Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop EPA & DHA or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Complete EFA -- 180 Softgels

Great source of omega-3 and omega-6 essential fatty acids necessary for a healthy body and mind!*. What is Vitacost Complete EFA? Vitacost Complete EFA is a blend of omega-3 and omega-6 essential fatty acids (EFAs). EFAs are nutrients essential to health that can’t be synthesized by the body and must be obtained through diet. A balanced intake of omega-6 to omega-3 EFAs is necessary to maintain optimal health and good brain function.* The average American diet has an EFA ratio of 20-25:1; ideally it should be 3:1. Vitacost Complete EFA which contains omega-3 DHA EPA and ALA and omega-6 GLA and linoleic acid can be an important dietary addition to achieve the optimal range.*. How does Vitacost Complete EFA support health? EFAs are important for cardiovascular immune reproductive and nervous system health.*. A primary function of EFAs is the production of prostaglandins which regulate body functions such as fertility conception heart rate blood pressure blood clotting menstrual tissue and the immune system.*. Needed for the proper inflammatory responses throughout the body.*. Promotes healthy brain function and may have anti-aging benefits for the brain.*. EFAs are utilized by cell membranes where oxygen and nutrients are exchanged. Can support positive effects on cellular reactions during extreme physical challenges.*. Why choose Vitacost Complete EFA? Combines omega-3 and omega-6 EFAs in one formula. Supplies 1053 mg of omega-3 EFAs and 808 mg of omega-6 EFAs per 3-softgel serving. Contains 60 servings per bottle. Exceptional quality at an extraordinary value. About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP).  .  .  . *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.582 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(67 reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 67 reviews
5 Stars
51
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
59 out of 67(88%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Complete EFA -- 180 Softgels
Review 1 for Vitacost Complete EFA -- 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HoneyJ
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great value
 August 3, 2012
"You can't beat the price on this one and there is no fishy taste. This is the only kind my husband can take."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Complete EFA -- 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jasmina
fromPutnam County, NY
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Great EFA
 May 2, 2011
"Great brand, reliable product, too soon to see full results but I'm very happy with it so far!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Complete EFA -- 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LittleBit13
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Best Deal out there
 August 6, 2010
"This gel cap has NO after taste, slightly large, a good proportion of Essential EFA's, and a good price."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Complete EFA -- 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Helli
Duration of use:Over 180 days
 June 28, 2010
"the capsules in the latest bottle I ordered leave a terrible "cod liver oil" type after-taste and give me heartburn. Really, I'm dumping them."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Complete EFA -- 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
YtsejaM
fromPhoenix, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Good all around product
 November 24, 2009
"This particular item has been a part of my daily regimen for a long time and I think the effects are evident: my skin doesn't feel dry, there's a slight boost in energy (along with my other supplements), I think it has helped my vision, and I think it compliments the other supplements I take daily. I usually take 3 caps once per day in the morning. I do notice that there are usually some strawberry-fishy-flavored burps within an hour or so of taking this, but I've gotten so used to it, that it's not an issue for me. My wife took these while pregnant with our kids and I'll go out on a limb here and say that (2-3 years later) both our kids seem to be more "brainy" than your average kid."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Complete EFA -- 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
6735fiero
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Did nothing
 October 20, 2009
"My husband started taking this because it was supposed to help with joint pain. He took it for 8 months and felt no different. My mom said he would probably notice that it worked if he got off of it. No difference, it did not help his joint pain. Complete waste of money. He has finally given up on herbal remedies and started taking celebrex( even though he hates prescription medicine) which has taken away about half his pain."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Complete EFA -- 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
oatesfan
fromporltand, oregon
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Better than plain fish oil
 September 27, 2009
"Although the price is higher than fish oil that I would buy from the drugstore (and usually get a buy one get one also) I do feel more confident in this product and it's safety."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Complete EFA -- 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Kenneth
fromSan Diego, CA
Age:55-64
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Better NSI Product Available
 September 25, 2009
"I have taken this product for years. I just noticed that there is no Omega 9 in this product anymore, and I believe there was when I first took it.
Try NSI Omega 3-6-9 for twice the quantity at the same price."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Complete EFA -- 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
moh777
fromTwin Falls, Idaho
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
One of the best pain relievers ever!
 June 6, 2009
"The use of EFAs has long been known as a pain reliever. I never believed that until after having taken them for a number of years now. I don't know the mechanism by which they work, but they do honestly relieve pain--not to mention the marvelous things they do for your brain and cardio vascular system."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Complete EFA -- 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Shaye
fromHouston, TX
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
Great product. It works!
 May 6, 2009
"Wonderful. Same day shipping, etc."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Complete EFA -- 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mrd232
fromQuakertown, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
No fishy taste!
 March 13, 2009
"These are the first fish oil gels I've found that don't kick back on me. Hooray!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Complete EFA -- 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Adell
fromAlbany New York
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
Joint Stiffness Relief
 March 6, 2009
"I ran out of these about two months ago, started noticing stiffness in the joints. Since then I have been back on them and there is definitely a difference. Sent a bottle to a friend and her comments are the same."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Complete EFA -- 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
noela1
Excellent product with great taste
 November 9, 2008
"Well packaged, oblong softgel shape easy to swallow for necessary size of pill. Taste is wonderful. Effectiveness seems to be fine but hard to evaluate on a three week trial so I omitted rating, but might be excellent."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Complete EFA -- 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
kyliesmom
yucky burps!
 May 15, 2008
"Ish. I got these for some reason thinking they would be better for my seven year old- there is no way she could swallow even one of these (three are in a serving size). They are huge horse pills. Despite the reviews of having the "wonderful" strawberry flavor, they are disgusting in taste and my husband and I have suffered from fishy burps all day as a result. Yuck."
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost Complete EFA -- 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connieb
too big
 May 8, 2008
"The only negative issue I had with this product was it is too big, hard to swallow."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost Complete EFA -- 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
syra
fromTN
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
great find!
 February 14, 2008
"I've not seen ALL the good products in ONE softgel.
It saves me a lot of $ by not having to buy 3 or 4 different bottles (as I previously did) to get all the nutrition. Excellent!
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost Complete EFA -- 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sunriser333
fromColorado Springs, Co
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Quality EFA's
 February 3, 2008
"I find NSI to be a quality product developer. My family and I have grown to trust the brand using many products created by this company. Living in Colorado with our cold winters, we can feel the difference in our skin when we regularly take these EFA's."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost Complete EFA -- 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jessi
fromHigh Point, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
great value
 December 28, 2007
"It's great to be able to take these omega oils all in one product. The gla in this product worked as well as taking by itself."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost Complete EFA -- 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Alain
fromWoodstock GA
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Unsatisfactory
 December 10, 2007
"It didn't appear to help me. My doctor now wants to put me on lipitor. I was tryig to avoid this and go natural."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost Complete EFA -- 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
whitesox
Cool...
 August 26, 2007
"When you take EFA you need to be cautious about the rate between Omega3 and Omega6. that is the point.
We need more omega3 than omega6 as supplements because we take much more omega6 than omega3 in our normal daily lives.
This complete EFA is perfectly adjusted for this. and I love it.
I'm a repeat buyer."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 next