Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Shampoo or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Nature's Gate Hemp Nourishing Shampoo -- 18 fl oz

Smoothes Dry or Frizzy Hair. Sulfate Free. 7 Healthy Hair Nutritients. Nature’s Gate Hemp Shampoo gently cleanses hair and helps maintain natural moisture balance. Hair is nurtured with essential fatty acids (EFAs) from Hemp Seed Oil and our unique blend of 7 Healthy Hair Nutrients taming frizz and flyaways. The renewing properties of Milk Thistle Elderflower and Allspice leave hair silky soft and smooth. Exclusive healthy hair blend includes Panthenol Soy Proteins Vegetable Proteins Jojoba Oil Borage Flower Seed Oil Vitamin C and Vitamin E."With herbal extracts to naturally promote silky smooth hair Nature's Gate Hemp Shampoo gently cleanses hair and helps maintain natural moisture balance. Hair is nourished with essential fatty acids (EFAs) from Hemp Seed Oil and nutrients from Panthenol (Pro-vitamin B-5) Borage Seed and Jojoba Oil. The repairing elements of Milk Thistle Allspice and Jaborandi make this shampoo the perfect choice for dry or frizzy hair leaving it silky soft and smooth.  . 7 Exclusive healthy hair blend includes panthenol Soy proteins Vegetable proteins jojoba oil borage flower seed oil vitamin C and Vitamin E. Hemp oil rich in emega fatty acids helps restore moisture and add shine. Jojoba oil helps restore hair's natural moisture level. Soy Proteins fortify hair and bring out its natural luster. Vegetable proteins help diminish the appearance of split ends.
Overall rating:
4.476 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(42 reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 42 reviews
5 Stars
31
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
37 out of 42(88%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Nature's Gate Hemp Nourishing Shampoo -- 18 fl oz
Review 1 for Nature's Gate Hemp Nourishing Shampoo -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taterhead9
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great shampoo and conditioner
 August 21, 2014
"As I have gotten older my hair has gotten thinner and drier. I get a perm and the ends get frizzy over time. I was afraid this might be to much and weigh my hair down but it works great! I also use the conditioner on the ends and I can comb through my hair after shampooing without a lot of breakage!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nature's Gate Hemp Nourishing Shampoo -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LoyalVCC
Love it!
 April 7, 2014
"I think this is better than their Biotin Shampoo, in terms of nourishment and consistency. And we support the hemp industry... WINNING!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nature's Gate Hemp Nourishing Shampoo -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fbteach
fromTexas
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great Shampoo!
 April 3, 2014
"I love this shampoo, and also use it as a body wash. It is a wonderful value; I just ordered 3 more bottles."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nature's Gate Hemp Nourishing Shampoo -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bilbro
fromDalton, Georgia
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Love it!
 March 28, 2014
"I feel like my hair is more smooth and less frizzy using this product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nature's Gate Hemp Nourishing Shampoo -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
kbianco1
fromNM
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
 January 26, 2014
"This is a great alternative to the high priced, "natural" shampoos on the market. I feel good knowing I am exposing myself and my family to fewer chemicals. This has a pleasant smell and works well for kids and adults."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nature's Gate Hemp Nourishing Shampoo -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GaiaGal
fromNortheast Texas
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Multi Purpose Luxury @ Excellent Price
 January 25, 2014
"Although I do wash my hair with this product, it serves as my luxurious bubble bath times. It soothes and cleanses my skin and is gently aromatic. I always keep an extra bottle of Nature's Gate Shampoo on hand for my bubble baths. Best on the market. And, the price! Oh, my! Can't get a better bubble bath for this price!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nature's Gate Hemp Nourishing Shampoo -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MeditatingGirl
fromWashington, D.C.
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great shampoo
 October 27, 2013
"I ordered Nature's Gate Hemp Shampoo because I needed to get more hemp oil on my scalp. Great shampoo...and no sulfates! I now have my second bottle of this product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nature's Gate Hemp Nourishing Shampoo -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
twigsntwine
fromSan Diego, California, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Nature's Gate Hemp Nourishing Shampoo 18 fl oz
 April 13, 2013
"My husband and I have been using this shampoo for quite a while now. It is simply the best I have found anywhere. It is thick, rich and lathers well, with just a small amount. I use the conditioner once every two or three shampoos. Initially purchased this at Sprouts in San Diego, CA but it was so pricey, I decided to look online for it. At Vitacost it was almost half price. No artificial colors, no parabens, no phthalates or sulfates."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nature's Gate Hemp Nourishing Shampoo -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
MichelleME
fromCarrboro, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Not good for long/fine hair
 February 1, 2013
"I bought this shampoo because I thought it would be moisturizing for my dry/fine/long hair. I think it works okay as a clarifying shampoo, but when I use it I find that I have to use about double the amount of conditioner that I normally use."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nature's Gate Hemp Nourishing Shampoo -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
rocklic
fromNevada
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
A great product
 November 6, 2012
"A few years back I had to find a product that was fragrance free. I found that even if the product says fragrance free, it is in truth a chemical to mask the fragrance. I tried Natures Gate Hemp shampoo. I am absolutely sold. Not only is the fragrance natural, it has been the best thing for my hair. Everyone tells me how clean my hair smells. I have really long hair and the product lasts me and my husband a little over a month per bottle. A great product!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nature's Gate Hemp Nourishing Shampoo -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
shopper8
fromca
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
hold your nose!
 July 16, 2012
"When I recieved this product, it was leaking from the bottle. The smell of it is just sooo horrible, I can't stand it. Very heavy synthetic fragrance that will not easily wash off of anything it touches.I almost never give reviews, but I wish I had been warned...."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nature's Gate Hemp Nourishing Shampoo -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
rstarr
 June 3, 2012
"Love both shampoo and conditioner. I live in the desert and have tried many products. These work the best for my hair."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nature's Gate Hemp Nourishing Shampoo -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
REDTOP
Great Value
 January 30, 2012
"Nature's Gate Hemp Nurishing shampoo is the best shampoo I have ever used. The lusturous shine of my hair, the bounce and managability is wonderful. Nature's Gate Hemp Shampoo really brings hair to life!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nature's Gate Hemp Nourishing Shampoo -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
shirleyrosa
Cheap product with high quality
 January 29, 2012
"Good product can clean the hair easily. With a lot of bubbles, I like it!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nature's Gate Hemp Nourishing Shampoo -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JimSr
fromHouston
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
NG Hemp Shampoo
 July 6, 2011
"The feeling of natural shampoo is amazing! At this price, no one should hesitate to purchase it! Smells great and helps a little with my dry hair!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nature's Gate Hemp Nourishing Shampoo -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
curlyhead
fromSunnyvale, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
great for curly hair!
 June 4, 2011
"Already happy with Nature's Gate Hemp Conditioner, I was happy to find the shampoo to go with at Vitacost. Having tried and put aside so many expensive products promoted for use with curly hair, I am delighted to say the combo of both works better than any I've found out there. Both the shampoo and conditioner are gentle and leave my hair soft and curly. Would highly recommend them. Such a bargain too!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nature's Gate Hemp Nourishing Shampoo -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SemajS
fromNew Mexico, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:61-180 days
Love it!
 December 4, 2010
"I love this shampoo! I also use it as a body wash. Leaves my hair, scalp and skin in good condition. Has a pleasant fragrance. Try it!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nature's Gate Hemp Nourishing Shampoo -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Temi
fromNew York City
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Wonderful softness and shine
 July 8, 2010
"I wanted to write a review for the product due to the fact that I read reviews in order to gauge if a product will suit my needs. This shampoo is very mild, with very little foam, which is perfect because foam means detergent. As we may know that detergents damage the delicate hair structure. It has a very mild scent, almost undetactable. The only reason that I didn't give it more stars is 'cause it does have some chemicals that I try to avoid. It's a good product, just don't use a generous amount as the bottle instructs, use less. Buy it!!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nature's Gate Hemp Nourishing Shampoo -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Clymbrchick
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great product
 May 25, 2010
"Smells great and my hair feels clean. Love it!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nature's Gate Hemp Nourishing Shampoo -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Venicegirl
fromVenice, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Excellent for Curly Hair!
 May 25, 2010
"I have classically dry curly hair; this is a very moisturizing product; recommend you pair it with its complimentary conditioner, also excellent. Also incredible value for its size."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next