Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Protein or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Garden of Life Goatein® -- 440 g

Pure Goat's Milk Protein. A unique protein powder made from goat's milk. Easy to digest - can be tolerated by many people who have difficulty digesting cow's milk. An excellent source of complete protein that contains all eight essential amino acids - protein building blocks crucial to good health. Goatein goats are not fed pesticides herbicides growth enhancers or antibiotics. Great for those on low carbohydrate diets.
Overall rating:
4.289 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(45 reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 45 reviews
5 Stars
31
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
3
1 Star
4
38 out of 45(84%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Garden of Life Goatein® -- 440 g
Review 1 for Garden of Life Goatein® -- 440 g
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hawaiian
fromHawaii and California
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Excellent Quality and Price
 May 29, 2014
"Aloha,
I've been using Garden of Life Goatein for the last four months. I have found that this brand mixes well, tastes good, very bio-available, and no bloating.
I have tried various brands of goat milk protein that Vitacost carries over the last four years, and Goatein is the best!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Garden of Life Goatein® -- 440 g
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jodifus
fromAmelia Island, FL
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Healthy protein powder
 December 1, 2013
"This is a wonderful way to increase good protein daily. My husband puts a scoop in his oatmeal and I add one to my protein shake. I think Goatein and all Garden of life products are superior."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Garden of Life Goatein® -- 440 g
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
healthnut5
Little gamey
 November 26, 2013
"Always looking for different protein powders. This dissolves well but a slight goat flavor. Too much for me."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Garden of Life Goatein® -- 440 g
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DarlingDancer
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great product
 October 14, 2013
"I have a sense of being nourished and strengthened by this product"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Garden of Life Goatein® -- 440 g
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MomD
fromCA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Excellent product!
 June 2, 2013
"Tastes great and digests beautifully"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Garden of Life Goatein® -- 440 g
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mommylove
fromMinneapolis, MN
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great quality,taste and texture!
 May 22, 2013
"This is the first time I've tried this product and I am impressed with the taste and texture. It has a slight vanilla taste - not too strong. The texture is very fine and mixes well. I like the quality of Garden of Life products and Goatein is right in line!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Garden of Life Goatein® -- 440 g
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Molly36
fromNYC area
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Easy to digest
 March 25, 2013
"Taste good and easy on the stomach. Whey protein can sometimes be hard to digest. Good price for this product also."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Garden of Life Goatein® -- 440 g
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
OceanLady
Good protein
 January 20, 2013
"If you're allergic to dairy, this is a great protein. And it tastes wonderful."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Garden of Life Goatein® -- 440 g
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
zaree
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Threw it in the garbage yesterday
 September 10, 2012
"No one in the family would drink it....very strong taste. Had to discard it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Garden of Life Goatein® -- 440 g
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
User1
fromSan Diego, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Great product for the price!
 August 1, 2012
"Vitacost provides this great product at an excellent price. I love the taste and benefits that come with goat milk. I'll keep buying it directly from Vitacost...."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Garden of Life Goatein® -- 440 g
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pellam
fromChicago, IL
no cow
 February 10, 2012
"an easy to digest protein supplement with lots of natural calcium."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Garden of Life Goatein® -- 440 g
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Taste:
3 / 5
3 / 5
carrotstick
 July 9, 2011
"Product was overall very good. Did not mix in well and could taste it. Seemed a little chalky, but wasn't bad."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Garden of Life Goatein® -- 440 g
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Maltesemom
fromYorba Linda, Ca
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Long time use
 May 27, 2011
"I've used this product for several years for smoothies. Didn't like the taste too much at first but am used to it now. Like Jordan Rubin's products and think the quality is good."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Garden of Life Goatein® -- 440 g
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
4 / 5
4 / 5
CaraSun
Goatein
 April 7, 2011
"Great when made into a protein shake with real fruit juice and berries or mango chunks. Yummy! Easy to digest. Great protein suppliment."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Garden of Life Goatein® -- 440 g
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Taste:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Snoir
fromKansas City
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Tastes Terrible!
 April 7, 2010
"I've been happy with all my other VitaCost orders. I read glowing info about Goatein in a book and was really looking forward to receiving my order. I couldn't believe how bad it tasted. I had to spit out what was in my mouth and pour out the rest of what I had mixed up. Wasted 8 ounces of juice! I missed out on its nutritional benefits because I couldn't stand the taste."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Garden of Life Goatein® -- 440 g
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Taste:
1 / 5
1 / 5
flaxfan
fromHouston, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
upset my stomach
 April 5, 2010
"I'm not a fan of goat products to begin with, but this was highly recommended so thought i'd try it. I didn't like the "goat" flavor and it upset my stomach. I returned it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Garden of Life Goatein® -- 440 g
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Taste:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Allerjen
fromSouthwest US
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Good product, except. . .
 March 25, 2010
"If you don't like goat flavor, DON'T buy this product. I haven't found anything yet that completely kills the flavor. Other than that, it is a great product--seems to be good quality protein and it gives me a great boost during the day. If it tasted better, I'd buy it again."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Garden of Life Goatein® -- 440 g
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Taste:
2 / 5
2 / 5
TTNeb
fromOttawa, ON
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
terrible for mixing
 February 21, 2010
"It's good stuff if you need to use the goat based protein over cow. But it's terrible to try an mix it with anything. It just clumps up instead of really mixing together. Usually I just make it in smoothies which works well though."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Garden of Life Goatein® -- 440 g
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Taste:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Training2BFit
Baa-aa-aa-d taste
 February 1, 2010
"If you can stomach the taste, it's a fabulous product. I'm lactose intolerant and was assured by someone who used it that it didn't taste "goat-y" or "gamey." I should have tried it twice in oatmeal and was gagging on it both times, even using only 1/2 scoop the second time and adding lots of cinnamon. The goat flavor came through. Can't stomach it. Baa-aa-d taste."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Garden of Life Goatein® -- 440 g
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
organicsalon
fromIowa
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Finally, a good tasting protein powder!
 November 23, 2009
"I was skeptical of how this would taste but remarkablly it is good!
I put 1 scoop in a blender with 8oz of rice or almond milk, 1 banana, 1/2 cup or more of blueberries and blend it.
It is so good!
No reactions to teh goat milk either with my lactose intolerance. Helps me get my calcium and a little protein too.
"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 next