Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

5-HTP(494)
Amino Acids(1,296)
Calcium(3,449)
CoQ10(2,306)
Coconut Oil(3,069)
EFAs(3,308)
Fish Oil(1,443)
Iron(516)
Krill Oil(715)
Magnesium(1,637)
Melatonin(990)
Multivitamins(10,705)
Omega-3(4,640)
Algae(721)
Bee Pollen(260)
Caffeine(85)
Celadrin(78)
Charcoal(83)
Chitosan(40)
Chlorella(132)
Choline(126)
Collagen(209)
Colostrum(172)
D-Mannose(43)
DHEA(365)
DMAE(74)
EFAs(105)
EpiCor(28)
FOS(2)
GABA(153)
GLA(6)
GPLC(27)
Gelatin(13)
Glycine(7)
HGH(36)
Iodine(41)
L-Lysine(142)
L-Theanine(194)
LPP(39)
Lecithin(220)
Lithium(3)
Lutein(312)
Lycopene(90)
MSM(371)
NADH(46)
Pectin(38)
Propolis(69)
Pycnogenol(130)
Quercetin(122)
RNA/DNA(1)
Red Wine(10)
Relora(2)
Silica(17)
Soy(97)
Taurine(75)
Yeast(71)
Probiotics(4,708)
SAMe(538)
Spirulina(79)
Vitamin A(128)
Vitamin B(4,277)
Vitamin C(2,597)
Vitamin D(2,273)
Vitamin E(460)
Vitamin K(245)
Whole Foods(1,130)
Zinc(333)
Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Taurine or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost L-Taurine -- 850 mg - 180 Capsules

Supports a healthy central nervous system and offers neuroprotective support.* Also an antioxidant.*. What is L-taurine? L-taurine is a sulfur-based amino acid. It’s a non-essential amino acid meaning it can be produced by the body. L-taurine is believed to be hard for infants to metabolize and is therefore added to infant formulas.*. Taurine is found in the excitable tissues of the body where it helps stabilize cell membranes of the central nervous system such as the brain and heart.*. Taurine also appears to have some antioxidant and detoxifying properties and is used to support eye and blood vessel health.*. How does L-taurine support health? Supports a healthy central nervous system and is neuroprotective.*. Acts as a membrane stabilizer.*. Supports antioxidant activity in the brain and heart.*. Supports natural regulation of calcium.*. Why choose Vitacost L-Taurine? Supplies 850 mg of L-taurine per single-capsule serving. Each bottle contains 180 servings. Exceptional quality at an extraordinary value. About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP).  .  .  . *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.545 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
21 out of 22(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost L-Taurine -- 850 mg - 180 Capsules
Review 1 for Vitacost L-Taurine -- 850 mg - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
BigDaddyZ
fromEndwell, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
works well
 April 4, 2014
"Still very early, but promising. Happy with this purchase."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost L-Taurine -- 850 mg - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
abcxyz
from1292 Brookview Ave., Westlake Village CA, 91361
Age:75+
Gender:Male
Been beneficial for many years
 July 17, 2013
"This product was recommended by a doctor that had a salesroom for vitamins and supplements, but was very costly. The supplement was very good to me, and when I found out about Vitacost and your cheaper prices, this product from you has been both beneficial and cheap. Thank you."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost L-Taurine -- 850 mg - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
biggdogee
fromWashington state
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great quality and pricing!!
 June 2, 2013
"I've used Vitacost for my supplement purchases for many years and have always been very pleased with their products!
I've seen them reviewed in Consumer Reports and ranked very highly by them. What's not to love!
Laura
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost L-Taurine -- 850 mg - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
SavedbyJesus
fromCharlote, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
can't tell
 June 3, 2010
"I take supps for athletics and working out to restore my body, This item I could tell nothing from so hard to say if it is doing anything to my body since I don't notice...."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost L-Taurine -- 850 mg - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Deitrich
fromTucson, AZ
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Energy plus
 February 25, 2010
"I use Taurine for two reason, to manage energy before and after workouts and to keep my mind sharp as I take seizure disorder medication. I am always sharp and ready for action. At a 60 year old Fitness Competitor, trainer and Zumba instructor I need all the edge I can get."
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost L-Taurine -- 850 mg - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
breezer
fromflorida
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
NSI L-Taurine -- 850 mg - 180 Capsules
 November 28, 2009
"this product as with all NSI
products is top quality...i only buy NSI when i have a choice.
and L Taurine is something a friend has used for 16 years and she found this product to be so good she referred it to me.. i have been taking it to help me sleep...it is relaxing
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost L-Taurine -- 850 mg - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
breezer63
fromFlorida
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
memory enhancer
 October 10, 2008
"this is great for helping me keep a clear mind
and i can't say enough good things about it.
i won't be without it.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost L-Taurine -- 850 mg - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Therby
fromOregon
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great product at a great price.
 October 9, 2008
"Not only can I tell it is good for my heart but I take for concentration at work as well."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost L-Taurine -- 850 mg - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
glenium
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
 September 11, 2008
"I find this useful as an add-on amino acid during the day."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost L-Taurine -- 850 mg - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
swamiLA
fromLA, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
So far so good
 August 30, 2008
"It seems to work quite well. I've not been using it for too long, so I would wait to give it two thumbs up."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost L-Taurine -- 850 mg - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jocvar
fromStrongsville, OH
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
good product
 May 18, 2008
"I take one every morning and I think it helps to keep me regular. It gives me energy too."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost L-Taurine -- 850 mg - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
clong
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Energy in a capsule
 July 19, 2007
"This has really given me a mental boost. I take one every morning and it really has seemed to help my mood/energy level."
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost L-Taurine -- 850 mg - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
corgi
 May 27, 2007
"Large capsules"
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost L-Taurine -- 850 mg - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nash
Excellent
 May 7, 2007
"Best quality for the price on the market. And its effectiveness is consistant. Never had any problems with the NSA brand L-Taurine I purchase from Vita Cost."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Vitacost L-Taurine -- 850 mg - 180 Capsules
Based on the average of (8) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
4.9 / 5
4.9 / 5
8 out of 8 recommend this product