Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Zinc or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost L-OptiZinc® -- 30 mg - 200 Capsules

Premium form of zinc. Supports a healthy immune system.* Also provides antioxidant protection.*. What is Vitacost L-OptiZinc? Vitacost L-OptiZinc is a unique patented from of zinc. It consists of the mineral zinc bound to the natural and more bioavailable “L” form of the amino acid methionine (L-methionine). Zinc is necessary for proper reproduction growth and development. It’s required for the function of approximately 300 enzymes in the body and it plays a part in numerous body processes including proper immune function eye health and regulation of appetite taste and smell.*. Zinc is also an antioxidant meaning it helps protect healthy cells from the potentially damaging effects of free radicals. Free radicals are unstable molecules that attack healthy cells damaging their structure and DNA. They’re believed to contribute to the aging process. Free radicals are generated in the body as a result of natural body processes (such as breathing and digestion) but also from exposure to environmental toxins (including ultraviolet light radiation smoking and air pollution). Antioxidants such as zinc neutralize free radicals helping to protect healthy cells.*.  . How does Vitacost L-OptiZinc support health? Zinc is necessary for the formation of superoxide dismutase (SOD) which is an important free radical scavenger in the body.*. Supports healthy protein and DNA synthesis.*. Zinc deficiency in the elderly can often accompany age-related immune decline.*. Supports prostate tissue health sperm motility and testosterone metabolism.*. Zinc is also involved in healthy insulin production.*. Why choose Vitacost L-OptiZinc? Features a patented premium form of zinc that’s highly bioavailable. Contains 200 one-capsule servings per bottle. About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP). .  .  .  . * These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.861 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(36 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 36 reviews
5 Stars
31
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
35 out of 36(97%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost L-OptiZinc® -- 30 mg - 200 Capsules
Review 1 for Vitacost L-OptiZinc® -- 30 mg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bss74
fromIowa
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great product
 January 12, 2014
"Excellent quality"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost L-OptiZinc® -- 30 mg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
k3wf3w
fromAlberta, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Great Zink, Great Price
 August 11, 2013
"Seems like a quality vitamin. It is especially important for men to get enough Zinc. Just make sure you don't take it on an empty stomach, because like most every other zinc supplement I have tried it makes me nauseous otherwise."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost L-OptiZinc® -- 30 mg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Veneta2
fromHalifax, Ma
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Has L-methionine
 May 7, 2013
"My doctor recommended zinc with L-methionine and I fruitlessly searched for it until I came to the Vitacost website. I received my shipment quickly and I will come back to Vitacost for the zinc and for other vitamins. Thank you!"
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost L-OptiZinc® -- 30 mg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TonyX
fromLawndale, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
 December 19, 2012
"excelent product at a great price. highly recommend"
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost L-OptiZinc® -- 30 mg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Voltaire
fromMontgomery County, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
L-OptiZinc is the best zinc!!
 November 2, 2011
"You can feel this quality zinc"
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost L-OptiZinc® -- 30 mg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
gudtugo
fromTampa, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
More Effective
 August 22, 2011
"The 30 mg OptiZinc seems to be more effective than a 50 mg version that I was taking before. The "Opti" form delivers more zinc to my body.
The 30 mg strength is more in line with a healthy amount of zinc for an average adult. I also like the 200 count size that lasts over half a year."
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost L-OptiZinc® -- 30 mg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
bigwind
fromWest Coast, FL
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Satisfied
 June 5, 2011
"I purchased this product because the price was the best for the dosage I wanted to take. I don't know if it is being effective because I don't feel any different, but I have read in several places that it is important to supplement with zinc."
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost L-OptiZinc® -- 30 mg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aware
fromMichigan
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Works and Good Value
 April 17, 2011
"It works comparable to other quality zinc supplements I've taken, but this seems to be the better value for the price."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost L-OptiZinc® -- 30 mg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mcoker
fromAustin, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:61-180 days
Great form of Zinc
 August 6, 2010
"Optizinc is great, 30mg is the correct serving, and this is a cheap form. Take it with magnesium and b6 after working out."
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost L-OptiZinc® -- 30 mg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RZMT
fromQuincy, MA
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Effective form of zinc
 March 7, 2010
"Very effective. Have a smell but not bad. Definitely would recommend it to anyone who need zinc supplement."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost L-OptiZinc® -- 30 mg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tullfan69
fromGreenville, SC
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
much more effective zinc
 December 18, 2009
"I tried regular zinc, with no results, however L optizinc has definitley improved my mood!
Great product!"
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost L-OptiZinc® -- 30 mg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BigErn
fromLa Porte, IN
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
good product
 October 18, 2009
"not sure if its the best zinc available but it is a good value."
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost L-OptiZinc® -- 30 mg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
trey2009
Best product
 May 23, 2009
"Easy to absorb. However, you should drink it with meal. I skipped having meal and then it really made me sick"
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost L-OptiZinc® -- 30 mg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
JRTsDoItAll
fromMN
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Zinc Methionine found!!
 February 13, 2009
"First off, this form of zinc was HARD to find!! I'm glad I found it and it seems to be working. Good value for the money, quality ingredients."
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost L-OptiZinc® -- 30 mg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jdubyah
fromJefferson City, MO
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:61-180 days
NSI L-OptiZinc
 December 29, 2008
"I've tried several zinc products, but always with the fear that my copper levels might be depleted, but not with this product. The value is incredible too."
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost L-OptiZinc® -- 30 mg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
shakeeb
frommontana
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
the product is based on science
 October 22, 2008
"best deal you can get across the net. I feel sense of well being when I have one in the morning after breakfast .I would recommend this product along with NSI selenium select together. thet are powerful antioxidant."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost L-OptiZinc® -- 30 mg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
AWest
fromCT
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Best form and price!
 September 10, 2008
"Look at any medical book/article on zinc and see the benefits of additional zinc to your diet. Take this and you will see and feel them."
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost L-OptiZinc® -- 30 mg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Harry60
fromCharleston,SC
Age:75+
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Good Zinc Product
 July 25, 2008
"I take zinc because it helps protate problems and I can tell when I don't take it. It is well absorbed."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost L-OptiZinc® -- 30 mg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jobe
fromSturbridge,MA
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:30-60 days
Best Zinc Supplement Available
 December 14, 2007
"After doing some research, I found out that zinc in the form of l-methionine is the most absorbable. That's the form contained in this product. Also, I chose capsules because they generally disintergrate better than tablets in the stomach. Zinc has many functions in the body, especially for testosterone production.One thing though, don't take zinc with meals or supplements that contain a high amount of calcium. Calcium can inhibit the absorption of ALL zinc supplements. Some sources even suggest to take zinc l-methionine on an empty stomach."
+27points
28of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost L-OptiZinc® -- 30 mg - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
PCDC
Suggestion
 September 2, 2007
"The bottles are too large for the quantity. I would suggest making them smaller. It will save on the environment, shipping and space in the cupboards."
+3points
16of 29voted this as helpful.
1 2 next