Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

5-HTP(496)
Amino Acids(1,300)
Calcium(3,457)
CoQ10(2,313)
Coconut Oil(3,092)
EFAs(3,304)
Fish Oil(1,444)
Iron(518)
Krill Oil(716)
Magnesium(1,649)
Melatonin(998)
Multivitamins(10,736)
Omega-3(4,651)
Algae(723)
Bee Pollen(261)
Caffeine(85)
Celadrin(78)
Charcoal(83)
Chitosan(40)
Chlorella(133)
Choline(126)
Collagen(210)
Colostrum(172)
D-Mannose(43)
DHEA(367)
DMAE(75)
EFAs(105)
EpiCor(29)
FOS(2)
GABA(153)
GLA(6)
GPLC(27)
Gelatin(13)
Glycine(7)
HGH(36)
Iodine(41)
L-Lysine(143)
L-Theanine(195)
LPP(39)
Lecithin(220)
Lithium(3)
Lutein(314)
Lycopene(90)
MSM(371)
NADH(46)
Pectin(38)
Propolis(69)
Pycnogenol(131)
Quercetin(122)
RNA/DNA(1)
Red Wine(10)
Relora(2)
Silica(17)
Soy(98)
Taurine(75)
Yeast(71)
Probiotics(4,731)
SAMe(540)
Spirulina(79)
Vitamin A(130)
Vitamin B(4,288)
Vitamin C(2,606)
Vitamin D(2,291)
Vitamin E(464)
Vitamin K(247)
Whole Foods(1,139)
Zinc(335)
Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Alpha Lipoic Acid - ALA or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 1600 mg per serving - 60 Capsules

Powerful antioxidant combination provides anti-aging nutrition and may help promote healthy cardiovascular and cognitive function.*. What is Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl? Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl is a combination formula featuring two well-known antioxidant nutrients. Antioxidants are substances that help protect healthy cells throughout the body from free radical damage.*.  . Alpha lipoic acid (ALA) has been called a “universal antioxidant” because it is effective as an antioxidant in water-based substances such as blood while its reduced metabolite dihydrolipoic acid (DHLA) is effective in protecting fatty tissues and membranes.*.  . Acetyl L-Carnitine is the acetyl ester of carnitine an amino acid derivative and is distributed throughout the central and peripheral nervous system.  . ALA and ALC are known as mitochondrial antioxidants that can provide anti-aging nutrition.* Mitochondria are the “power plants” of cells providing the energy necessary to fuel a broad range of cellular processes.  . How does Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl support health? ALA may promote cardiovascular health by protecting against free radical damage.*. ALA and ALC can help to maintain blood pressure levels already within the normal range.*. ALC has been shown to reduce both physical and mental fatigue associated with aging.*. ALA enhances the antioxidant activity of vitamins C and E and coenzyme Q10. ALC is a precursor to the important brain neurotransmitter acetylcholine which contributes to the support of cognitive function and memory.*. Why choose Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl? Combines two antioxidant nutrients on one convenient formula. Contains 30 servings per bottle. Exceptional quality at an extraordinary value. About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP).  .  .  . *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.284 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(67 reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 67 reviews
5 Stars
42
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
5
59 out of 67(88%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 1600 mg per serving - 60 Capsules
Review 1 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 1600 mg per serving - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ctgal1
fromGreenwich, CT
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
works well
 April 7, 2014
"I feel satiated during the day. Since I'm not hungry, I eat healthier meals."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 1600 mg per serving - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DRBlk
fromReno, Nevada
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Good Quality
 March 12, 2014
"Another excellent quality product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 1600 mg per serving - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DofG
fromChicago Area
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
A great antioxidant and more
 March 5, 2014
"This product is a great antioxidant that recycles vitamin c. It also helps with energy conversion of fats. I've used ALA for many years and I'll depend on it for life."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 1600 mg per serving - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alvaro
fromWuhan, China
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Works
 February 22, 2014
"Helps to keep the mind active throughout the day.
This one with Vitacost L-Glutathione Plus CoQ10 is a complete combo!!
"
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 1600 mg per serving - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ChiTownAlive
fromChicago
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
An excellent product
 October 4, 2013
"Have been using it for awhile - only use the amount on the label. Takes a week to 10 days to see the difference, but then I noticed both my energy and memory were much better. Has been that way ever since, its working!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 1600 mg per serving - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sandooch
fromCA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Noticeable benefits with Vitacost ALA & ALC
 July 31, 2013
"I love this product! I've been taking it for a few months now. At the beginning, I only took one capsule daily and noticed a little difference in my skin tone and memory. But when I upped my dosage to 2 capsules daily 3 weeks ago, I saw even more of a difference in how my skin on my face was looking: more youthful, with much better tone and even a softening of my fine lines. I also noticed that I am now making way less typos when I work on my computer and can remember things more clearly. The only thing I've done differently to cause these two changes is I've been taking these capsules. I would highly recommend them."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 1600 mg per serving - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yasny
Dependable
 March 6, 2013
"A reliable way to get your ALC and ALP. Been using it for years."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 1600 mg per serving - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
itzik
fromJerusalem, Israel
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
good overall
 January 18, 2013
"good stuff, take before gym."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 1600 mg per serving - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
WelshWizard
fromScotland
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Excellent and affordable product
 December 14, 2012
"This is an anti aging combination especially effective for men in stopping (but not reversing) graying hair. I have used this combination for about ten years and my hair is just the same as it was when I started (i.e. beginning to go white at the sideburns). Hopefully it also has other health benefits."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 1600 mg per serving - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rosie43
fromCA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
 October 4, 2012
"I bought this product as part of a regimin to help with neuropathy in my feet. It is helping. My neuropathy is greatly improved."
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 1600 mg per serving - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
invader
fromSouth Georgia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
High quality product
 October 4, 2012
"I shop almost exclusively at Vitacost. They always have competive prices but the reason I continue to buy from Vitacost is the consistently high quality of the Vitacost brand products. In addition to these two very important qualities, I always recieve my order quickly."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 1600 mg per serving - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kimji
fromPacific Northwest
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Alpha Lipoic w/Acetyl L-Carnitine
 August 22, 2012
"This capsules are large but fairly easy to swallow. I have no trouble tolerating them. They do make one's urine smell a bit odd (like when you eat Asparagus)- but that is normal."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 1600 mg per serving - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
GSDY
fromAltamonte Springs, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
 June 5, 2011
"After taking it for several weeks, still have not noticed any difference."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 1600 mg per serving - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
robv
fromSoutheast Texas
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:61-180 days
cannot honestly say
 February 10, 2010
"I take this product daily and have for 6 mos. along with a great number of other supplements. It comes highly recommended by many nutrition athorities, but, I cannot tell any difference in the way I feel or perform."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 1600 mg per serving - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
VoidFiligree
Good Brain Health Combination
 January 3, 2010
"Combines two supplements reported to support brain health"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 1600 mg per serving - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Alphaman1906
fromThomasville, Georgia
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Good product
 December 11, 2009
"I take NSI Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine before I work out and can tell a slight increase in my performance. There is an order that is produced as a result of it. I notice it more when I'm doing cardio and sweat."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 1600 mg per serving - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ladyj322
Energizer
 November 23, 2009
"Gives me energy as well as clarity. I do not have brain fog with this product. I'm also losing weight. SUPER Product!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 1600 mg per serving - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
ChefStanley
Excellent quality product
 October 13, 2009
"This was the first time I've tried your products and I was very satisfied with the quality of the supplements. Keep up the good work."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 1600 mg per serving - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Good stuff
 July 21, 2009
"I found this very helpfull in increasing my energy physically and helping me stay mentally sharp all day."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost Alpha Lipoic Acid & Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 1600 mg per serving - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pashmina
Good value
 March 19, 2009
"I buy this brand because it is a really good value. Make sure to swallow with plenty of water."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next