Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Probiotic Combinations or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 90 Caplets

  Primal Defense is the only probiotic formula that contains a unique whole food blend with Homeostatic® Soil Organisms (HSOs). The HSO Probiotic Blend in Primal Defense helps support the normal gastrointestinal balance of good and potentially harmful bacteria to help maintain a balanced healthy internal environment. Contains probiotics that promote regular bowel function and help maintain an already healthy immune system - both of which are beneficial to overall health. Maximizes the benefits of a healthy diet by supporting normal absorption and assimilation of nutrients in the gut. Unlike other probiotics the key probiotics in Primal Defense can thrive in the toughest environment and are undeterred by stomach and bile acids. Select ingredients in Primal Defense are produced through the Garden of Life proprietary Poten-Zyme® fermentation process to make nutrients more available to the body.
Overall rating:
4.833 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
24 out of 24(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 90 Caplets
Review 1 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 90 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SanFranciscoGal
fromSan Francisco, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Excellent Product
 July 15, 2013
"My husband and I were introduced to Garden of Life just a few months ago and we have found their products to be of exceptional quality. These probiotics are raw, vegan, easy to digest and work wonderfully. The huge bonus and that we can purchase on Vitacost for a much better price than in our local Whole Foods, etc. Thank you, Vitacost for carrying such quality products!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 90 Caplets
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
dana2011
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
It has yeast that is not listed
 May 29, 2013
"Primal Defense has yeast that is not listed on this website
Saccharomyces Boulardii,
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 90 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Munich
fromClearwater, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Very good probiotic product!
 May 13, 2013
"I take it almost every day and I love it. It works!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 90 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
737pilot
fromFt Lauderdale
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Garden Of Life products are always excellent
 March 17, 2013
"Their entire line of products are phenominal...highest quality, read about the owners own struggle to health for further insites about their products"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 90 Caplets
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Luisitosax
fromHonduras, Central America
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Great value product and it is working!!
 March 10, 2013
"I bought this product to regulate my bowel movements. After a month of use I feel much better. I think it is working smoothly."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 90 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Scorp11
fromNew Jersey
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
It really works!
 February 9, 2013
"I usually get sick around November unless I start taking my herbal tea in October. Unfortunately, I can no longer get the tea because the company went out of business. I tried the Garden of Life Primal Defense and was able to stay well throughout the winter months. I have made this a part of my daily routine and I'm feeling great. I'm so glad I found this product."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 90 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LIMN
fromSan Diego, Ca
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
very good product
 January 27, 2013
"My favorite probiotics! Vitacost has the lowest price I've ever seen anywhere!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 90 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Maltesemom
fromYorba Linda, Ca
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
like this one
 October 9, 2011
"I've used probiotics for years and a friend recommended this one. I love Garden of Life products and use many. I also like that this one doesn't need to be refridgerated. It uses soil based organisms which are supposed to be very good for you and we don't get them otherwise. Also like the barley and oat grass in it."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 90 Caplets
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
chewbacca
fromJohnson City, TN
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
PROBIOTICS
 February 23, 2010
"Has 12 different friendly bacteria for better intestinal health."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 90 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
elizajoy
fromAsheville, NC
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
good stuff
 October 1, 2009
"A few years ago, I had a serious bout of C-Deficile stomach bacteria which gave me a raging case of diarrhea. Since I've been taking Primal Defense I've had no further problems. I eat pretty much what I want with no digestive problems. Highly recommended!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 90 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ArleneC
fromPennsylvania
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
EXCELLENT!
 April 23, 2009
"Love how Primal Defense has made me feel. Would highly recommend this supplement!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 90 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
magnolia
excellent
 November 22, 2007
"I love this product"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 90 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HarleyMama
fromGoodland, Kansas
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Best product recommended
 September 17, 2007
"Although I now am retired , I have worked for several healthcare providers in Arizona that recommended this product for their patients.
I found it to be of high quality, effective and priced affordable at Vitacost.com. It is so much better than products that are "cheaper" and are not as pure.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 90 Caplets
Based on the average of (11) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
4.9 / 5
4.9 / 5
11 out of 11 recommend this product