Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Soap or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Eucalyptus -- 16 fl oz

Dr. Bronner's Magic Soaps: 18-in-1 Hemp Eucalyptus Pure-Castile Soap. Made with organic oils. No foaming agents. Enjoy 1 soap for 18 different uses! Guaranteed pure potassium castile soap. Dr. Bronner's EUCALYPTUS Pure-Castile Soap generates an intense and invigorating showering space. Inhaling the shower-steamed Eucalyptus is a powerful way to dissolve sluggishness and sloth of spirit. Many people also use this soap as their favorite pet wash. Supermild Castile has outstanding water softening and cleansing powers preferable to harsh soap & defattening synthetics. It does not cut dirt but dissolves it. It is the mildest most pleasant soap you have ever used. Soap is made by saponifying a fat or oil with a strong alkali. A fat or oil is a triglyceride which means that three fatty acids of various carbon lengths are attached to a glycerine backbone. The strong alkali is either sodium (for bars) or potassium (for liquids) hydroxide. The saponification process is a simple one-step reaction with no waste generated: the glycerine is split off from the fatty acids and the fatty acids combine with the sodium or potassium to form soap while the hydroxide forms water. The result is soap glycerin and water (no alkali remains). Quality soap-making consists in great part in choosing the right proportions of the right oils with their different fatty acids. Most commercial soaps skimp on quality because of cost and use lots of tallow from beef fat with a little bit of coconut or palm kernel oil. Our unsurpassed soaps use olive hemp and palm oils instead of tallow and use three to four times more coconut oil than commercial soaps. Saponified coconut oil generates high-lather cleansing even in hard water because it has shorter-chain saturated fatty acids. Hemp olive and palm based soaps make a mild smooth creamy lather because these oils contain longer chain unsaturated and polyunsaturated fatty acids. Dr. Bronner's makes a higher quality soap in other ways as well. Unlike most commercial soapmakers who distill the glycerin out of their soaps to sell we retain it in our soap for its superb moisturizing qualities. We also superfat our soap with olive fatty acid which both ensures that there is no free alkali and lowers the pH making a milder smoother lather. We use rosemary extract and plant-derived vitamin antioxidants to protect freshness (the rosemary is effective at 0.005% so it contributes absolutely no scent). We do not add any chelating agents dyes whiteners or synthetic fragrances. We use only 100% pure high quality essential oils. Our liquid soaps are so concentrated that they are only a few percent away from being a solid which ecologically saves on packaging materials. They are a superb value costing less than less-concentrated inferior detergent body-wash "liquid soaps." Our soaps are most popular for at-home washing but they also are the choice when camping and hiking as our soaps are so biodegradable and nature-friendly. Dr. Bronner's soaps have spread by quality and word of mouth alone into virtually every health food store in the country. Unsolicited articles raving about our soaps have appeared in magazines and newspapers as diverse as Natural Health Outdoor Gear Vogue The Washington Post The Chicago Tribune The Associated Press The Wall Street Journal Parenting and New Age.
Overall rating:
4.955 / 5
5
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
22 out of 22(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Eucalyptus -- 16 fl oz
Review 1 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Eucalyptus -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
hncc
Amazing Dr Bronner's soap
 April 18, 2013
"Watch the documentary on Netflix."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Eucalyptus -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TheRealHappyCamper
fromspringfield missouri
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
did everything I wanted it too
 March 20, 2013
"cleans great, no residues, smells good, and it's all natural!"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Eucalyptus -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Freedom09
fromPA
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Dr. Bronner's Eucalyptus Soap
 August 16, 2010
"It is fresh and clean with no artificial perfumes. All of Dr. Bronner's soaps rinse clean, with no residue left on your skin. You can also use Dr. Bronner's castile soaps as hair wash for the same reasons. Oh, it's economical, too - you don't need much to get clean!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Eucalyptus -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DEBBIECEE
fromMICHIGAN
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:61-180 days
Dr. Bronners
 February 6, 2010
"I have loved all of the products so far"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Eucalyptus -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jojococo
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Smells good
 September 24, 2009
"I like all of the Dr. Bronners soaps that I have tried. The eucalyptus is my husbands favorite and the almond is my favorite. They lather well clean well and smell good. I will continue to use them and would recommend them."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Eucalyptus -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sunshinelollipops
Natural Quality product
 January 15, 2009
"I love this soap! It has the most natural ingredients and smells wonderful. My husband uses this to shampoo his hair, but I found it would leave my hair feeling dry, so I only use it as a body wash and for bath bubbles."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Eucalyptus -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Marlowe
fromGlobe, Arizona
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Referral source:Physician
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great Thing in a bottle
 October 11, 2008
"You get a good price, you use very small amounts, it cleans very well, I smell good, what else is there, I enjoy this product. Since I'm getting up there (age), this and the bar soap is what people on my Christmas list are receiving this year. They will love something that they can use and enjoy..Marlowe"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Eucalyptus -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tyler1996
fromLithonia, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Great Soap
 July 21, 2008
"This product has many uses however, I only use it for bathing. It is gentle to the skin and has a great, eye opening smell. It is not harsh and full of chemicals like the everyday soaps. I would recommend it to anyone with sensitive skin."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Eucalyptus -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
earthgirl69
fromnew hampshire
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
works well
 July 18, 2008
"this product works well for everything, we put it in all of our hand soap dispensers, have actually used it in the laundry in a pinch"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Eucalyptus -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bettalivin
fromMcDonough, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Love this stuff!
 June 3, 2008
"I use this on myself and my dog. The scent is great and the clean feeling can't be beat. Just a little goes a long way.
The cat's next...
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Eucalyptus -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
NotAHippie
fromCorinth, MS
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Referral source:Friend
Duration of use:30-60 days
Darn Good Soap
 May 13, 2008
"This soap is great for many purposes, as a general body wash it is fantastic, but it is hard to wash out of hair and can be a little too 'tingly' in more sensitive areas. It is aromatic and smooth feeling, and works well on dishes and other such things. I wouldn't recommend it for clothes washing in a washing machine, but it would be fine for anything washed by hand. Overall I'm very satisfied with this purchase."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Eucalyptus -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
way77
fromLouisiana
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:61-180 days
The Best!
 April 17, 2008
"This is the ONE! Very light, almost water like consistency makes an incredible rich lather, cleans thoroughly and rinses easily. The fragrance is awesome."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Eucalyptus -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
admit1eternity
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:61-180 days
I Buy This For Gifts!
 January 17, 2008
"This shampoo, along with a 'matching' bar of soap, makes a 'healthier' gift than the commercial shampoos and soaps. This contains no toxins. The shampoo may be a little harsh for some hair types, but we all use it combined with a good conditioner."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Eucalyptus -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Annas
fromGA
This stuff rocks!
 January 1, 2008
"I love this soap! I actually use it to bathe my dogs. It lathers very well, smells terrific and has the added benefit of deterring fleas thanks to the eucalyptus oil. I highly recommend! (And this is the best price I have found anywhere)"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Eucalyptus -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
soybean
fromSan Diego, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
great product
 October 19, 2007
"It cleans like magic. I use it twice a day. Excellent product!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Eucalyptus -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
rainh2o
fromHouston
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Wonderful product and great value
 August 14, 2007
"Excellent lather and cleansing properties, and great for rejuvenating the senses."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Eucalyptus -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mare
fromDSM, IA
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Refreshly Clean!
 June 12, 2007
"Love how it feels on my skin. I have dry skin and this stuff keeps my skin feeling clean and moist. So refreshing!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Eucalyptus -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
eleanorig
Most Luxurious Yet Economical Soap Ever
 April 29, 2007
"Not to sound cliche but this this the most luxurious soap I have ever used...and to think, it's ALL natural! It truly holds up to all organic and NON-synthetic standards. I wish I'd discovered Bronner's Soap earlier because once I started using this, my ridiculously ultra sensitive skin stopped flarring up, and it was great to finally feel real soft skin after stepping out of the shower, instead of the weird sticky residue that occurs with most soap. Funny enough, after all my research, this is possibly the most affordable cleanser on the market. A few drops of this stuff will go a long way and will lather up great too. I've replaced all my soaps, including my hand soap with Bronners. A few squirts mixed with a couple cups of water in a soap pump bottle , and voila, the most effective, cheapest, and NON-chemical hand soap ever. Works great on hair too. You can create your own mixture of hair shampoo too - just add some Bronners in a bottle, and then add drops of your favorite essential oil, shake hard, and you've got in incredible shampoo. Bronners was one of the first products to encourage me to eliminate ALL the dangerous chemicals from my beauty shelf."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Eucalyptus -- 16 fl oz
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
4 out of 4 recommend this product