Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Reishi Mushrooms - Ganoderma Lucidum or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Reishi Mushroom Extract - Standardized -- 500 mg - 60 Capsules

All-natural high-quality mushroom extract ideal for year-round immune health support.*. What is Vitacost Reishi Mushroom Extract? Vitacost Reishi Mushroom Extract is an all-natural standardized extract of reishi mushrooms. Bioactive compounds in reishi mushrooms include polysaccharides and the immunomodulatory protein protein Ling Zhi-8 (LZ-8) both of which are believed to have important functions in the immune system.*. Mushrooms are classified as fungi (plants without roots leaves seeds or flowers that don't require sunlight to grow) rather than vegetables and have been used for both culinary and health purposes for centuries. They are large black-brown in color rich in flavor and commonly eaten in stir-fries and soups and as a meat substitute. The Reishi mushroom Ganoderma lucidum was revered in Chinese culture thousands of years ago. Known as the “elixir of life” reishi mushrooms were believed to enhance memory and bring happiness good health longevity and a good future. It wasn’t until the 1970s that resihi mushrooms began to be commercially cultivated in Japan and scientifically tested for their health-promoting properties.*.  . How does Vitacost Reishi Mushroom Extract support health? Supports healthy function of human immune cells.*. Promotes healthy function of T-cells.*. Supports the immune system’s maintenance of healthy DNA replication.*. Has antioxidant activity.*. Supports the healthy function of the male lower urinary tract.*. Why choose Vitacost Reishi Mushroom Extract? Supplies 500 mg of reishi mushroom extract per single-capsule serving. Standardized to 10% polysaccharides ensuring consistent levels of active ingredients in every dose. Contains 60 servings per bottle. Exceptional quality at an extraordinary value. About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP). .  .  .  . *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.524 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
18 out of 21(86%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Reishi Mushroom Extract - Standardized -- 500 mg - 60 Capsules
Review 1 for Vitacost Reishi Mushroom Extract - Standardized -- 500 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Jamm
Duration of use:Over 180 days
have no idea, really
 February 26, 2014
"Ok, this stuff is supposed to be good for your general health. I am generally healthy, don't really see a difference, but hey, it doesn't hurt to try."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Reishi Mushroom Extract - Standardized -- 500 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
purplelday
fromElkhart, IN
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Reishi mushrooms
 June 8, 2013
"Read that Reishi Mushrooms are the best mushrooms for health issues. So far I have not felt any better because of taking them. But have not completed the first bottle yet."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Reishi Mushroom Extract - Standardized -- 500 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Petunia
fromUpstate New York
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Wonderful Stuff!
 October 4, 2012
"I don't miss a day without Reishi. Since I've been taking this supplement...I haven't had a cold sore in a year now! Reishi Mushroom Extract has so many benefit factors, it's a "must have.
I take two every morning and feel great.
"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Reishi Mushroom Extract - Standardized -- 500 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dlhdlh
fromCoats, NC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
good quality
 August 7, 2012
"Easy to use, good quality, and is cost effective in today's economic setting."
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Reishi Mushroom Extract - Standardized -- 500 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Countrygyrl
fromQuakertown, PA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Quality Product
 June 7, 2012
"Vitacost provides a standardized Reishi product. I would highly recommend this to anyone."
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Reishi Mushroom Extract - Standardized -- 500 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vivipv
Thanks Vitacost!
 January 3, 2012
"Efective and healthy !
Thank you vitacost!
"
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Reishi Mushroom Extract - Standardized -- 500 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
spaceslides
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Family Member
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Vitacost Reishi
 October 4, 2011
"I started using Reishi when I was sick with the flu and developed a kidney infection. I was very weak and my son recommended Reishi to help me get my strength back. Reishi did help me regain my strength. I now use Vitacost Reishi daily to keep my health at its optimum. I have tried more expensive brands, but I think the vitacost brand works as well as the more expensive brands"
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Reishi Mushroom Extract - Standardized -- 500 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
raulius
fromBuenos Aire4s, Argentina
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
 August 22, 2011
"It's a very good product."
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Reishi Mushroom Extract - Standardized -- 500 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bumsa
fromColorado
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Referral source:Family Member
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
not sure
 February 9, 2011
"Starting using did not seem to work very well. Not using at this time."
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Reishi Mushroom Extract - Standardized -- 500 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dcooke48
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Excellent Product
 September 13, 2009
"Heard about Reishi and medicinal mushrooms from David Wolfe. Getting the information was one thing, finding a reputable co. to get it from is another. You guys provide a quality product, it's economical, and effective. FANTASTIC!"
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Reishi Mushroom Extract - Standardized -- 500 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kalakar
Gender:Male
The Best Choice
 August 5, 2009
"I believe that when choosing Reishi, it’s important to look for an extract standardized to at least 10% polysaccharides. Which is one of the reasons that I choose this brand. And at 500mg, this extract should be equivalent to 5000mg whole Red Reishi. Now considering that, compare the price to some other brands. In my opinion, the NSI brand is better."
+5points
11of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Reishi Mushroom Extract - Standardized -- 500 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sefer
fromMilwaukee, WI
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Definite Changes for the Better
 October 3, 2008
"A friend had beautiful skin, hair, and nails. When I asked her what she did to maintain such great health she told me that she used Reishi as a daily supplement. Although I take a multi-vitamin/mineral supplement & two herbal supplements I wanted to add Reishi to my regimen. After several weeks I find several people, whom I have not seen in a while, have complimented me on how great I am looking. I give a lot of the credit to the addition of Reishi to my diet. It is a wonderful dietary aid."
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Reishi Mushroom Extract - Standardized -- 500 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TaHeeJay
fromSalina, KS
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Potently Effective
 February 5, 2008
"Elixir of Life is no joke. Reishi mushroom has a tremendous effect, It has helped tremendously in helping me stay healthy through my competitive swim season. The restitant to physical stress is also a plus"
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Reishi Mushroom Extract - Standardized -- 500 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
depdrktrbl
this is good stuff
 August 13, 2007
"the product is great..cost awesome..and service outstanding.
its a pure product.
"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost Reishi Mushroom Extract - Standardized -- 500 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
daisyduk
best mushroom products
 May 18, 2007
"All nsi mushroom products are superior. They are a great quality and value above the rest."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Vitacost Reishi Mushroom Extract - Standardized -- 500 mg - 60 Capsules
Based on the average of (6) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
5 out of 6 recommend this product