Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

5-HTP(488)
Amino Acids(1,285)
Calcium(3,254)
CoQ10(2,222)
Coconut Oil(2,838)
EFAs(3,290)
Fish Oil(1,385)
Iron(493)
Krill Oil(672)
Magnesium(1,526)
Melatonin(959)
Multi-vitamins(10,403)
Omega-3(4,474)
Algae(695)
Bee Pollen(241)
Caffeine(29)
Celadrin(77)
Charcoal(79)
Chitosan(38)
Chlorella(118)
Choline(115)
Collagen(191)
Colostrum(168)
D-Mannose(38)
DHEA(357)
DMAE(73)
EFAs(103)
EpiCor(28)
FOS(2)
GABA(144)
GLA(6)
GPLC(27)
Gelatin(11)
Glycine(7)
HGH(17)
Iodine(36)
L-Lysine(146)
L-Theanine(188)
LPP(37)
Lecithin(209)
Lithium(8)
Lutein(301)
Lycopene(90)
MSM(365)
NADH(43)
Pectin(37)
Propolis(66)
Pycnogenol(128)
Quercetin(121)
RNA/DNA(1)
Red Wine(10)
Relora(1)
Silica(17)
Soy(92)
Taurine(69)
Yeast(113)
Probiotics(4,444)
SAMe(520)
Spirulina(74)
Vitamin A(116)
Vitamin B(4,055)
Vitamin C(2,436)
Vitamin D(2,146)
Vitamin E(442)
Vitamin K(225)
Whole Foods(1,016)
Zinc(323)
Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop L-Theanine or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Source Naturals L-Theanine -- 200 mg - 60 Tablets

Helps Reduce Anxiety. Suitable for Vegetarians. L-Theanine is a unique amino acid found almost exclusively in the tea plant (Camellia sinensis) and is the primary ingredient contributing to the unusual taste of green tea. Animal studies have shown that L-theanine crosses the blood brain barrier increases dopamine and GABA levels in the brain and inhibits the stimulatory properties of caffeine. Human studies have shown that taking L-theanine results in the emission of brain waves associated with a state of relaxation.
Overall rating:
4.583 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
23 out of 24(96%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Source Naturals L-Theanine -- 200 mg - 60 Tablets
Review 1 for Source Naturals L-Theanine -- 200 mg - 60 Tablets
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bevie7
fromNH
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
 April 8, 2013
"I find this product extremely helpful in dealing with emotional issues related to menopause. It helps stabilize the mood swings related to menopause."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Source Naturals L-Theanine -- 200 mg - 60 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
pal127
fromIl
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
Great Product!
 December 9, 2011
"This seems to be the ideal dosage for me. I take before bed and just lay down and go to sleep. Works every time."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Source Naturals L-Theanine -- 200 mg - 60 Tablets
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
MindArt
 November 6, 2011
"I cannot say I found any benefit to taking this product. I thought it would enhance sleep, but it did not."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Source Naturals L-Theanine -- 200 mg - 60 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
whattoeat
Helpful for bedtime
 March 19, 2009
"My Integrative Medicine Doctor recommended this for anxiety, as needed. I like to take it 20 minutes or so before bed, with my nightly Calcium (it works even better this way) and I start feeling relaxed and sleepy soon. If I don't go to sleep when I start feeling that way, it passes, so I time it when I am close to turning off the lights for the night! Absolutely worth trying and the price is about half what you'd pay in a health food store."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Source Naturals L-Theanine -- 200 mg - 60 Tablets
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
cdipiellllle
 September 17, 2008
"helps you relax before you fall asleep. great product."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Source Naturals L-Theanine -- 200 mg - 60 Tablets
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fortysomething
fromIndianapolis
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
good but nsi brand better
 May 3, 2008
"i bought this brand because of the dosage - 200 mg instead of 100 mg - and there is a savings that goes along with that. however, the nsi brand works better and is still a good value."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Source Naturals L-Theanine -- 200 mg - 60 Tablets
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Vinod3x3
Works when other things don't
 August 12, 2007
"L- theanine is becoming a stand by and I use it any time I feel a little overwrought and can not relax or go to sleep."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Source Naturals L-Theanine -- 200 mg - 60 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mory
 August 2, 2007
"Can not find a more steady product at a lower price."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Source Naturals L-Theanine -- 200 mg - 60 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wersley
Thank you L-Theanine best sleep I've had
 April 17, 2007
"I read an article on a study that was done in Japan using L-Theanine to help people get better rest. So, I saw that Vitacost had the product and I ordered some. I have been using it for over a year. I can honestly say that taking just one tablet per night has helped me tremendously. I am finally getting the deep sleep that I haven't had in years. I have reccommened this product to a number of my friends and they have all said that it has helped them as well. I would give this product a 5 start rating."
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Source Naturals L-Theanine -- 200 mg - 60 Tablets
Based on the average of (15) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
4.7 / 5
4.7 / 5
15 out of 15 recommend this product