Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Travel & Outdoors or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

PetGuard Herbal Collar For Dogs -- 1 Collar

Fits necks up to 22". Safe Natural Fresh Herbal Scent. The Herbal Collar is a scent collar that is natural. The collar consists of a mixture of aromatic oils. The attractive red color of the collar will complement the beauty of your dog. You and your pet will appreciate the fresh herbal scent.
Overall rating:
4.1 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 30 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
4
1 Star
3
24 out of 30(80%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for PetGuard Herbal Collar For Dogs -- 1 Collar
Review 1 for PetGuard Herbal Collar For Dogs -- 1 Collar
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
malteseboy
fromflorida
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
This product has no great or good features !!!!!!!
 April 5, 2014
"This product doesn't last more than 2 weeks if that long, it is a waste of money ,never buy it again and you should too !!!!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetGuard Herbal Collar For Dogs -- 1 Collar
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ruariordan
fromnew york
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
smells great
 October 28, 2013
"i love it not only does it work it smells fantastic"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetGuard Herbal Collar For Dogs -- 1 Collar
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
2BabyMama
fromAlexandria, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Smells great - doesn't keep fleas away
 March 10, 2013
"This collar smells great, it made my Great Pyreneese smell so nice and fresh. I opened indoors and noticed a light herbal scent, not too strong at all (lasts about a month and a half). However, did not keep fleas away. The groomer found a few on my dog. It is still winter, we live in Northern Virginia (mine is an indoor dog). This may work better in other parts of the country. I would buy this for the wonderful scent, but that's it unfortunately. The collar is red in color."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetGuard Herbal Collar For Dogs -- 1 Collar
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
stanfield
fromConnecticut shoreline
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Duration of use:Over 180 days
repels ticks & our dog loves it!
 February 14, 2012
"We've been using these collars in tandem with the full-strength flea/tick preventative from the vet. We live in the epicenter of tickworld USA. But we really think since our dog's been wearing this collar, fewer ticks are landing on her. Plus she smells so great! And also, now she feels naked without it....after her baths, she looks at me like: where's my spanky red collar?"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetGuard Herbal Collar For Dogs -- 1 Collar
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Overanalyze
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Smell Great
 November 18, 2011
"Though initially this has a very potent smell- it is great to smell it instead of a dirty or wet dog. Unfortunately, it was not effective my my husky-mix- but it does make her smell good."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetGuard Herbal Collar For Dogs -- 1 Collar
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
obiwan1
fromSunny Southeastern USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Excellent Product
 April 17, 2011
"We live in the country and our dog picks up ticks. We have him on chemicals but this collar seems to help keep them off him in the first place. Love the smell."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetGuard Herbal Collar For Dogs -- 1 Collar
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alex789
natural and effective
 February 10, 2011
"I have 2 dogs and 2 cats. We used to live in another country and the only thing I could get for flea protection was those collars. I always had used them and was very happy to find the collars here. I am not sure how it will work at summer time, but right now I am really glad to have them on all my pets."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetGuard Herbal Collar For Dogs -- 1 Collar
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
PHEOBESMOM
fromCentraL ct
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Petguard Herbal collars
 August 17, 2010
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
"I love this collar, it's got a natural essential oil scent and neighbors and friends have commented on how pleasant my Parson Russell Terrrier smells!!! They last a few weeks and then loose their strength, but are inexpensive enough to replace throught the summer months!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetGuard Herbal Collar For Dogs -- 1 Collar
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
chrisann
great product
 July 28, 2010
"a wonderful alternative to using harsh chemicals on my dogs especially since my one dog has gotten very sick from other brand name flea/tick products"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetGuard Herbal Collar For Dogs -- 1 Collar
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jcluvsliberty
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Smells Wonderful
 February 20, 2010
"This smells really good. Have not seen a flea on our dog since we put in on her. Yippee!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetGuard Herbal Collar For Dogs -- 1 Collar
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
capecodannie
fromCape Cod
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Waste of Money
 October 2, 2009
"I live near Cape Cod, where fleas have super-powers! These collars are useless and don't work at all. And they smell horrible! Don't waste your dough on these collars."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetGuard Herbal Collar For Dogs -- 1 Collar
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
maggieru
fromsoutheastern Indiana
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
love this collar.
 July 23, 2009
"I have a mini dauschaund who is allergic to the chemicals on a commercial flea collar. I cannot use them on her. Plus I try to feed and groom her with as natural products as I can find. This collar smells and works great. Love this collar!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetGuard Herbal Collar For Dogs -- 1 Collar
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DogladyMsM
fromTampa, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Wonderful!!!!
 July 19, 2009
"Living in Florida, on a lake, with 4 dogs has been challenging for flea & mosquito control. I was sceptical but decided to try them because of the cost. After using them for a month, I was amazed to not find a flea on any of my dogs. The mosquitoes do not swarm when I take them outside. SO much cheaper than the topicals that only work some of the time. I just ordered more! As a pet sitter, I'm recommending these to all of my clients."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetGuard Herbal Collar For Dogs -- 1 Collar
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
BellaBee
fromBoston, MA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
So far, so good
 April 23, 2009
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
"It appears to be working on my three dogs. My Yorkie sticks his nose to the ground and caught a tick that way but, no fleas! He had 3 ticks on him right after I put collars on but, I think it was too soon. My other 2 dogs are perfectly free of ugly creatures."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetGuard Herbal Collar For Dogs -- 1 Collar
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
lion
fromNE Ohio
Gender:Male
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Happydog!
 April 13, 2009
"I've gone to name brand flea collars in the past, which irritated the dogs, and my last dog was a hound and hated the pyrethrum smell, would hide when I had to change the collar. Our new puppy loves the collar, never scratches at it or on his body, has zero fleas, and always smells so pleasant. No odor on the furniture, either.
It's worth the price, though it needs more frequent replacement, because it works!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetGuard Herbal Collar For Dogs -- 1 Collar
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
4evervegan
fromFt Lauderdale, Fl
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Natural Flea Repellant
 February 13, 2009
"I love the smell. My chihuahua loves not having a flea. Used the extra to protect her bed.
Try it you will like it.
I have never liked using the chemicals thus I use the flea comb. Have found this to be a good addition.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetGuard Herbal Collar For Dogs -- 1 Collar
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
meximom4
fromDONNA, TX
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Fleas love it!
 January 24, 2009
"The fleas didn't seem to mind the odor of this product....they increased their activity on our poor dog! Maybe out Texas fleas are tougher!!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetGuard Herbal Collar For Dogs -- 1 Collar
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jindodog
fromBrooklyn, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
great herbal collar
 October 2, 2008
"I use this collar on both of my dogs to protect them from fleas and ticks. My dogs have liver and allergy issues so they cannot use toxic flea products. I haven't seen any fleas or ticks on them this summer since using this collar. They go in the backyard but if I took them upstate into the woods, I don't know if this collar would be as effective."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetGuard Herbal Collar For Dogs -- 1 Collar
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
bettalivin
fromMcDonough, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
At least it smells good
 June 3, 2008
"I don't think this does much for deterring fleas. It smells pretty good though. I did hear something in the news about a problem with superfleas this year. Maybe that's the problem."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetGuard Herbal Collar For Dogs -- 1 Collar
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
escmac
fromEscondido, California
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
So Far So Good
 May 24, 2008
"My Corgi-Clancy-has been wearing his PetGuard Herbal Collar for a couple of weeks now. He is an indoor dog, but loves his long walks and occasional romps in our backyard. I have been using as much natural and herbal things for him and this looked like a great alternative to the poison filled flea collars and so far it has worked wonderfully. No, fleas yet. I know it is early in the flea season, but I purchased 3 for the summer and I am going to order 3 more today. If I can get 4 to 6 weeks out of each of them, that would be great. The smell is mild and pleasant and my husband would say something if it were too strong or offensive. Thanks-escmac"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next