Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

5-HTP(498)
Amino Acids(1,322)
Calcium(3,472)
CoQ10(2,329)
Coconut Oil(3,173)
EFAs(3,336)
Fish Oil(1,463)
Iron(525)
Krill Oil(725)
Magnesium(1,671)
Melatonin(1,012)
Multivitamins(10,801)
Omega-3(4,669)
Algae(733)
Bee Pollen(270)
Caffeine(85)
Celadrin(78)
Charcoal(83)
Chitosan(40)
Chlorella(135)
Choline(126)
Collagen(215)
Colostrum(172)
D-Mannose(43)
DHEA(372)
DMAE(75)
EFAs(105)
EpiCor(30)
FOS(2)
GABA(158)
GLA(7)
GPLC(27)
Gelatin(13)
Glycine(7)
HGH(38)
Iodine(41)
L-Lysine(144)
L-Theanine(198)
LPP(39)
Lecithin(221)
Lithium(3)
Lutein(321)
Lycopene(93)
MSM(371)
NADH(46)
Pectin(38)
Propolis(70)
Pycnogenol(134)
Quercetin(124)
RNA/DNA(1)
Red Wine(10)
Relora(2)
Silica(17)
Soy(98)
Taurine(78)
Yeast(71)
Probiotics(4,784)
SAMe(542)
Spirulina(81)
Vitamin A(131)
Vitamin B(4,364)
Vitamin C(2,641)
Vitamin D(2,312)
Vitamin E(473)
Vitamin K(251)
Whole Foods(1,164)
Zinc(340)
Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Alpha Lipoic Acid - ALA or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 600 mg - 60 Capsules

Powerful antioxidant to help protect the body from free radical damage.*. What is alpha lipoic acid? Alpha lipoic acid (ALA) is a natural compound that functions as a co-factor in vital energy-producing reactions.* The body produces very little ALA on its own and it is difficult to obtain sufficient quantities from diet. ALA is well known as a powerful antioxidant.* It has been called a “universal antioxidant” because it is effective in water-based substances such as blood while its reduced metabolite dihydrolipoic acid (DHLA) is effective in fatty tissues and membranes.*. How does alpha lipoic acid support health? May promote cardiovascular health by protecting against free radical damage.*. Enhances the antioxidant activity of vitamins C and E and coenzyme Q10. May increase levels of glutathione the body’s most important antioxidant.*. Why choose Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid? Contains 60 servings per bottle. Exceptional quality at an extraordinary value. About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP).  .  .  . *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.45 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(40 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 40 reviews
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
38 out of 40(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 600 mg - 60 Capsules
Review 1 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 600 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
JaneyB
fromCalifornia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great to get a 600 mg pill
 August 20, 2014
"I need 600 mg a day and taking six pills has been a pain... so this worked out perfectly for me."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 600 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
dustycm
fromTexas
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
This product has worked well for me.
 March 3, 2013
"I have used this product for some time now and feel that it has helped me. I have been healthier this winter and feel this has helped to keep me so. I would recommend it."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 600 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Monito
fromLos Angeles
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
 February 15, 2013
"I bought this for my sister to loose weight and she is slowly
loosing without diat change or excercise.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 600 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
bebecakes
fromlos angeles,ca
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
try
 January 14, 2013
"i bought 2 bottles of this ,i notice skin is more supple..have to take this everyday from now on..with vit c 1000"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 600 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
gcjfine
fromDunlap, Tn
Age:35-44
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
 September 25, 2011
"Great product! Great price!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 600 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yuyito
fromUnited States
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
 July 27, 2011
"I have been taking alpha lipoic acid for years. I have just sarted buying from Vitacost."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 600 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
qamiel
fromNorthwestern South Carolina
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Pharmacist
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
 May 4, 2011
"I find excellent quality at an affordable price. I always check here before I buy supplements."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 600 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bonster
fromAtlanta, Ga
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
NSI Alpha Lipoic Acid
 December 7, 2010
"The quality, prices and customer service is excellent. I received in a timely manner. Thank You"
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 600 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
soycoffee
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Lacks effective amount of produce
 December 2, 2009
"Like many other NSI products, this is seems to be at 65% full, advertised strength. It's cheap, though."
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 600 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RicknGay
fromTooele, UT
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great stuff
 November 22, 2009
"This stuff has really helped both my wifes and my foot pain!!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 600 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fh28
frombaghdad, iraq
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
easy to use
 September 17, 2009
"i've noticed a difference and i've only been using this product for a few weeks. will continue to use and see long term benefits."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 600 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
jwelston
fromVirginia
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
good value
 February 7, 2009
"I trust NSI. Very good price and quality"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 600 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Volleypony
fromLos Angeles
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Family Member
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Good value
 November 29, 2008
"I really like the product but am researching what an effective dosage is. I think I read something about 200 mg being recommended. I find that my urine smells pretty acrid almost immediately after taking. I don't know if that's normal or if it's the excess being eliminated."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 600 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
1DrumGuy
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
NSI ALA 600mg
 October 16, 2008
"Good product. Easy to take."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 600 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ohio
Great value
 June 3, 2008
"Great value for the strength. I just started taking and am hopeful the results will be positive"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 600 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
slvrsnypr
fromnc
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:Over 180 days
 May 17, 2008
"For bodybuilding or for any endurance training that is, here is your KEY to making creatine more effective on a pre workout plan."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 600 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Silly
fromChillicothe, Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
 May 15, 2008
"I purchased this product for clearer and younger looking skin. I feel it has worked. It gives me a clearer and cleaner complexion. I have reordered this several times. I have read several articles on how Lipoic Acid is great for your skin and I try to order only NSI products. I have read it's also effective in maintaining a healthy weight. I will continue with this product."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 600 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
landcpaint
fromAustin, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
ALA
 January 16, 2008
"I just started using this today. I have purchased this from another supplier in the past so it is not new to me. I can only give it the 4 stars on some of the catergories since I just started with this particular brand. This is actually a higher dosage than what we had been taking but again as with the other products I have purchased from Vitacost.....much better price!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 600 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
grannygood
ALA HELPED ME.
 August 16, 2007
"I experienced side effects from taking statin drugs about two years ago. It leaft me with numbness and burning in my feet Then I heard ALA helped with this problem. Shopped around and bought different brands and then came upon your web sight purchased your brand and have been using it every day, can't go a day without it."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 600 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
nickinurse
fromSan Antonio, TX
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Best Pricing Purchase
 April 4, 2007
"Quality product for and excellent pricing."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next