Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

5-HTP(538)
Algae(811)
Amino Acids(1,711)
Bee Pollen(312)
Caffeine(36)
Calcium(3,669)
Celadrin(79)
Charcoal(38)
Chitosan(43)
Chlorella(160)
Choline(135)
CoQ10(2,403)
Coconut Oil(3,755)
Collagen(276)
Colostrum(174)
D-Mannose(56)
DHEA(407)
DMAE(79)
EFAs(3,527)
EpiCor(35)
FOS(2)
Fish Oil(1,482)
GABA(185)
GLA(7)
GPLC(23)
Gelatin(15)
Glycine(9)
HGH(46)
Iodine(54)
Iron(536)
Krill Oil(729)
Lecithin(249)
Lithium(6)
Lutein(358)
Lycopene(102)
MSM(418)
Melatonin(1,127)
Multivitamins(11,726)
NADH(51)
Omega-3(5,113)
Pectin(21)
Probiotics(5,551)
Propolis(72)
Pycnogenol(145)
Quercetin(129)
RNA/DNA(1)
Red Wine(11)
Relora(2)
SAMe(589)
Silica(19)
Soy(74)
Spirulina(105)
Vitamin A(148)
Vitamin B(4,958)
Vitamin C(2,858)
Vitamin D(2,626)
Vitamin E(529)
Vitamin K(303)
Yeast(62)
Zinc(364)
Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Magnesium & Malic Acid or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Source Naturals Magnesium Malate -- 625 mg - 200 Capsules

Yielding 416.5 mg Malic Acid. Suitable for Vegetarians. Hypoallergenic. Magnesium Malate is a compound of magnesium and malic acid. Malic acid is a natural fruit acid that is present in most cells in the body and is an important component of numerous enzymes key to ATP synthesis and energy production. Magnesium is an essential mineral in over 300 enzymatic reactions in metabolism. These reactions include those involved in the Krebs cycle (one of the body's main energy production processes) energy storage the breakdown of fatty acids protein synthesis DNA metabolism neurotransmitter activity and hormone regulation.
Overall rating:
4.75 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 28 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
27 out of 28(96%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Source Naturals Magnesium Malate -- 625 mg - 200 Capsules
Review 1 for Source Naturals Magnesium Malate -- 625 mg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KellyW
fromLawrenceville, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Good product for good price
 June 24, 2015
"I am pleased with this product and brand. The fact that I can get magnesium and malic acid together is convenient and this is a good dosage and price."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Source Naturals Magnesium Malate -- 625 mg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
robarb
fromMacon, Ga
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Reason for Stomach Upset
 June 9, 2015
"Stomach upset is not an effect of a particular BRAND but of the AMOUNT you are taking,.....some folks need more than others. Think of "Milk of Magnesia"....it has a laxative effect (it contains magnesium). When loose bowels occur, back off on the amount you take until you reach that optimal dosage (no loose stools). We all need magnesium........just some folks need more than others. Hope this clears up the issue. I have learned this from watching YOUR HEALTH WITH DR RICHARD AND CINDY BECKER on CTN and WHT. This is a wonderful and very informative/educational health program. Well worth watching!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Source Naturals Magnesium Malate -- 625 mg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Susiekc
fromKansas City MO
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Only one negative aspect
 June 4, 2015
"This is the only magnesium supplement I have found to not upset my stomach, but I'm disappointed that the capsule is made from beef gelatin instead of a vegetable based gelatin."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Source Naturals Magnesium Malate -- 625 mg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ramkitkat
fromLouisville KY
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Very helpful product
 January 27, 2015
"I've been using this product for the past 3 years. It's been very helpful to me and I wouldn't be without it."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Source Naturals Magnesium Malate -- 625 mg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
nanak
fromScottsbluff,NE.
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
works for me
 April 29, 2014
"I can't use some forms of magnesium without "issues". This is the one form that doesn't cause stomach distress for me."
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Source Naturals Magnesium Malate -- 625 mg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
PaulC
fromTexas
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Great Product
 February 21, 2014
"A good way to get your daily requirement of Magnesium. This is a high quality product."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Source Naturals Magnesium Malate -- 625 mg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tgrdoc
fromOrlando, Fl
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
One Source Magnesium Malate
 January 21, 2014
"The product is an excellent product after many others tried in the past were less optimal. They are easier to swallow and very tolerable. Best source of mag malate I've found."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Source Naturals Magnesium Malate -- 625 mg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pennilahn
fromNM
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
 December 15, 2013
"Excellent product for a good price."
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Source Naturals Magnesium Malate -- 625 mg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
idahoyogi
fromBoise, Idaho
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
essential mineral!
 September 5, 2013
"Magnesium malate is a highly absorbable form of magnesium and assists in many processes in our bodies, including muscle relaxation. this seems a high quality product for a decent price. I take 2 before bed, it really helps me sleep!"
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Source Naturals Magnesium Malate -- 625 mg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
David52
Great support for the nervous system.
 August 15, 2013
"I have found this product to be easy to digest in the higher range of dosages without any discomfort at the same time delivering benefits from this very important mineral for overall general well being."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Source Naturals Magnesium Malate -- 625 mg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LOVEBEINGHEALTHY
fromWetumpka, Alabama
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
My favorite magnesium form
 June 10, 2013
"Two of these a day work good for me along with the magnesium I get with my other supplement."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Source Naturals Magnesium Malate -- 625 mg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
tccali
Easy on stomach.
 November 2, 2012
"I bought this hoping it would be absorbed quicker and be easier on my stomach than some other magnesium supplements I have tried in the past. So far so good. A little pricey but worth it."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Source Naturals Magnesium Malate -- 625 mg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromCoeur D Alene, Idaho
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Essential Magnesium
 November 16, 2011
"This is an excellent form (malate) of magnesium, readily usable by the body. The "oxide" form found in many lower quality mineral supplements is not easily absorbed and can create internal "rusting" and free radical damage. I find this product works well for me and my wife, and it is an excellent value as well."
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Source Naturals Magnesium Malate -- 625 mg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
greenman
Great Source for Magnesium
 October 27, 2011
"Less harsh than other sources for those with low blood magnesium levels."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Source Naturals Magnesium Malate -- 625 mg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dalia2011
fromQueens, NY
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
good purchase
 October 25, 2011
"My doctor recommended and I can see why. I see the difference."
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Source Naturals Magnesium Malate -- 625 mg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Airmike
fromGreenacres, WA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Quality ingredients!
 July 10, 2010
"I was very pleased to find this fine product with Magnesium Malate as the main ingredient rather than many lesser quality Magnesium products which use Magnesium "OXIDE".
This product has performed as well for me as magnesium which I have paid much more for ... I couldn't be more satisfied ... Thank you Source Naturals and Vitacost for another excellent quality supplement at a fair price!"
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Source Naturals Magnesium Malate -- 625 mg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Linnie5152
fromOhio
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Good product
 July 10, 2010
"I would reorder this product. My only complaint is the size of the capsules. They are larger than I would prefer. Seems to be doing the job of balancing the CA & Vitamin D. I won't know for sure until it's time for more blood tests."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Source Naturals Magnesium Malate -- 625 mg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
naturalchick2
nice product
 September 7, 2009
"My kids are able to swallow these capsules easily. It helps them sleep good at night. I know Magnesium Malate is one of the best absorbed magnesium supplements available. Magnesium is one of the minerals most people are deficient in. This product was great for us."
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Source Naturals Magnesium Malate -- 625 mg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mijas
fromIreland
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Good quality product
 June 11, 2009
"This is a great quality product, helps digestion & also with keeping things moving as they should. Good value. I take 2 capsules 3 x day. You need to take a multivitamin/mineral supplement along with this so you dont have an imbalance of minerals in the body."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Source Naturals Magnesium Malate -- 625 mg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jobe
fromMA
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Most Absorbable Magnesium
 August 26, 2008
"After doing some research, I found that the magnesium MALATE form of magnesium is absorbed best. The most common form in many supplements is magnesium OXIDE. The oxide form has a very low absorption rate. So low, that it is often used to relieve constipation because it draws water INTO the intestines. That's good if you're taking magnesium to be more regular. But if you want to absorb more of it, the malate form is the way to go.
I also chose the CAPSULES because they absorb better than tablets.
Just one downside : it takes 6 capsules to get your RDA of magnesium. But because it's such high quality, I only take 3. That way, the bottle lasts over 2 months.
"
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
1 2 next