Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Baby Mild Unscented -- 16 fl oz

Enjoy 1 soap for 18 different uses! Our unscented organic baby castile soap contains no fragrance. It is also great for people who have allergies or sensitive skin. Dr. Bronner's ALOE VERA BABY-MILD Pure-Castile Soap is formulated to be a mild smooth soap for use on newborns (but still make sure to keep it out of the eyes). Because the Baby-Mild contains no essential oils imaginative grown-up babies can add their own favorites to craft personally unique bathing spaces (the Rosemary Extract is effective as an anti-oxidant in our soap at 0.005% so contributes absolutely no scent). Supermild Castile has outstanding water softening and cleansing powers preferable to harsh soap & defattening synthetics. It does not cut dirt but dissolves it. It is the mildest most pleasant soap you have ever used. Soap is made by saponifying a fat or oil with a strong alkali. A fat or oil is a triglyceride which means that three fatty acids of various carbon lengths are attached to a glycerine backbone. The strong alkali is either sodium (for bars) or potassium (for liquids) hydroxide. The saponification process is a simple one-step reaction with no waste generated: the glycerine is split off from the fatty acids and the fatty acids combine with the sodium or potassium to form soap while the hydroxide forms water. The result is soap glycerin and water (no alkali remains). Quality soap-making consists in great part in choosing the right proportions of the right oils with their different fatty acids. Most commercial soaps skimp on quality because of cost and use lots of tallow from beef fat with a little bit of coconut or palm kernel oil. Our unsurpassed soaps use olive hemp and palm oils instead of tallow and use three to four times more coconut oil than commercial soaps. Saponified coconut oil generates high-lather cleansing even in hard water because it has shorter-chain saturated fatty acids. Hemp olive and palm based soaps make a mild smooth creamy lather because these oils contain longer chain unsaturated and polyunsaturated fatty acids. Dr. Bronner's makes a higher quality soap in other ways as well. Unlike most commercial soapmakers who distill the glycerin out of their soaps to sell we retain it in our soap for its superb moisturizing qualities. We also superfat our soap with olive fatty acid which both ensures that there is no free alkali and lowers the pH making a milder smoother lather. We use rosemary extract and plant-derived vitamin antioxidants to protect freshness (the rosemary is effective at 0.005% so it contributes absolutely no scent). We do not add any chelating agents dyes whiteners or synthetic fragrances. We use only 100% pure high quality essential oils. Our liquid soaps are so concentrated that they are only a few percent away from being a solid which ecologically saves on packaging materials. They are a superb value costing less than less-concentrated inferior detergent body-wash "liquid soaps." Our soaps are most popular for at-home washing but they also are the choice when camping and hiking as our soaps are so biodegradable and nature-friendly. Dr. Bronner's soaps have spread by quality and word of mouth alone into virtually every health food store in the country. Unsolicited articles raving about our soaps have appeared in magazines and newspapers as diverse as Natural Health Outdoor Gear Vogue The Washington Post The Chicago Tribune The Associated Press The Wall Street Journal Parenting and New Age.
Overall rating:
4.653 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(49 reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 49 reviews
5 Stars
38
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
45 out of 49(92%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Baby Mild Unscented -- 16 fl oz
Review 1 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Baby Mild Unscented -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
teenteen87
love!
 March 5, 2015
"Love all the scents but I enjoy the unscented to add my own essential oils."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Baby Mild Unscented -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tamitha
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Excellent product
 February 28, 2015
"I use the solid bars to make hand and laundry soaps, but you can't beat Dr. Bronner's liquid for making shampoo. I do keep trying to find one that is comparable, though, because it is so pricey."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Baby Mild Unscented -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mellea
fromGeorgia
Excellent!
 November 1, 2014
"I bought this product to make homemade detergent but found it too useful by itself! I'm using it in the kitchen to wash produce safely and in the bathroom to take off makeup - it does a great job of both!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Baby Mild Unscented -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pucha
fromMiami
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Very nice soap.
 October 29, 2014
"I like Dr, Bronner's collection of Castile liquid soaps, have tried the others, love them too! This one as it is expected is mild and uncented for a change. We use it too to clean the sleep apnea nasal pillow (mask) and it delivers very good results."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Baby Mild Unscented -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tillee
fromCA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Love using
 June 15, 2014
"I love using Dr. Bronner's soaps. The Mild Unscented has no added fragrances which sometimes irritate my skin. I have used this for years and will continue."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Baby Mild Unscented -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
vdrd
A little goes a long way . . .
 April 17, 2014
"I am new to this product. I thought I would try it in homemade shampoo. I learned quickly that it is very strong and needs to be diluted quite a bit. It seems to be high quality and I am looking forward to learning all the various uses for it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Baby Mild Unscented -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Linda1951
fromMorongo Valley, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
This product is the best!
 December 3, 2013
"I like this soap, it's fragrance free which is what I prefer these days. It lathers very well and leaves me feeling squeaky clean. Plus, Dr. Bronner's is a very environmentally conscious business, so I like supporting them."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Baby Mild Unscented -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
AHNY
fromNY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Use this for everything!
 July 23, 2013
"This is a great product - nice & mild - great for sensitive skin. I use it for my face, body, & hair as well as all three of my kids! Perfect!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Baby Mild Unscented -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
E4USkin
fromDurham, NC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Multi purpose soap
 June 17, 2011
"I use this soap for many purposes from washing my hair to a great facial cleanser. A little goes a long way!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Baby Mild Unscented -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Lykou
fromAtlanta, GA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Drying
 August 24, 2010
"I bought this soap because of the good reviews and because it does not contain any fragrant oils (most natural fragrant oils like citrus fruits or lavender are skin irritants). However, the soap is simply too drying. After using the soap for 1 week, I could see my skin start to flake and had to wear lotion even in the summer. By 2 weeks, it's also creating itchiness on my skin due to dryness. I seriously do not understand why people rave about this brand of soap at all. An absolute waste of money..."
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Baby Mild Unscented -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HealthyMommy
fromDallas, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
great multi-use
 August 19, 2010
"Unscented and perfect for cleaning kiddos. Plus, it is great to clear up blemishes by using just a touch of it directly applied. I always have this in my cabinet."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Baby Mild Unscented -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
candaberg
fromMpls, MN
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
LOVE it, hope they never change it!
 December 7, 2009
"Love this soap for every cleansing need: face, hands, body. It is so gentle and mild, but does a great job at cleansing. It removes my makeup very well while leaving my sensitive skin balanced. Doesn't cause excessive dryness to my family's hands or body in the cold, dry winter weather. I dilute it and put it into a pump bottle that aerates it into a foam. Makes application much easier. I will continue using this forever, as long as they don't modify it!!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Baby Mild Unscented -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bettalivin
fromMcDonough, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:61-180 days
great product
 October 5, 2009
"I add my own essential oils to create the scents I like"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Baby Mild Unscented -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Creola
fromRI
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:61-180 days
Good Cleanser!
 September 28, 2009
"It cleans well. My husband and I use it to wash our faces. I use it with my night wash. It cleans all the makeup off. When I use the toner (Aubrey) after washing w/this product, there's no residue on the gauze. It can be a little drying, but I use a Vitamin E night cream following the wash. My husband has oilier skin so he uses it morning and night. In the morning I use Aubrey cleanser followed by a light Aubrey moisturiser w/SFP"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Baby Mild Unscented -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
JHLS
fromNorthern VA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Painful on cuts!
 March 21, 2009
"I don't know how they call this mild. Yes, it cleans effectively, and a little goes a long way. However, if you have a cut or scratch, this will BURN!! Bought it to use on my 2 little girls, but won't purchase this again."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Baby Mild Unscented -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Blessings
Simple & perfect
 February 4, 2009
"This is the best soap for my sensitive skin- either in liquid or bar form. I even take it on camping trips."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Baby Mild Unscented -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
healthynp
fromTX
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:Over 180 days
safest soap
 January 11, 2009
"Approved by the Environmental Working Groups as one of the few non toxic beauty and health products that is safest to use! Most other products have preservatives or agents that are absorped thru the skin and metabolized by the body. This one passed the safe test!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Baby Mild Unscented -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
SherylB
fromMichigan
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Dr. Bronner's Forever
 January 4, 2009
"I've used Dr. Bronners for 25 years. 'Nuff said."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Baby Mild Unscented -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
starqueen
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Wonderful product!
 November 24, 2008
"If you have sensitive skin, like I do, this is the best solution! I've used this liquid soap for years, with myself and my children, and have found that it's great for cleansing you face!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Baby Mild Unscented -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mommabird
fromIllinois
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
So Natural!
 November 21, 2008
"I switched to this soap because it is made of all natural ingredients. I love this one because it is unscented. But, I like the almond as well. Great product. I do not agree with the weird stuff on the label."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next