Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

5-HTP(487)
Amino Acids(1,285)
Calcium(3,255)
CoQ10(2,223)
Coconut Oil(2,841)
EFAs(3,291)
Fish Oil(1,385)
Iron(493)
Krill Oil(672)
Magnesium(1,527)
Melatonin(959)
Multi-vitamins(10,407)
Omega-3(4,478)
Algae(696)
Bee Pollen(241)
Caffeine(29)
Celadrin(77)
Charcoal(79)
Chitosan(38)
Chlorella(118)
Choline(119)
Collagen(192)
Colostrum(168)
D-Mannose(38)
DHEA(357)
DMAE(73)
EFAs(103)
EpiCor(28)
FOS(2)
GABA(144)
GLA(6)
GPLC(27)
Gelatin(11)
Glycine(7)
HGH(17)
Iodine(36)
L-Lysine(146)
L-Theanine(188)
LPP(37)
Lecithin(209)
Lithium(8)
Lutein(301)
Lycopene(90)
MSM(365)
NADH(43)
Pectin(37)
Propolis(66)
Pycnogenol(128)
Quercetin(121)
RNA/DNA(1)
Red Wine(10)
Relora(1)
Silica(17)
Soy(92)
Taurine(69)
Yeast(113)
Probiotics(4,445)
SAMe(521)
Spirulina(74)
Vitamin A(116)
Vitamin B(4,054)
Vitamin C(2,438)
Vitamin D(2,148)
Vitamin E(442)
Vitamin K(225)
Whole Foods(1,016)
Zinc(323)
Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Alpha Lipoic Acid - ALA or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules

Powerful antioxidant to help protect the body from free radical damage.*. What is alpha lipoic acid? Alpha lipoic acid (ALA) is a natural compound that functions as a co-factor in vital energy-producing reactions.* The body produces very little ALA on its own and it is difficult to obtain sufficient quantities from diet. ALA is well known as a powerful antioxidant.* It has been called a “universal antioxidant” because it is effective in water-based substances such as blood while its reduced metabolite dihydrolipoic acid (DHLA) is effective in fatty tissues and membranes.*. How does alpha lipoic acid support health? May promote cardiovascular health by protecting against free radical damage.*. Enhances the antioxidant activity of vitamins C and E and coenzyme Q10. May increase levels of glutathione the body’s most important antioxidant.*. Why choose Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid? Contains 120 servings per bottle. Exceptional quality at an extraordinary value. About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP). .  .  .  . *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.758 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 33 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
32 out of 33(97%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
Review 1 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
JaguarJ
fromOsaka, Japan
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Good and reasonable.
 March 27, 2011
"I saw alpha lipo acid products on TV program and looked for them in Japan but I couldn't find the products at reasonable prices, then I found this site and could buy this at reasonable price."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
ReggieVonTaintStain
fromReggstation, Reggstate
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:30-60 days
Mom likes it
 February 19, 2010
"My mom wanted it and likes it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Audrey1009
fromCincinnati, OH
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
I keep this in stock
 February 19, 2010
"I keep this in stock and a part of my daily vitamin regimen. At the price here on Vitacost.com it's easy to do. I even buy one for my mother when I restock. I have to say I feel better when I take and and my skin is much softer. I went without it for a brief moment awhile back until I noticed a difference in my skin. I love this product especially at this low price."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
metta1951
fromDamascus, Pa.
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
good price for this kind
 February 19, 2009
"I have decided to give NSI brand a try and so far so good. Will continue to buy this product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dancingpug
fromnashville, tn
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
had success with this product!
 August 26, 2008
"I take this product on empty stomach for best utilization--and really notice a difference ! I also take it with B-2 and acetyl l-carnitine. a great value-and this brand has good absorption and a good price.."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
phlembob50
fromBelleview, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Unique Antioxidant
 February 7, 2008
"This product is unique in that it free other antioxidants to continue doing their thing. I use this with fish oil because absorption is necessary. Natural Vitamin E has been found useful in the absorption of Alpha Lipoic Acid. When your body has a good balance of Natural Vitamins diffused throughout your blood you utilize all of the best you can get in supplements."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lefti4God
fromLos Angeles area, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Little Capsule BIG benefits
 September 13, 2007
"This capsule almost seems too small to pack the 100 mg of ALA [Alpha Lipoic Acid] into it, but it does. It may be little, but it provides me with BIG Benefits---I feel better & healthier, with less daily aches & pains, & I have more energy. I recommend this low cost / high benefit supplement!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Russell
fromMurray, Utah
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
Powerful & Affordable
 August 23, 2007
"I needed a potent antioxidant that wouldn't break me and after a bit of investigation I settled on alpha lipoic acid (which I take along with acetyl L-carnitine)."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
babyanj
fromMakati City, Philippines
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Great Purchase for Price & Quality
 July 31, 2007
"My friends and I found out about this much needed anti-oxidant and looked for alternatives. NSI sounded good because it was natural and now we're really glad that we chose this brand. I live in the Philippines so we got together and combined resources to purchase and fortunately, time, money & effort hasn't been wasted at all.
NSI ALA makes one looks fresh even after a few hours (or none) of sleep, and fair or not gives one a rosy glow."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
netzero
Alpha Lipoic Acid
 July 24, 2007
"One of the best antioxidants on the market, and very inexpensive. Best taken with acetyl-L-carnitine for maximum effects of anti-aging."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RushWoman
Security for my liver
 July 13, 2007
"I added alpha lipoic acid to my self-care regimen when I moved to CA's central valley. A lot of chemicals in the air from all the agriculture. I wanted to support my liver and my body with all the pollution in the air, too. I began taking ALA to help achieve this objective. Even though I no longer live there, I will continue taking it for its anti-oxidant benefits and every liver can always use a good friend."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid -- 100 mg - 120 Capsules
Based on the average of (22) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
4.7 / 5
4.7 / 5
22 out of 22 recommend this product