Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

5-HTP(542)
Algae(818)
Amino Acids(1,725)
Bee Pollen(311)
Caffeine(36)
Calcium(3,744)
Celadrin(79)
Charcoal(89)
Chitosan(43)
Chlorella(161)
Choline(135)
CoQ10(2,416)
Coconut Oil(3,788)
Collagen(285)
Colostrum(175)
D-Mannose(56)
DHEA(409)
DMAE(79)
EFAs(3,540)
EpiCor(35)
FOS(2)
Fish Oil(1,544)
GABA(185)
GLA(7)
GPLC(23)
Gelatin(15)
Glycine(9)
HGH(42)
Iodine(55)
Iron(545)
Krill Oil(731)
Lecithin(249)
Lithium(6)
Lutein(364)
Lycopene(102)
MSM(419)
Magnesium(2,024)
Melatonin(1,145)
Multivitamins(11,797)
NADH(51)
Omega-3(5,075)
Pectin(21)
Probiotics(5,620)
Propolis(72)
Pycnogenol(145)
Quercetin(130)
RNA/DNA(1)
Red Wine(11)
Relora(2)
SAMe(592)
Silica(19)
Soy(74)
Spirulina(108)
Vitamin A(150)
Vitamin B(5,001)
Vitamin C(2,874)
Vitamin D(2,638)
Vitamin E(515)
Vitamin K(305)
Yeast(62)
Zinc(372)
Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop 5-HTP or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules

Natural amino acid supplement containing 5-hydroxytryptophan. What is 5-HTP? 5-Hydroxytryptophan or 5-HTP is an amino acid that converts to serotonin in the body. Serotonin is a substance that acts as a neurotransmitter or chemical that helps relay signals from one area of the brain to another.  . How does 5-HTP support health? 5-HTP can elevate levels of serotonin which is associated with good mood in humans.*. 5-HTP can increase a sense of well-being.*. Why choose Vitacost 5-HTP? Free of the compound “peak X” for health safety reasons.*. Exceptional quality at an extraordinary value. About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP). .  .  .  . *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.625 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(40 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 40 reviews
5 Stars
30
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
35 out of 40(88%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Review 1 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Teacherter
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great product
 May 29, 2015
"This product is great to help with sleep and it's a great price when it's on sale."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
kissy3
fromlake elsinore california
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
didn't do what was suppose to
 May 12, 2015
"directions aren't clear when to take. It should be obvious. but doesn't work I tried another brand that did but since vitacost isn't that bad I tried this but didn't work."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
PENNK
fromDENVER
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
good quality
 April 21, 2015
"Works well..."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jazmyne
fromSan Diego, CA
Works great
 April 15, 2015
"This is a precursor to L-tryptophan and it helps us sleep better than tryptophan. I dream more and seem to sleep deeper and longer than without it."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ericajane
fromAlbertville, AL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Helps me sleep
 April 13, 2015
"I take this a half hour before bed. It relaxes me so that I can fall asleep. Keeps the anxiety away during the day too!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TAMIKO
fromGEORGIA
Age:75+
Gender:Female
great taken in evening for relaxing
 April 11, 2015
"Every product I have ordered from vitacost has been excellent, and everyone I have referred has been very satisfied."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
guts
fromPhoenix
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
works good initially
 October 27, 2014
"This product did alleviate my carb cravings initially but a good diet is still important to really feel the effects. Works better when I take it at night."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
FarFor
fromMoscow
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
yes
 October 2, 2014
"Good product, will order again!"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
zbmama
fromOK
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Better than Expected
 September 3, 2014
"I take 200 mg 20 minutes before eating each of three meals per day for help with appetite control based on info I read on the Dr. Oz website. (The website info states you should only use this for up to 12 weeks in this way.) I am pleased to see positive results in decreased appetite and as a bonus it has great effect on my mood also!"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MeMa
fromEnid, OK
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Good product and value.
 February 4, 2014
"Vitacost 5-HTP is a great product and one I would recommend to friends. Compared to purchasing in local stores, a very good bargain. I trust Vitacost brand, and will continue to shop with them.."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dontmesswithtx
Great Product
 August 10, 2013
"Works great and viticost brand very reasonable in price"
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
chirp
fromhawaii
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 July 13, 2013
"it is a very valuable asset for feeling good and confident."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
albertairis
fromAlberta
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
This an excellent product
 May 29, 2013
"Because I have anxiety problems, I really love this product. It helps to make me feel calmer and just feeling so much better!"
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Easton
fromLincoln, NE
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Pharmacist
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
 April 22, 2013
"As someone with occasional sleep issues resulting in feeling down, I tried 5-HTP. My sleep has improved each night and I am feeling more refreshed and positive in my outlook on life since taking this product. Thank you."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
karma101010
fromSanibel, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
happy pill :-)
 April 14, 2013
"this has never disappointed me...whenever i'm feeling blue or in a bad mood, i take an extra dose & it puts the smile back on my every time! normally take it in combination with Gabba & it helps TREMENDOUSLY during "that time of the month.""
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
retnavygirl
fromPennsylvania
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Good product
 March 4, 2013
"Will continue to buy this at this resonable price and quality"
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
ferfer
fromGulf, AL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Good product !!
 January 1, 2012
"The product was good for the price, it made me feel alot happier:)"
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kaaate
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
 November 29, 2011
"Fantastic product. Will continue to take the Vitacost brand 5-HTP for a while."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cheann
fromHollywood, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Excellent for Quieting
 May 14, 2010
"When I feel out of alignment, this product works within the hour for mental relaxation, allowing one to re-align with their own well-being."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 100 mg - 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CASAGRANDE
EXCELLENT
 October 4, 2009
"I really believe that this makes a huge difference in my mood.I try to recommend this to everyone.It's a great alternative and/or addition to taking meds"
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2 next