Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Deodorant or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Vitacost.

Nature's Gate Deodorant Stick Summer Spice -- 2.5 oz

Advanced European Formula with Deoderm an Innovative Witch Hazel & Oak-Derived Odor Blocker. Created from advanced research from Europe Nature's Gate deodorants contain a blend of Oak Gall & Witch Hazel extracts which are effective in controlling odor-causing bacteria. Combined with other odor preventing botanicals such as Myrrh & Sage our exclusive formula gives you safe gentle protection and that shower fresh feeling throughout the day. Contains no aluminum.
Overall rating:
4.227 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
16 out of 22(73%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Nature's Gate Deodorant Stick Summer Spice -- 2.5 oz
Review 1 for Nature's Gate Deodorant Stick Summer Spice -- 2.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
PancakeRoofTop
fromMontana Rockies
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
long use
 June 10, 2013
"I have used this wonderful product for years. It works well, and I love the scent. But men may favor it more than women. My daughter liked the Spring scent. Highly recommend it. Especially considering the price."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nature's Gate Deodorant Stick Summer Spice -- 2.5 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Perlie
fromLa Mirada,ca
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Smells good but...
 April 5, 2013
"doesnt stop the body odor. After a short while I had to reapply. The search for a natural deoforant continues."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nature's Gate Deodorant Stick Summer Spice -- 2.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
babyboss
fromMountain View, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great fragrance and Cleaner ingredients
 March 21, 2013
"I like it and would recommend this deo stick because I like the smell which is not fruity or flowery but slightly spicy-- sweet. Not as spicy as the ones from Spice Bomb. Leaves no residue or stain clothes. Lasts for good 8-9 hours. Good for the price!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nature's Gate Deodorant Stick Summer Spice -- 2.5 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Strange
fromCincinnati
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
For me, an odor accelerator, not blocker
 January 31, 2013
"First a little backdrop. I'm definitely not a smelly guy, and wear deoderant "just in case". In fact, when I don't use deoderant, I barely emit any odor at all unless I'm really cranking away on something. I've used various brands, and they all do the job just fine... except I haven't found a scent I really like. This product sounded right and had great reviews, so I gave it a shot. After the first day or two, I put it aside because I assumed something was wrong with me... I suddenly had notable B.O., and for some reason this wasn't helping. I went back to the other brands, and things returned to normal quickly. But I tried this product a few more times, with a couple of months between, because I simply couldn't believe it had this effect-- but this product actually accelerates B.O. for me. Significantly. I didn't know it was possible for deoderant to do that, but it clearly did with me. Now I'm going to chalk this up to some strange, unique physiology of mine, because other users seem pleased. But though I've never done a review on this site, I just felt this heads-up possibility for others needed to be shared."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nature's Gate Deodorant Stick Summer Spice -- 2.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DDover
fromCypress, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
The best I've found yet
 August 30, 2012
"I switched to aluminum free deodorants about a year ago. I've tried 6 or 7 - and bought all four of the Nature's Gate seasonal varieties. The Summer is by far the most "manly" smell and seems to work much better and last longer than the Spring. I have yet to try the Fall or Winter."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nature's Gate Deodorant Stick Summer Spice -- 2.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Richinator
fromIndianapolis, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Effective and great smelling
 August 23, 2012
"Highly recommended, smells nice with just a little spice, feels cool going on and is an effective deodorant."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nature's Gate Deodorant Stick Summer Spice -- 2.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
theologian
fromMississippi
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
The Best!
 January 17, 2012
"Keeps odor away all day, and smells very fresh. The best stuff out there!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nature's Gate Deodorant Stick Summer Spice -- 2.5 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
OctopusJones
fromFlorida
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Not repurchasing.
 July 10, 2011
"I had to buy two deodorants (this and a spray on) to make it work (with at least a touch up during the day) and in the end, the spicy scent starts to smell medicine-y."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nature's Gate Deodorant Stick Summer Spice -- 2.5 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
hockeyguy
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Duration of use:61-180 days
What I was looking for
 June 25, 2011
"I wanted to replace the deodorant I have used for years with something safer (no toxic ingredients). This product seems effective --I don't need a strong deodorant. It has a nice smell and applies OK. All in all, it is just what I was looking for."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nature's Gate Deodorant Stick Summer Spice -- 2.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
littletree
fromConnecticut
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
smells great
 April 18, 2011
"applies nicely, smells beautiful and spicy. works very well. autumn breeze scent is nice too."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nature's Gate Deodorant Stick Summer Spice -- 2.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Deaconess
fromSt. Louis, MO
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Friend
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Good Deal, Good Scent
 August 18, 2010
"This product is excellent. It has a nice subtle scent that blends well with other products my husband uses. We don't do anti-perspirants as we react to them. Summer Spice is a God-send and I highly recommend it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nature's Gate Deodorant Stick Summer Spice -- 2.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ryrett
Works great
 October 19, 2009
"Works great, spells great. I like it. It's not necessarily summery to me, just a good scent."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nature's Gate Deodorant Stick Summer Spice -- 2.5 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
EquineLady
fromPennsylvania
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
A Decent Deodorant
 December 2, 2008
"Works about as well as your average natural deodorant. I will not buy this again; I can't decide whether it smells like a cheap men's colone or a 1930s perfume - it's pretty bad. :)"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nature's Gate Deodorant Stick Summer Spice -- 2.5 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
naturalharmonies
fromMilwaukee, WI
Age:25-34
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
safe, not really too effective
 June 17, 2008
"This deodorant is safe compared to commercial deodorants and anti-perspirants. This has a very spicy, manly scent. The downside is that it must be reapplied several times a day. It works marginally during cool and cold weather. It does not work at all during the summer or during work-outs. But, there is a trade-off, I guess for health. There are better ones out there that are safe."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nature's Gate Deodorant Stick Summer Spice -- 2.5 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
trini
too strong
 July 8, 2007
"it is a little effective, but it has too strong perfume smell."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nature's Gate Deodorant Stick Summer Spice -- 2.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bioresearcher
Now I know why I used to use antiperspirants
 April 16, 2007
"Summer's Gate has got a good product here - it smells pretty good, and it works. This was the first deodorant without an included antiperspirant I've ever bought. Having said that, I have noticed a difference in how much I sweat now (more, obviously), but at least it's healthy... Problem is, my shirts start to smell dirty a lot faster than they used to, and I am starting to notice occasional pit stains. I suppose one must sacrifice a little when not using an antiperspirant. This wears off disconcertingly quickly, but I find that I smell fresh again after my necessitated repeat applications throughout the day (every 2-3 hours if I'm being active, or every 6-8 if I'm just in classes and lab). So far no one has noticed my pit smell as much as I do (which tells me I need to reapply), but maybe they're just being overly tactful. I'm not sure what to expect as the summer months approach. At least my pits don't burn the way they used to sometimes with the antiperpirants. For the health benefits, I think this is worth it, but I'm still looking around and hoping to find something fairly natural that works longer between applications. I have a feeling I could find a plain deodorant that works better, but it would probably use a bunch of man-made chemicals that I'm trying to avoid in the first place."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nature's Gate Deodorant Stick Summer Spice -- 2.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dove
Summer Spice is Way Nice :)
 April 8, 2007
"Super, superior deodorant! I've used a lot of natural deodorants over the years, and before wising up, a lot of the junk you get at regular stores. But I've finally found the winner, Nature's Gate Summer Spice. I haven't tried their other flavors, heh, so they may be just as effective. But this is the first deodorant I've ever used where I still smelled nice at the end of the day :) And that includes the high-dollar lemony Weleda deodorant, which I had been using just prior to discovering Summer Spice. I love that it goes on clean and dry, no arm flapping :) like with Weleda's spray deodorant. I even like the nice happy sun image on the front of it. Clean, fresh smell...even after a long day. Totally fabulous deodorant, love it!
Dove
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Nature's Gate Deodorant Stick Summer Spice -- 2.5 oz
Based on the average of (5) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8 / 5
5 out of 5 recommend this product