Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop 5-HTP or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules

Natural amino acid supplement containing 5-hydroxytryptophan. What is 5-HTP? 5-Hydroxytryptophan or 5-HTP is an amino acid that converts to serotonin in the body. Serotonin is a substance that acts as a neurotransmitter or chemical that helps relay signals from one area of the brain to another.  . How does 5-HTP support health? 5-HTP can elevate levels of serotonin which is associated with good mood in humans.*. 5-HTP can increase a sense of well-being.*. Why choose Vitacost 5-HTP? Free of the compound “peak X” for health safety reasons.*. Exceptional quality at an extraordinary value. About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP). .  .  .  . *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.697 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 33 reviews
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
29 out of 33(88%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Review 1 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
FarFor
fromMoscow
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
yes
 October 2, 2014
"Good product, will order again!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
zbmama
fromOK
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Better than Expected
 September 3, 2014
"I take 200 mg 20 minutes before eating each of three meals per day for help with appetite control based on info I read on the Dr. Oz website. (The website info states you should only use this for up to 12 weeks in this way.) I am pleased to see positive results in decreased appetite and as a bonus it has great effect on my mood also!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MeMa
fromEnid, OK
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Good product and value.
 February 4, 2014
"Vitacost 5-HTP is a great product and one I would recommend to friends. Compared to purchasing in local stores, a very good bargain. I trust Vitacost brand, and will continue to shop with them.."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dontmesswithtx
Great Product
 August 10, 2013
"Works great and viticost brand very reasonable in price"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
chirp
fromhawaii
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 July 13, 2013
"it is a very valuable asset for feeling good and confident."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
albertairis
fromAlberta
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
This an excellent product
 May 29, 2013
"Because I have anxiety problems, I really love this product. It helps to make me feel calmer and just feeling so much better!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Easton
fromLincoln, NE
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Pharmacist
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
 April 22, 2013
"As someone with occasional sleep issues resulting in feeling down, I tried 5-HTP. My sleep has improved each night and I am feeling more refreshed and positive in my outlook on life since taking this product. Thank you."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
karma101010
fromSanibel, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
happy pill :-)
 April 14, 2013
"this has never disappointed me...whenever i'm feeling blue or in a bad mood, i take an extra dose & it puts the smile back on my every time! normally take it in combination with Gabba & it helps TREMENDOUSLY during "that time of the month.""
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
retnavygirl
fromPennsylvania
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Good product
 March 4, 2013
"Will continue to buy this at this resonable price and quality"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
ferfer
fromGulf, AL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Good product !!
 January 1, 2012
"The product was good for the price, it made me feel alot happier:)"
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kaaate
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
 November 29, 2011
"Fantastic product. Will continue to take the Vitacost brand 5-HTP for a while."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cheann
fromHollywood, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Excellent for Quieting
 May 14, 2010
"When I feel out of alignment, this product works within the hour for mental relaxation, allowing one to re-align with their own well-being."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CASAGRANDE
EXCELLENT
 October 4, 2009
"I really believe that this makes a huge difference in my mood.I try to recommend this to everyone.It's a great alternative and/or addition to taking meds"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MamaMimi
fromWashington, DC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Can't be without!
 September 20, 2009
"Hands down the best product I've used that controls mood and appetite. Very happy with this product and notice when I've not taken it for a couple of days."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HOKADESH
fromOregon
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
 March 5, 2009
"Couldn't get through a day without it! It really takes the edge off of stressfull situations."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
buddys
Very Happy with this Product
 September 28, 2007
"I don't have a lot of experience with this 5HTP but was pleased with this product. I would purchase it again when needed, from the same company line."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Based on the average of (17) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
14 out of 17 recommend this product