Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Probiotic Combinations or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Garden of Life Primal Defense HSO Probiotic Formula -- 180 Vegetarian Caplets

HSO Probiotic Formula. Vegetarian • Gluten Free. Primal Defense® is a natural blend of 12 species of probiotics and Homeostatic® Soil Organisms (HSOs) utilizing the Poten-Zyme® process and delivered within a whole food matrix. The HSO probiotic blend in Primal Defense® helps support normal gastrointestinal balance of good and potentially harmful bacteria to help maintain a balanced healthy internal environment and maximizes the benefits of a healthy diet by supporting normal absorption and assimilation of nutrients in the gut. Primal Defense is created using the following probiotic species or their enzymes:. Lactobacillus acidophilus Lactobacillus rhamnosus Lactobacillus salivarius Lactobacillus plantarum Lactobacillus paracasei Lactobacillus casei Lactobacillus brevis Bifidobacteria bifidum Bifidobacterium breve Bifidobacterium lactis Bifidobacterium longum Bacillus subtilis Saccharomyces boulardii
Overall rating:
4.75 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 28 reviews
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
28 out of 28(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Garden of Life Primal Defense HSO Probiotic Formula -- 180 Vegetarian Caplets
Review 1 for Garden of Life Primal Defense HSO Probiotic Formula -- 180 Vegetarian Caplets
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
newhealth
fromCA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
good product
 April 24, 2009
"works, helps stomach"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Garden of Life Primal Defense HSO Probiotic Formula -- 180 Vegetarian Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
pagirl
fromStanley, NM
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Family Member
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Changed my life
 December 2, 2008
"Literally. I had so much trouble with my digestion. It was sluggish and I constantly had stomach discomfort ranging from annoying to very painful. Once I started taking Primal Defense religiously (3 years ago), I rarely have problems. I have more energy and better emotional health, because as many of you know stomach pain makes you very tired and grumpy! I highly recommend this product to anyone with stomach issues. Give it a try - you have nothing to lose. By the way, I normally take it once a day. I'll bump it to twice if I've eaten too much or if my system slows down for any reason."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Garden of Life Primal Defense HSO Probiotic Formula -- 180 Vegetarian Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
amarie
fromMobile, AL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Value and Quality
 July 5, 2008
"I only take this product once in the mornings (even though the recommendation is 3 x daily) and it actually helps me feel awake and clear minded, like everything is working in my body like it should. I already feel good from eating mostly organic or natural foods, but this helps me feel great. Hope this helps!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Garden of Life Primal Defense HSO Probiotic Formula -- 180 Vegetarian Caplets
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Viabilityman
fromTampa Bay, Florida
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Best value intestinal supplement
 September 5, 2007
"This product works - I eliminate within 30 minutes of taking it. It sets your digestive track up for the most optimum condition - the ability to digest what you eat!
I take this every day in the morning on an empty stomach; I increase the dosage gradiently over days and weeks till there is no more sluggishness in the digestive track. This is LIVE food; you can tell the difference with this and other similar products. It's just better.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Garden of Life Primal Defense HSO Probiotic Formula -- 180 Vegetarian Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
elect1960
fromNew York
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
digestive wellness
 August 30, 2007
"As we all know we produce less Probiotic bacteria after the age of 35 so I am Supplementing with this product as well as eating fermented foods"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Garden of Life Primal Defense HSO Probiotic Formula -- 180 Vegetarian Caplets
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
chriss
 August 12, 2007
"I tried this product on the recommendation of a friend who has been taking it for years. The bizarre GI symptoms that i experienced before taking it have completely disappeared and my elimination has greatly improved; not only in ease but frequency! The salty taste can be a bit of a turn off at first."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Garden of Life Primal Defense HSO Probiotic Formula -- 180 Vegetarian Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Curlygirl
Great product!
 August 9, 2007
"I use Primal Defense to help with my digestive issues and temperamental stomach. Since I've been taking it for the past two years, my problems have all but disappeared. I have tried the capsules, but they didn't agree with me as well as the caplets. They took a little getting used to at first, but I have no problems now at all. They are pricey but do the trick, so they're worth it!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Garden of Life Primal Defense HSO Probiotic Formula -- 180 Vegetarian Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Healthcoach4life
fromColorado
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Primal Defense
 August 9, 2007
"I would recommend primal defense for everyone. It is a must. My health was once poor and now excellent and I attribute it first and foremost to using primal defense."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Garden of Life Primal Defense HSO Probiotic Formula -- 180 Vegetarian Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
pillqueen
Great price!
 July 18, 2007
"I have been taking this product for two years now. I like that it has both high quality greens (what they call HSO) and beneficial bacteria. During a recent review of some lab work, my doctor was impressed with how much good bacteria was in my system."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Garden of Life Primal Defense HSO Probiotic Formula -- 180 Vegetarian Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
hipps62
Best product I purchased
 June 27, 2007
"Love this product. Works very well"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Garden of Life Primal Defense HSO Probiotic Formula -- 180 Vegetarian Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
AuntCarol
 May 13, 2007
"My son and I have used Primal Defense for a couple years now and find Vita Cost has the best price. When we first started taking it, we thought it tasted strong but when we told our naturopath last year that we thought they must have at some time changed the formula as we don't find it strong, nor do we hurry to swallow it, and she just laughed and said when it's something your body needs, it starts tasting good! We prefer it over any other brand for keeping our good bacteria healthy in our systems. We take it at bedtime and I noticed I started to sleep better after taking it at bedtime."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Garden of Life Primal Defense HSO Probiotic Formula -- 180 Vegetarian Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
smilelyjae
A wonderful product
 May 9, 2007
"I have been using Garden of Life's Primal Defense for over two years. This product has changed my health in so many ways! I suggest Primal Defense to all my friends. Vitacost is the best value out there, significantly less than any other website or store."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Garden of Life Primal Defense HSO Probiotic Formula -- 180 Vegetarian Caplets
Based on the average of (16) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8 / 5
16 out of 16 recommend this product