Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Borage Oil or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Borage Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 60 Softgels

Supports a healthy inflammatory response*. What is borage oil?  . Borage (Borago officinalis) is an herb native to Syria that eventually spread throughout the Middle East and Mediterranean. It is now cultivated in many different areas of Europe and the U.S.  . Borage flowers and leaves are edible. The seeds are often pressed to produce an oil rich in gamma-linolenic acid (GLA). GLA is an omega-6 unsaturated fatty acid normally used by the body to create prostaglandins. GLA increases the content of dihomo- -linolenic acid (DGLA) which is converted to prostaglandin E1 (PGE1). Prostaglandin E1 is a hormone-like substance that plays a part in many biochemical and metabolic processes of the body.  . How does borage oil support health? Omega-6 essential fatty acids are required for optimal health.*.  Supports a healthy inflammatory response.* .  May support healthy platelet function.*.  Supports healthy skin.* .  Supports healthy tear production.*.  May play a role in maintaining a healthy weight after weight loss.*.  Supports healthy gum tissue.*. Why choose Vitacost Borage Oil?   Frequently chosen by mature women as one of their top supplements.* .  Offers exceptional quality at extraordinary value. . About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP).  .  .  . * These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.688 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
15 out of 16(94%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Borage Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 60 Softgels
Review 1 for Vitacost Borage Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Eliyahu
fromIsrael
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Good product
 September 21, 2014
"I like Vitacost Borage Oil with GLA - 1300 mg because it is a good source of omega 6 fatty acid."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Borage Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
scarletred76
fromGreensboro, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Works well with evening primrose oil
 March 25, 2014
"I have noticed a difference in my skin since using this - only one bottle into it!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Borage Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
sudsup
fromGreater Chicago Area, IL
Gender:Female
Vitacost Borage Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg
 March 17, 2014
"I actually seem to have more energy since taking Vitacost's Borage Oil with GLA. It's impossible to get the right balance of Omega oils through the foods I consume. So, I take supplements like salmon oil and borage oil--for maximum benefit."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Borage Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LucyLA
fromLos Angeles, California
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great antiaging product!
 November 16, 2013
"This product has omega 3 and 6, and diminish the loss of collagen. I feel my skin softer and firmer."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Borage Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
daisy411
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
maybe its rancid
 November 5, 2013
"its smell awful and didnt do anything for me"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Borage Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
wintrsun
fromVictoria, Australia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Vitacost Borage Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg
 October 21, 2013
"I like Vitacost Borage Oil with GLA - 1300 mg because it has everything I look for in a supplement like this: a good source of CLA. It’s non GMO. It’s free of eggs, milk, shellfish, gluten, soy, peanuts, tree nuts, fish, and titanium dioxide. The dose is one daily, and the price is perfect."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Borage Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sallylou
fromky
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
as seen on DR OZ
 September 29, 2013
"Love it. open the pill and spread oil on face and hands and body. Feels so good. Great price!!! Love vitacost!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Borage Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SabFaureSAMlle
fromVilleneuve-les-Avignon,Provence,France
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Borage Oil Health Benefits
 February 16, 2013
"After Years of using it, I still find that consuming Borago Oil
the simplest way to get shinier hair and softer skin ,
But...Since it has a Lot of Omega-6, it does increase the need in Omega-3.
It Also has a great effect on Face and Hands Skin when applied topically , it is Hydrating,like Coconut Oil can be.
"
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Borage Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lifelover
fromCalifornia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Love it!
 September 6, 2012
"This stuff is great and the price is perfect too! Love Vitacost!!"
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Borage Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MargInAlaska
fromAnchorage, Alaska
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
i like the Borage Oil for my dry eyes
 June 2, 2010
"Not only is the Borage Oil a good source of CLA that helps my skin, but I found that borage oil also helps with my dry eyes."
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Borage Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MemaFlowers
fromVirginia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Borage Oil is not Fish Oil
 December 2, 2009
"You can't substitute borage oil, an omega 6 oil, for fish oil, an omega 3 oil. You need both. I get my omega 9 from olive oil that I use in food preparation.
It is good that this brand of borage oil is non GMO. It has not been genetically modified.
I used to use primrose oil until I discovered borage oil had more GLA than primrose oil."
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Borage Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
rugney
fromWashington
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great for hot flashes
 July 22, 2009
"This was actually recommended to me for support against hot flashes and I was surprised how well it works! I take one or two in the morning and one or two in the evening."
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Borage Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
nursedog
fromGA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
GREAT PRODUCT
 December 8, 2008
"I bought this for a friend and she loves it. We will buy again."
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Borage Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ReRe
fromUnion City, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Heart Healthy
 May 2, 2008
"I bought this product just to change from the fish oil for a while. I really like it a lot. It's rich and natural, which I love."
-7points
0of 7voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Vitacost Borage Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 60 Softgels
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
2 out of 2 recommend this product