Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop SAMe or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Source Naturals Double Strength SAMe -- 400 mg - 30 Tablets

S-adenosyl-L-methionine. Supports Joint Comfort Function and Mobility. Source Naturals SAMe is a stable bioavailable form of S-adenosyl-L-methionine. These tablets are enteric coated and blister packed to prevent breakdown and inactivation of the ingredients. Dozens of clinical studies have demonstrated that SAMe supports joint comfort function and mobility in the spine hips and knees. It is important to the joints because of its critical role in cartilage formation. Studies also show that SAMe helps support a positive outlook. It is able to cross the blood-brain barrier where it affects the synthesis and activation of various proteins such as neurotransmitters. SAMe is known as a "methyl donor." This means that it works by giving up a piece of itself (a methyl group consisting of one carbon and three hydrogen atoms) to other molecules. Methylation plays a part in many critical cellular functions. SAMe is present in every living cell in the body. However levels of SAMe tend to decline with age.
Overall rating:
4.625 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
23 out of 24(96%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Source Naturals Double Strength SAMe -- 400 mg - 30 Tablets
Review 1 for Source Naturals Double Strength SAMe -- 400 mg - 30 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sega
Age:75+
Gender:Female
good for joints
 July 13, 2014
"eases pain in joints and as a side effect it also uplifts my mood"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Source Naturals Double Strength SAMe -- 400 mg - 30 Tablets
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
CountryGirly
fromBennett, Co
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Quality product
 February 5, 2014
"I really notice when I don't take the product more than I notice that I do take it. Make sure to take with out food."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Source Naturals Double Strength SAMe -- 400 mg - 30 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tanguera
fromSan Francsico Bay area
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
reliable brand
 August 21, 2013
"There are perhaps a dozen brands of 400 mg SAME out there. I have found only a couple that are effective and this is one of them."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Source Naturals Double Strength SAMe -- 400 mg - 30 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bookkeep
fromSeattle
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
 October 5, 2011
"Definitely helps with joint pain, plus the mood support is good"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Source Naturals Double Strength SAMe -- 400 mg - 30 Tablets
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
KDIZ
A Little Much for Me!
 April 22, 2009
"I am sure this product works for others but unfortunately not for me. After taking the product for about 4 days I begin having terrible headaches and also began not feeling good. I stayed off of them for about 2-3 days then I cut the pill in half. When I continued to receive the headaches I determined this product was not for me. That is not to say it will not work for others but for me just didn't happen. I wished it had because of joint issues I am having at the moment."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Source Naturals Double Strength SAMe -- 400 mg - 30 Tablets
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
DixieChick
Good product
 February 26, 2009
"This is the first time I've ever used SAM-e before. I noticed a difference in my mood after a few days -- that's all. I'll keep taking it to see if there are any other improvements."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Source Naturals Double Strength SAMe -- 400 mg - 30 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
msean
Mood Improvement
 December 10, 2008
"I bought SAMe with the idea that maybe it would improve my wintertime mood. I was pleasantly surprised when it was so effective. I find that my mood is very stable with just one capsule a day. I also take a large Vitamin D (2200 units) tablet, and that also helps keep my mood stable. I would highly recommend this product."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Source Naturals Double Strength SAMe -- 400 mg - 30 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ILoveYellowLabs
fromMilford, DE
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Very Effective
 November 2, 2008
"I used this product for a month now and it has worked wonderfully well. I feel more calm and my joints, especially my knees, seem to be a lot less stiff and sore. I will continue to order this product. I like the fact it is "multi-use" and has worked so well for me. It's better than buying two or three products, which is what I was doing."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Source Naturals Double Strength SAMe -- 400 mg - 30 Tablets
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
mommaE
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
 October 18, 2008
"Too soon to be sure but seems to be a good fit and helping my overall health"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Source Naturals Double Strength SAMe -- 400 mg - 30 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Silvia
fromFlorida
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
I take it for elbow pains
 January 29, 2008
"Hi
I started taking 1 pill a day or every other day for tennis elbow after 2 weeks it worked great very very happy with it.
I notice the pain begins to come back if I stop taking it for awhile and certainly works. A friend who had bad knee joint problem began to take it and swares by it.
I have tried other brands but by far this is the best brand it MUST be taken on EMPTY stomach or your wasting your time.
NSI brand isnt bad at all but this is stronger at same dose.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Source Naturals Double Strength SAMe -- 400 mg - 30 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
EarthAngel
fromLong Island, NY
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Excellent Product at an Excellent Price
 December 11, 2007
"excellent for anyone disturbed by minor joint pain or sun deprivation."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Source Naturals Double Strength SAMe -- 400 mg - 30 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jonie
Great product
 August 27, 2007
"I have used this for only a few months now, but I am feeling better already. I will continue to use this product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Source Naturals Double Strength SAMe -- 400 mg - 30 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sonno
Tried many
 July 8, 2007
"And this is the one that I can feel the difference. Added energy and stamina."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Source Naturals Double Strength SAMe -- 400 mg - 30 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rumpole
Very cost effective.
 July 3, 2007
"Sam-e is a methyl donor which your body makes into serotonine and dopamine for neurotransmitters for mental health and wellbeing."
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Source Naturals Double Strength SAMe -- 400 mg - 30 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Claire
This is good stuff
 June 30, 2007
"This is one of the few supplemenst I have actually noticed a difference myself from taking. I decided to take it mainly for its purported benefits for the liver though I knew that it was also helful for mood enhancement and joint health. I've never taken SAMe before but after just one month of taking this I realized I had been feeling really happy and hadn't even had the slightest hint of PMS that month. It apparently is being absorbed and is affecting me as it is reputed to do so I feel it is probably improving my liver function as well."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Source Naturals Double Strength SAMe -- 400 mg - 30 Tablets
Based on the average of (9) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
4.7 / 5
4.7 / 5
9 out of 9 recommend this product