Hydrating-Calming -- 8.5 fl oz

For Normal to Dry Hair. Protects Over-Worked Hair Over-Processed and Color-Treated Hair While Locking in Color with Shine. -Adds moisture and manageability. -Hydrating botanical extracts smooth frizz. -Leaves hair perfectly pH balanced and conditioned. -Ideal for overworked environmentally stressed hair.Balance. It’s half of this and half of that. The perfect mix the perfect match. That’s what you’ll get with 50/50 Balanced Hydrating-Calming Conditioner. Ideal for reawakening dry hair to the wonders of moisture this conditioner works its magic on a daily basis. A blend of organic ingredients and protection factors make dull hair the life of the party. Shine says glow for it.
Overall rating:
4.492 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(61 reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 61 reviews
5 Stars
43
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
4
1 Star
1
56 out of 61(92%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Giovanni 50:50 Balanced Conditioner Hydrating-Calming -- 8.5 fl oz
Review 1 for Giovanni 50:50 Balanced Conditioner Hydrating-Calming -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sonoma2011
fromCalifornia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
leaves hairy silky and smooth
 June 6, 2014
"great product for getting tangles out and adding both body and volume to hair."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Giovanni 50:50 Balanced Conditioner Hydrating-Calming -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tropical
fromCape Coral FL
Excellent hair conditioner
 March 2, 2014
"Giovanni 50:50 hair conditioner has no build-up on my hair and keeps it soft and non-static in a tropical climate. Am thankful for the clean smell and a product that does not make my scalp itch."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Giovanni 50:50 Balanced Conditioner Hydrating-Calming -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Starburst4
fromPA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Giovanni 50:50 Balanced Conditioner Hydrating-Calm
 February 15, 2014
"This conditioner is moisturizing for my colored hair. I also appreciate the lack of endocrine disruptors and other toxic ingredients in the formulation!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Giovanni 50:50 Balanced Conditioner Hydrating-Calming -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
porky1019
fromridgefield,ct.
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great!!
 February 6, 2014
"i use this with the 50/50 shampoo and my hair shines! this conditioner leaves no waxy build up behind! my hair just really feels and looks clean!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Giovanni 50:50 Balanced Conditioner Hydrating-Calming -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sirk69
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great product all around
 August 29, 2013
"I was leary about trying a new conditioner but I was completely suprised by how well this one worked. I was also thrilled that you needed so little to make it work. My hair is very fine and conditioners sometimes weigh it down but this one makes my hair feel fantastic with no greasy residue."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Giovanni 50:50 Balanced Conditioner Hydrating-Calming -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ashleyy
fromNew York, NY
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
I can't stand the smell
 April 28, 2013
"In my opinion, it doesn't matter how effective a hair product is if it smells awful. And to me, this stuff is the worst. I can't even pinpoint what the smell is, but it's not pleasant."
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Giovanni 50:50 Balanced Conditioner Hydrating-Calming -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
YRunn
fromTexas
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great Great Conditioner
 March 11, 2013
"I really like this conditioner paired with the shampoo...AWESOME!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Giovanni 50:50 Balanced Conditioner Hydrating-Calming -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
EastTNGirl
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Good Product
 November 23, 2012
"This product cleans my thick color treated hair well and has a light fragrance that doesn't aggravate my allergies or rosacea.
The Vitacost price beats the competition, especially the local healthfood retailer.
Cons: The design of the shampoo and conditioner bottles can be frustrating for the very frugal, who like to get the last drop of any product."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Giovanni 50:50 Balanced Conditioner Hydrating-Calming -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
mydoves
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 June 2, 2012
"It works better than what I expected. I have really frizzy and course hair and it helped bring some moisture to my hair."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Giovanni 50:50 Balanced Conditioner Hydrating-Calming -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Artgirl
fromClearwater, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great product!!
 May 13, 2012
"I really love this conditioner! It leaves my hair soft, silky and really shiny with lots of body. It has a lovely light scent."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Giovanni 50:50 Balanced Conditioner Hydrating-Calming -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DG89
fromMontana
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Love this conditioner!
 November 15, 2011
"I use this along with the Giovanni Smooth as Silk Deeper Moisture Shampoo and conditioner and my hair loves all 3 of these products!! The 50/50 is awesome in that i think it does "balance" my hair and controls frizz. It is awesome!!! Very moisturizing also... I have fine wavy hair. Highly recommended."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Giovanni 50:50 Balanced Conditioner Hydrating-Calming -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
k875
fromDes Moines, IA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
great product
 July 19, 2011
"All the Giovanni shampoos and conditioners are mild and effective. My hair doesn't feel weighted down or coated. It makes my hair feel light and really clean. For the price, I'm sold!!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Giovanni 50:50 Balanced Conditioner Hydrating-Calming -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
herbaholic
fromPortland OR
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Duration of use:30-60 days
BONUS: leave-in
 May 22, 2011
"Lovely subtle fragrance, does seem easier on color, and I've used it as leave-in with light toweling off, with great results! Soft, moisturized, shiny hair, yes."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Giovanni 50:50 Balanced Conditioner Hydrating-Calming -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
TrueJay
fromSeattle
Age:45-54
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
nice product
 May 5, 2011
"I love both the shampoo and the conditioner. They do a nice job without weighing my hair down. Seems to have helped some flyaway issues I was having with my hair as well."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Giovanni 50:50 Balanced Conditioner Hydrating-Calming -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fergie
Age:45-54
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
great for curly hair
 March 26, 2011
"My hair loves this stuff. It gets rid of the frizz and leaves nice soft curls."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Giovanni 50:50 Balanced Conditioner Hydrating-Calming -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kati
fromWA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Friend
Duration of use:30-60 days
Will buy again
 August 11, 2010
"This conditioner works well with the Giovanni shampoo.
It is very thick so you don't have to worry about wasting it by pouring out too much. I recommend using the shampoo and condtioner if you want to stay away from harsh chemicals that most hair products have.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Giovanni 50:50 Balanced Conditioner Hydrating-Calming -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LoriZ
fromMorgantown, WV
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:61-180 days
Excellent conditioner
 July 2, 2010
"I have healthy, fine, straight hair, but I have a lot of it. It's layered and comes just past my shoulders and gets tangled easily, yet it also is easily weighed down by conditioners that are too heavy. So it's difficult to find conditioners that detangle well without weighing down my hair. Giovanni 50:50 Balanced Hydrating-Calming Conditioner actually works great for my hair as long as I use only a pea-sized amount. That's all it takes to condition my hair (so the 8.5-ounce bottle will last a long time), and it doesn't make my hair limp. It also has a soft, pleasant floral fragrance."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Giovanni 50:50 Balanced Conditioner Hydrating-Calming -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solea
fromWhidbey Island, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:61-180 days
Balanced is true
 February 17, 2010
"This conditioner leaves my hair soft, but not greasy or heavy. I have tried many conditioners and the 50/50 balanced is my fav! I have fine hair and our water is full of minerals. This is a bad combination, but both the shampoo and conditioner are a perfect fit for me."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Giovanni 50:50 Balanced Conditioner Hydrating-Calming -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SuziS
fromOakland, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Duration of use:Over 180 days
My favorite - no bad ingredients
 February 2, 2010
"It's very hard to find effective hair products without sodium laurel sulphate, but this is a winner."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Giovanni 50:50 Balanced Conditioner Hydrating-Calming -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
NewVita
fromNew York, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
So thick it won't come out of bottle
 January 18, 2010
"The product is good and makes your hair soft IF you can get it out of the bottle! It's really thick and I have a hard time squeezing it out so I end up using very little which does go a long way. It's annoying me so I may not buy it again, but I just bought 2 bottles of Giovanni's leave in conditioner so I'll give that a try."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next