Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

5-HTP(565)
Algae(892)
Amino Acids(2,130)
Bee Pollen(328)
Caffeine(39)
Celadrin(82)
Charcoal(102)
Chitosan(43)
Chlorella(190)
Choline(144)
CoQ10(2,644)
Coconut Oil(4,150)
Collagen(347)
Colostrum(185)
D-Mannose(52)
DHEA(442)
DMAE(67)
EFAs(3,719)
EpiCor(37)
FOS(2)
Fish Oil(1,650)
GABA(195)
GLA(9)
Gelatin(18)
Glycine(13)
HGH(44)
Iodine(59)
Krill Oil(764)
Lecithin(279)
Letter Vitamins(12,606)
Lithium(6)
Lutein(401)
Lycopene(107)
MSM(443)
Melatonin(1,260)
Minerals(9,021)
Multivitamins(12,962)
NADH(53)
Omega-3(5,273)
Pectin(22)
Probiotics(6,293)
Propolis(82)
Pycnogenol(150)
Quercetin(136)
RNA/DNA(1)
Red Wine(12)
Relora(2)
SAMe(620)
Silica(21)
Soy(80)
Spirulina(112)
Yeast(64)
Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Plus Biotin or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid with Biotin -- 300 mg - 60 Capsules

Dual-nutrient formula combines 300 mg of alpha lipoic acid with 1000% of the Daily Value for biotin per single-capsule serving. What is Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid with Biotin? Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid with Biotin is a combination formula supplying 300 mg of alpha lipoic acid plus 3000 mcg of biotin per single-capsule serving. Alpha lipoic acid (ALA) is a natural compound that functions as a co-factor in vital energy-producing reactions.* The body produces very little ALA on its own and it is difficult to obtain sufficient quantities from diet. Biotin is an essential B vitamin also known as vitamin H. It is a water-soluble vitamin that is not stored in the body and must be continually replaced. How do alpha lipoic acid and biotin support health? ALA is well known as a powerful antioxidant.*. It has been called a “universal antioxidant” because it is effective in water-based substances such as blood while its reduced metabolite dihydrolipoic acid (DHLA) is effective in fatty tissues and membranes.*. ALA enhances the antioxidant activity of vitamins C and E and coenzyme Q10. ALA may increase levels of glutathione the body’s most important antioxidant.*. ALA may promote cardiovascular health by protecting against free radical damage.*. Biotin supports the breakdown of fatty acids into energy for the body.*. Biotin supports the action of enzymes that affect the skin and intestinal tract.*. Biotin may help strengthen brittle nails.*. Why choose Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid with Biotin? Supplies both ALA and biotin in one easy-to-take capsule. Supplies 1000% of the Daily Value for biotin per each single-capsule serving. Contains 60 servings per bottle. Great value! About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP). .  .  .  . *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.857 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
14 out of 14(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid with Biotin -- 300 mg - 60 Capsules
Review 1 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid with Biotin -- 300 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NaOhana
fromUSA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
I have continued to buy this
 April 3, 2016
"I like that it has biotin as part of the ingredients, since biotin gets lowered from ala. When the bogo is in effect, it is a good buy.
Service with Vitacost is great and shipping reliable.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid with Biotin -- 300 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Katerhead
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
very good
 March 25, 2016
"Just starting this product and I like it!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid with Biotin -- 300 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LuluOne
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
I take 1 daily
 November 20, 2015
"Good ratio. Love Vitacost Brand!"
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid with Biotin -- 300 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cloneuno
fromTexas
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great product
 July 9, 2013
"Great pricing and after only 3 weeks my hair seems healthier."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid with Biotin -- 300 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TOMBEC
GREAT PRODUCT
 May 19, 2011
"THIS PRODUCT HAS REALLY HELPED MY HAIR AND MY NAILS."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid with Biotin -- 300 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LadyKinster
fromNellis AFB
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
love it
 October 21, 2009
"i was just looking for biotin so my hair wouldn't fall out as much... not only has my hair stopped falling out as bad, but my cravings have gone down considerably... wasn't expecting that... what a wonderful bonus!"
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid with Biotin -- 300 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lgcangel7
fromBald Knob, AR
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
GOOD!
 June 7, 2009
"Hair thick and strong with energy up!"
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid with Biotin -- 300 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Juneko
fromHonolulu, Hawaii
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great product
 November 22, 2008
"My PharmMD recommended this particular product after looking at my meds and supplements, and said I absolutely need this supplement. It works great and I won't stop using it!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid with Biotin -- 300 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mclan
fromSan Diego CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
This is the best value Alpha Lipoic on the market
 May 11, 2008
"Since I've not taken any other Alpha Lipoic w/biotin than NSI's, I have nothing to compare it to. However, I believe it's doing the job, based on what my doc tells me. He cautioned that I buy only pharm. grade supplements, as they are the purest and have the best absorability.
I have researched NSI thoroughly, and believe they turn out some of the highest quality vitamins and supplements, plus having their items tested by independent labs."
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid with Biotin -- 300 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
ForTheHealthofIt
fromToledo, OH
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great for Hair and Skin
 October 22, 2007
"I tried to tell myself that I did not need nearly this much biotin. I tried an alternative in a lower dose. My hair and skin suffered while I took the lower dose. I have now come back to this product."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid with Biotin -- 300 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
2pirouette
great for the adrenals & cheap
 July 16, 2007
"I love this easy, tiny, effective supplement. It's great for adrenal support with the higher dose of Biotin and of course the Alpha Lipoic Acid - great combo. The capsule is very small as is the price. Excellent. I also like the NSI Biotin 5g which I took before I switched to this one (to get the added benefit of the Alpha Lipoic Acid)."
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid with Biotin -- 300 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
vitagretch
Works as expected
 July 2, 2007
"I purchased this in combination with other products to maintain glucose levels throughout the day. One dose in the morning and one in the evening does the job. There are no fluctuations in glucose levels, therefore, no hunger pangs, no desire to snack, no cravings, etc. Excellent product and allergen free. I highly recommend this product along with Chromate and Rhodiola."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid with Biotin -- 300 mg - 60 Capsules
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
2 out of 2 recommend this product