Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Soap or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Lavender -- 16 fl oz

Dr. Bronner's Magic Soaps: 18-in-1 Hemp Lavender Pure-Castile Soap. Made with organic oils. No foaming agents. Enjoy 1 soap for 18 different uses! Guaranteed pure potassium castile soap. Dr. Bronner's LAVENDER Pure-Castile Soap contains both Lavandin & Lavender essential oils to create a soothing and harmonizing bathing experience for the body and mind. Like long serene sunsets over still calm waters Lavender-Castile showers replenish and recharge the soul. Supermild Castile has outstanding water softening and cleansing powers preferable to harsh soap & defattening synthetics. It does not cut dirt but dissolves it. It is the mildest most pleasant soap you have ever used. Soap is made by saponifying a fat or oil with a strong alkali. A fat or oil is a triglyceride which means that three fatty acids of various carbon lengths are attached to a glycerine backbone. The strong alkali is either sodium (for bars) or potassium (for liquids) hydroxide. The saponification process is a simple one-step reaction with no waste generated: the glycerine is split off from the fatty acids and the fatty acids combine with the sodium or potassium to form soap while the hydroxide forms water. The result is soap glycerin and water (no alkali remains). Quality soap-making consists in great part in choosing the right proportions of the right oils with their different fatty acids. Most commercial soaps skimp on quality because of cost and use lots of tallow from beef fat with a little bit of coconut or palm kernel oil. Our unsurpassed soaps use olive hemp and palm oils instead of tallow and use three to four times more coconut oil than commercial soaps. Saponified coconut oil generates high-lather cleansing even in hard water because it has shorter-chain saturated fatty acids. Hemp olive and palm based soaps make a mild smooth creamy lather because these oils contain longer chain unsaturated and polyunsaturated fatty acids. Dr. Bronner's makes a higher quality soap in other ways as well. Unlike most commercial soapmakers who distill the glycerin out of their soaps to sell we retain it in our soap for its superb moisturizing qualities. We also superfat our soap with olive fatty acid which both ensures that there is no free alkali and lowers the pH making a milder smoother lather. We use rosemary extract and plant-derived vitamin antioxidants to protect freshness (the rosemary is effective at 0.005% so it contributes absolutely no scent). We do not add any chelating agents dyes whiteners or synthetic fragrances. We use only 100% pure high quality essential oils. Our liquid soaps are so concentrated that they are only a few percent away from being a solid which ecologically saves on packaging materials. They are a superb value costing less than less-concentrated inferior detergent body-wash "liquid soaps." Our soaps are most popular for at-home washing but they also are the choice when camping and hiking as our soaps are so biodegradable and nature-friendly. Dr. Bronner's soaps have spread by quality and word of mouth alone into virtually every health food store in the country. Unsolicited articles raving about our soaps have appeared in magazines and newspapers as diverse as Natural Health Outdoor Gear Vogue The Washington Post The Chicago Tribune The Associated Press The Wall Street Journal Parenting and New Age.
Overall rating:
4.87 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(54 reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 54 reviews
5 Stars
49
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
52 out of 54(96%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Lavender -- 16 fl oz
Review 1 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Lavender -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LadyFlower
fromWellesley MA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
All the ingredients are safe to use.
 September 3, 2014
"I've used Dr Bronner's for many years because the ingredients are safe. In addition to its many uses I also brush my teeth with the soap."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Lavender -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
hmaze
fromEast Hampton,NY
Gender:Female
cleans and smell delicious
 July 16, 2014
"Wonderful soap, been buying it for years as well as other
Dr. Bronner's products. also what I've been told, the lavendar aroma helps to keep the bugs away!
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Lavender -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Linsinn
fromSo Cali
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Good Stuff
 May 7, 2014
"Love this soap, it smells lovely, not over-powering. Cleans so well. My skin literally squeaked while washing with it. Pore it on washcloth and it lathers up to the best and biggest lather. I can't say enough about this soap. I personally like and use the Baby Mild Unscented Soap by Dr. Bronner because I have extremely sensitive skin. I bought the lavender scented one for my daughter who loved it and now wants the Almond scented one. I just purchased some for my 86 yr old mother too!"
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Lavender -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fabi
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great for sensitive skin!
 December 15, 2013
"I have super duper sensitive skin. Most soaps dry out my skin, but not this stuff. I love it! Also, I prefer buying it here on Vitacost, it's definitely cheaper than at any store."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Lavender -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Priyagb
fromCincinnati,OH
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
 October 7, 2013
"Great lavender body wash ! This is a family favorite and disappears quite quickly. Love the price and the quality !"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Lavender -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lotuslove
For everything
 August 18, 2013
"I love this soap, I use it for everything. Highly recommend."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Lavender -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CLeeV
fromNewport, RI
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!
 August 15, 2013
"This product has quickly taken over my house, I use this for EVERYTHING! For years I have had skin problems, and within 1 month of using this as body wash and coconut oil as lotion my skin has never looked or felt better. I get a little skeptic when it comes to household cleaners (I love bleach and anti-bacterial cleaners) but I have to say this product is beyond amazing! After washing my makeup brushes with anti-bacterial handsoap they still looked a little dirty so I soaked them in 1:10 Bronner/water mix and within seconds the water was filthy!!! AFTER already being washed!
**People complaining about the greasy/oiling feeling when using this as a shampoo probably have very hard water or are not diluting it properly. I unfortunately have very hard water and it does leave my hair with a slick, oily feeling so shampoo is the ONLY thing I do not use this for :("
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Lavender -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lotusgirl
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Moisturizing Cleanser, Light Scent
 July 24, 2013
"This is the first soap that also lightly moisturizes my skin! I've used the bar soap of this before and really liked it, but I was curious about the liquid version. The lavender is light, which is the only drawback for me. However, I will definitely buy again - even with its light scent."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Lavender -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromMacomb, Mi
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Excellent Product!
 April 1, 2013
"Love this product....but haven't found all 18 uses for it yet! :-)
I did try it as a shampoo for nearly three weeks (I only wash my hair 2-3 times/week) and I could not find a variation that I liked. I know it is made of oils (although it is not oily), but my hair felt weighed down and didn't style well.
I do love it as a body wash bc it literally leaves me sqeaky clean with no residue! Bath soak, cleaning and other variations so far!!! Still looking for more uses.
Oh, and you only need a VERY LITTLE bit. For example, to wash my entire body, I used less than a quarter sized amount and still had some left on my loofah!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Lavender -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
FloridaGator
fromAlachua, FL
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Best soap ever! Organic, clean smelling, useful!
 January 3, 2013
"These Bronner soaps are pure, do a great job, have multi-function use, are organic, and don't contriubute to pollution in our water systems."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Lavender -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CudasMom
fromNathalie, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great Product
 October 28, 2012
"This is a great soap. Lathers & cleans well, smells great. It has been a staple of my cleaning products for years. I will continue to buy and recommend. Vitacost has great prices too."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Lavender -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
susangc
fromca
It smells well, works well.
 August 23, 2012
"It smells well, works well. I like it every much"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Lavender -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Marie1910
fromNew York, NY
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Great Soap
 June 13, 2011
"I dilute the Lavender for dishes, wiping counters, floors and adding to laundry. I have fans in the windows and flys and mosquitos get in. After using the diluted lavender soap these flys and mosquitos do not stay around. My sink is free of fruit flys too. Quick degreaser and everything smells clean."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Lavender -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
vanayna
wonderful
 February 2, 2011
"this product has been used by my family and me for years, since my earliest memories in the 80's. fresh, quality ingredients and wonderful company beliefs"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Lavender -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LTB29
My Favorite!!!!
 December 29, 2010
"I have used almost every "flavor" of Dr. Bronner's and this is my favorite! Smells great!!! :)"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Lavender -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sm2602
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Family Member
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great product
 September 12, 2010
"This soap smells so wounderful, and the price at vitacost is amazing!!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Lavender -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cafeconleche
fromEwa Beach, HI
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:61-180 days
excellent buy
 September 2, 2010
"I love this soap - it is wonderful. I use it very time I take a shower."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Lavender -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
KLYNNK
fromLITTLETON COLORADO
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
 June 30, 2010
"ITS GREAT GREEN CLEANING PRODUCT. DIDNT LIKE IT AS A SHAMPOO OR FACE WASH. ALSO GOOD FOR SOAP DIPENSERS BY THE SINKS."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Lavender -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
callily02
fromMaine
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Love Dr. Bronners!
 June 17, 2010
"I use Dr. Bronners on everything! My children were washed with his soap as infants and now use it in their showers as teens. It is so mild, smells unbelievable, works on everything! Vitacost has the best prices on his products!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Lavender -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BlondeMonica
fromSan Francisco, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Many uses for this soap
 June 11, 2010
"I change up which scent I prefer from time to time, but all the Dr. Bronner's soaps I've used have been great for many uses. Primarily I use it in the shower, but also as a stain remover before doing laundry. It will remove stains in carpets easily and can be substituted for dish soap, shampoo, hand soap or laundry detergent in a pinch."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next