Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Shampoo or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Nature's Gate Moisturizing Shampoo Aloe Vera -- 18 fl oz

Journey to Wholistic Beauty. Vegan. Non-GMO. Paraben Free. Soy Free. Cruelty Free. No Sodium Lauryl/Laureth/Coco Sulfates. No Artificial Colors. Nature’s Gate a trusted alternative for healthy hair. Your cleansing routine just got more responsible. Our Aloe Vera + Macadamia Oil Moisturizing Shampoo gently cleanses hair with a unique blend of Aloe Macadamia Oil and Pansy. Ideal for dry/coarse Hair.
Overall rating:
4.482 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(56 reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 56 reviews
5 Stars
40
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
50 out of 56(89%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Nature's Gate Moisturizing Shampoo Aloe Vera -- 18 fl oz
Review 1 for Nature's Gate Moisturizing Shampoo Aloe Vera -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
yogalifer
fromFlorida
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
smells like portapotty blue liquid
 April 27, 2016
"I bought 12 or so shampoos at the same time from Vitacost to try to find one my husband and I both like, most of them were Natures Gate brand. Have tried them all once. This one is foul smelling. I attend and teach yoga at music festivals and get to use portapotties on an irregular basis. This aloe/macadamia shampoo smells just like the blue deodorizing/disinfecting liquid used in portapotties. Am frugal, but would rather throw away or give away than use it anymore."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nature's Gate Moisturizing Shampoo Aloe Vera -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
healthyfam
fromOhio
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Good shampoo...
 April 7, 2016
"Nice shampoo. Pleasant smell not too overpowering. Lathers pretty well. I would recommend for a natural shampoo,"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nature's Gate Moisturizing Shampoo Aloe Vera -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sherrilynn
fromCincinnati, OH
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
NICE SHAMPOO
 January 22, 2016
"Buy this for my young kids since it's not loaded with all the junk that other shampoos have on the market. Love the smell--makes my kids' hair smell so good! It's not too moisturizing, but not too drying either. I've been buying this for over a year or more now. Will continue to purchase since I haven't found any cons."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nature's Gate Moisturizing Shampoo Aloe Vera -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
CrazyBus
Good shampoo
 January 9, 2016
"Not excellent, but good. Doesn't smell as badly as other reviewers keep saying; I personally like the smell just fine. Not as moisturizing as I had hoped, however - especially if you have a dry scalp. Other than that, it's great for an every day shampoo."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nature's Gate Moisturizing Shampoo Aloe Vera -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
themommashopper
fromMichigan
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Very nice all the way around
 December 8, 2015
"Nice lather, nice smell (not too strong), nice feeling. Like it!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nature's Gate Moisturizing Shampoo Aloe Vera -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lillias
Works well
 November 4, 2015
"I have very long hair and have tried a lot of shampoos. This one doesn't dry my hair out as much as most shampoos, and my hair is shiny after using it. Also, the product is thick, not watered down, so the bottle lasts longer."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nature's Gate Moisturizing Shampoo Aloe Vera -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
laurenc
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great healthy shampoo
 October 29, 2015
"I wanted a shampoo without any chemicals and garbage and Nature's Gate fit the bill perfectly. Love the smell and the clean feeling of my hair after using it. I'll definitely buy this again."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nature's Gate Moisturizing Shampoo Aloe Vera -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JenniG82
love this product
 October 28, 2015
"i can't say enough about this product. I love the scent and it cleans my hair wonderfully!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nature's Gate Moisturizing Shampoo Aloe Vera -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mmztcass6
fromArizona
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
My son likes it...!
 October 10, 2015
"My son likes this shampoo for his hair. He also likes a lot of products with aloe vera in it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nature's Gate Moisturizing Shampoo Aloe Vera -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
amberc
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Smells good and cleans good.
 September 10, 2015
"This shampoo cleans nice but is not as moisturizing as was hoping. It does smell good though. I only use this brand hair shampoo."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nature's Gate Moisturizing Shampoo Aloe Vera -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jb1155
fromPetoskey MI
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Natures Gate Shampoo
 June 27, 2015
"Love this shampoo , tried for the 1st time, love the smell and will buy again"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nature's Gate Moisturizing Shampoo Aloe Vera -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
cfaith
fromSouth Dakota
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
works pretty well
 May 8, 2015
"This product works fairly well on my curly hair. It is an excellent price and works as good as many that are more expensive. And no bad chemicals!!!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nature's Gate Moisturizing Shampoo Aloe Vera -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
expertshopper
fromNew Jersey
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Good product.
 December 17, 2014
"I shampoo my hair only once a week and use a conditioner only once a week due to my hypersensitive skin.
This shampoo does not irritate my skin, does not cause itching or irritation in my eyes and most importantly does not cause me to break out in other parts of my body.
The shampoo has a nice smell to it, cleans the hair well and yet does not make it coarse or rough like other expensive high end shampoos. It hydrates the hair while keeping it clean if that makes sense. I have shoulder length naturally wavy hair which are thick and full of volume. This size bottle used once a week lasts a month and sometimes more than a month for me so it is quite economical too. Money saver and a good cleaner."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nature's Gate Moisturizing Shampoo Aloe Vera -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SunshyneG
fromBrooklyn, New York
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Works wonders
 November 2, 2014
"I highly recommend you to get this product It works Magical, Love the smell its All nature in Great price.. I had to order 2 of each"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nature's Gate Moisturizing Shampoo Aloe Vera -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Naturallykay
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Works well
 September 14, 2014
"I like it! Smells nice and cleans pretty well"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nature's Gate Moisturizing Shampoo Aloe Vera -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KayGP
fromPennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Very moisturizing
 July 20, 2014
"I have curly, dry hair that is prone to frizz. This shampoo used in conjunction with the aloe conditioner is amazing at keeping my hair soft, silky, and smooth. Great economical, natural product!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nature's Gate Moisturizing Shampoo Aloe Vera -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
FloweringVines
fromPennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Good value
 July 19, 2014
"Pro's
- The consistency is thick. You can even thin it out with water and double the amount.
- This shampoo cleanses well.
- Lathers just as good as any other shampoo. You don't need to use more like with other natural shampoos.
- The scent is pleasant. It smells like grape sweet tarts candy.
- Hair feels soft once it dries. Even if you don't use a conditioner.
- It contains alot of natural ingredients.
- You get alot of product for the price.
Cons:
- My hair gets tangled while shampooing which makes it hard to get my fingers down to the scalp. This happened with alot of Nature's Gate shampoo's that I've used.
- I have to use a conditioner after shampooing to counteract the alkalinity. (This is typical of any natural shampoo.)
"
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nature's Gate Moisturizing Shampoo Aloe Vera -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tlawless
fromdestrehan, la
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Healthy hair
 July 7, 2014
"This shampoo has made my hair feel so healthy. My hairdresser even made a comment about my hair."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nature's Gate Moisturizing Shampoo Aloe Vera -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jesuslovesyou2014
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Gets the hair CLEAN!
 July 4, 2014
"I don't think this shampoo has any sulfates, but it cleans really well. If you don't like that dry squeaky clean feeling you will not like this shampoo. A little goes a long way depending on you hair thickness.
I have 4c hair and on my hair when applied I immediately felt that dry feeling. I did a hot oil treatment first. After rinsing the feeling went a way a bit and my hair felt soft. I followed immediately with the aloe conditioner and it restored the moisture. I left the conditioner on my hair with a plastic bag for a few min (10-15) and my hair was SUPER SOFT and stretched as opposed to the norm for my hair which is a lot of shrinkage!!!!!
I washed my daughters hair today with this and before I did an avocado hair mask on her hair (Avocado, coconut, sesame, pumpkin, olive oils, and eucalyptus honey) I let that sit for over 30 mins, and then I rinsed and shampooed with this aloe shampoo, and to my surprise her hair on contact with the shampoo didn't feel dry and squeaky clean at all it felt soft. After rinsing I notice the squeaky clean feeling, but the aloe conditioner is the winner in this combo!!! Restored the moisture so well.
I would buy this shampoo again because it cleans well and I don't mind the really clean feeling because the conditioner restores the moisture and that feeling goes away!!!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nature's Gate Moisturizing Shampoo Aloe Vera -- 18 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
edieb
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
The Least Drying
 March 28, 2014
"My husband uses this shampoo. It seems to be the least drying of the NG shampoos we've tried. I also like the smell better than the others he's used, though the chamomile wasn't bad. The herbal is too strong, IMO."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next