Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Shampoo or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Nature's Gate Calming Shampoo Tea Tree + Buckthorn -- 18 fl oz

Journey to Wholistic Beauty. Vegan. Non-GMO. Paraben Free. Soy Free. Cruelty Free. No Sodium Lauryl/Laureth/Coco Sulfates. No Artificial Colors. Nature’s Gate a trusted alternative for healthy hair. Your cleansing routine just got more responsible. Our Tea Tree + Sea Buckthorn Calming Shampoo gently cleanses hair with a unique blend of Tea Tree Sea Buckthorn and Water Cress. Ideal for oily hair.
Overall rating:
4.576 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(66 reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 66 reviews
5 Stars
50
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
61 out of 66(92%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Nature's Gate Calming Shampoo Tea Tree + Buckthorn -- 18 fl oz
Review 1 for Nature's Gate Calming Shampoo Tea Tree + Buckthorn -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
gracienglory
fromArkansas
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Ehh
 January 11, 2016
"While I would recommend this shampoo for someone with oily hair, I have to say that it smells like turpentine. Luckly the smell goes away when you rinse your hair. I have oily hair and it does a very good job of cleaning my hair, and my hair seems to stay clean longer. I will finish the bottle and decide then if I will re-order it or not. Three stars because of the smell. If it smelled better I would have given it more stars."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nature's Gate Calming Shampoo Tea Tree + Buckthorn -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BoJanglesNJ
fromTuckerton, NJ
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Love Natures Gate
 January 9, 2016
"I've been using their products for 10 plus years, and I don't plan on slowing down. Makes my hair look and feel great. Non GMO, and cruelty free makes me feel good about where my money is going."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nature's Gate Calming Shampoo Tea Tree + Buckthorn -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ancillae
Pretty good product
 December 31, 2015
"It is a good product, non agressive and leaves a nice clean hair, though, I don't like the smell it has. No other issues. Good overall"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nature's Gate Calming Shampoo Tea Tree + Buckthorn -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lorraine619
Love Nature Gate
 November 29, 2015
"I love almost all Nature Gate products because they are free of most of the nasty chemicals. This worked great on my long hair and my daughters hair. She has fine hair and mine is a tad thicker. Good product, great smell, soft hair."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nature's Gate Calming Shampoo Tea Tree + Buckthorn -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Blu11
fromCroatia
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great volumizing shampoo
 November 27, 2015
"I don't have scalp issues or dandruff, just straight oily hair with dry roots, but I saw a lot of recommendations for this after trying Nature's Gate Enriching Shampoo Biotin + Bamboo and finding it too drying. It gives my limp hair volume, lathers good, smells nice and minty and one shampooing is enough to wash my hair, even on days I do coconut oil."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nature's Gate Calming Shampoo Tea Tree + Buckthorn -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kiffen
fromphiladelphia, pa
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
scalp saver
 July 31, 2015
"This is a wonderful, clean conditioner. Especially in the winter, this tea tree conditioner has a blend of calming ingredients that will save your scalp. It also leaves your hair soft & healthy."
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nature's Gate Calming Shampoo Tea Tree + Buckthorn -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Zedar
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great for fine & oily hair and dandruff
 July 16, 2015
"I have fine and oily hair and like this because it doesn't make my roots too oily. Also, it keeps dandruff away! I use this daily."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nature's Gate Calming Shampoo Tea Tree + Buckthorn -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ARKYTWIN
fromBELLA VISTA AR
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Love this Shampoo!
 June 20, 2015
"Cleans well, smells good and doesn't leave a residue."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nature's Gate Calming Shampoo Tea Tree + Buckthorn -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
hulahooper
fromCA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Works better than most natural hair products
 June 18, 2015
"Most natural hair products are nice to use because they do not contain nasty chemicals that don't belong on your head. However, they just don't work for my problem hair! Believe me, I have tried sooooooo many! Nature"s Gate Tea Tree Shampoo and Conditioner are really not bad. They still don't tame my frizzies or make my hair look great, but they're one of the better natural products as far as working effectively (cleansing and conditioning without overdoing it). Also, I have problems with products making my scalp itch - even the natural stuff. But this one does not do that."
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nature's Gate Calming Shampoo Tea Tree + Buckthorn -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tattingbox
fromdallas, tx
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
dandruff control
 May 20, 2015
"This product gets rid of dandruff!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nature's Gate Calming Shampoo Tea Tree + Buckthorn -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mlapre
fromNew England
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Great for Fry Flaky Scalp
 April 27, 2015
"My son has a dry and flaky scalp and this shampoo eliminates that problem and it does it without all of the nasty chemical hormone disruptors that the store brands include. And the coup de grace it's less expensive than the store bought garbage with Vitacost's great price."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nature's Gate Calming Shampoo Tea Tree + Buckthorn -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jpcrunch
fromAmesbury, MA
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Great everyday shampoo
 February 10, 2015
"This shampoo is an essential for our household. I have an oily scalp and it does a good job of removing the oil but not leaving my head feeling like it was robbed of all it's moisture (even through multiple washes).
My wife and kids also use it. Their scalps are less oily and one wash does the trick.
Scalp feels refreshed and clean. What more could you ask for?
Love the tea tree smell!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nature's Gate Calming Shampoo Tea Tree + Buckthorn -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Purplepansy
fromLexington, KY
Gender:Female
Great buy for a tea tree shampoo!
 December 28, 2014
"This shampoo does really calms an itchy scalp. It has reduced the amount of dandruff to almost none and leaves my hair shiny and not dried out by frequent use every other day."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nature's Gate Calming Shampoo Tea Tree + Buckthorn -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MamawD
fromArkansas
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great Shampoo
 October 20, 2014
"I bought this for my 12 yr old granddaughter because she had flaky scalp. This shampoo worked great to relieve the flakes and itching. She has thick hair and it is now shiny and soft. She loves it."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nature's Gate Calming Shampoo Tea Tree + Buckthorn -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Viv
fromPalm Beach Gardens, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
GREAT PRODUCT
 October 6, 2014
"I love this shampoo … It is the only one I use … It smells nice and it does exactly what it says it does … I would recommend this to ANYONE"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nature's Gate Calming Shampoo Tea Tree + Buckthorn -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Logdog
fromSeattle, WA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Love this!
 September 27, 2014
"My husband uses this and the conditioner for his flaky scalp, it works great. I also use it on my doggies along with the conditioner makes them smell great and stops their itching and since it is natural I have no problems using it on them. I have oily hair myself and this shampoo makes it worse for me, but it has a great smell and my husband loves it!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nature's Gate Calming Shampoo Tea Tree + Buckthorn -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LL12
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Great product without the harsh chemicals!
 May 30, 2014
"I've been using this product for a couple of years now and in my opinion it is the best shampoo I've used"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nature's Gate Calming Shampoo Tea Tree + Buckthorn -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
chandra
fromBay Area,CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
We all love it!
 May 28, 2014
"My husband loves this shampoo. He has oily skin and says this is the only shampoo that keeps his hair looking great !"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nature's Gate Calming Shampoo Tea Tree + Buckthorn -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tdata
fromSan Diego
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Clean and Fresh!
 May 8, 2014
"This is my favorite and the only shampoo I've been using on a regular basis for the last 4 years. This combined with the conditioner from the same manufacturer makes your hair feel fresh and soft. It also feels good on your scalp. It has a very mild scent. I have long black hair and lots of it, and this works great.
Shipping is fast as always (I use the free shipping)"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nature's Gate Calming Shampoo Tea Tree + Buckthorn -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Feels so good after washing!
 April 23, 2014
"Using this shampoo feels so clean and smells fresh like in forest.
I think this is good for summer more than winter.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next