Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

5-HTP(487)
Amino Acids(1,285)
Calcium(3,256)
CoQ10(2,223)
Coconut Oil(2,841)
EFAs(3,291)
Fish Oil(1,385)
Iron(493)
Krill Oil(672)
Magnesium(1,527)
Melatonin(960)
Multi-vitamins(10,407)
Omega-3(4,478)
Probiotics(4,445)
SAMe(521)
Spirulina(74)
Vitamin A(116)
Vitamin B(4,054)
Vitamin C(2,438)
Vitamin D(2,148)
Vitamin E(442)
Vitamin K(225)
Whole Foods(1,016)
Zinc(323)
Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Fiber or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Source Naturals Psyllium Husk Powder -- 12 oz

Psyllium seed husk is an excellent low caloric source of soluble dietary fiber. Consumption of seven or more grams of soluble fiber from psyllium seed husk per day from this product in association with a diet low in saturated fats and cholesterol may reduce the risk of coronary heart disease. Source Naturals® uses only the husk of the seed as it is a much better fiber source than the whole seed. Suitable for vegetarians. Hypoallergenic.
Overall rating:
4.41 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(39 reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 39 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
34 out of 39(87%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Source Naturals Psyllium Husk Powder -- 12 oz
Review 1 for Source Naturals Psyllium Husk Powder -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jlands12
fromWausau, WI
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Just what I ordered
 April 7, 2014
"I was seeking out ingredients for a safe and inexpensive cleanse, and this was one of several products VitaCost was able to help supply me with.
Thanks!
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Source Naturals Psyllium Husk Powder -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
GJFOWLER
fromNorfolk VA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
 March 26, 2014
"Solid product"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Source Naturals Psyllium Husk Powder -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
lbuff
fromWalla Walla, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
GREAT QUALITY - OK Flavor/Texture
 March 12, 2014
"This item does what it says it will do. I've struggled with stomach issues for years and this addition to my daily healthy eating has been phenomenal!
I cannot tolerate the taste and texture mixed with water (that's the ONLY reason for 4 stars out of 5) - so I add it to my Green Monster Smoothie for my lunches and it thickens it (bonus!) and I just add some Stevia to the smoothie to counter balance the bland flavor of the powder."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Source Naturals Psyllium Husk Powder -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Afficionado
High Quality Psyllium Husk Powder
 February 19, 2014
"It does all that Psyllium Husk Powder is supposed to do. Tastes sweet and nutty compared to a more generic I've tried, and is a finer grain. TIP: With any Psyllium Husk Powder, I recommend sprinkling it on hot cereal, or on other moist foods to eat. Trying to take this supplement with water, as recommended on the labels, is a major chore. My favorite: Sprinkled on buckwheat cereal, then pour kefir over everything, add walnuts and fruit."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Source Naturals Psyllium Husk Powder -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LelaRose
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great price & quality!
 February 13, 2014
"best psyllium I have used and also the best price I have found for psyllium . Will rebuy! cheaper than Trader Joes and better too."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Source Naturals Psyllium Husk Powder -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
yishai
fromFitchburg, Ma
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
great product
 December 30, 2013
"Psyllium Husk Powder has many different healthly benefits. I like this product when I cook. I don't use yeast in my breads, but found out that psyllium husk will make my breads rise."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Source Naturals Psyllium Husk Powder -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tillie
fromWetumpka, AL
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
Does what it's supposed to do
 June 21, 2013
"This product is easy to swallow (following instructions) and easy to digest. It does the job it is meant to do without any side effects."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Source Naturals Psyllium Husk Powder -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
MissEsha
fromMaryland
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Nice and Smooth
 February 10, 2013
"I used another brand of psyllium previously and this one produces noticeably smoother results."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Source Naturals Psyllium Husk Powder -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
gumperto
Age:75+
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
easily added to cereal or granola
 July 6, 2012
"maintains your regularity"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Source Naturals Psyllium Husk Powder -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
LizP
fromSouthern New Jersey
Age:75+
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Poor Choice
 April 25, 2012
"This was the first time this product was purchased & will be the last. Does what it is supposed to do, but---it does not disperse regardless of how it is mixed. If you like drinking clumps, then this will satisfy you. If not, don't buy."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Source Naturals Psyllium Husk Powder -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
AUboy
Good Stuff
 January 27, 2012
"I got this to add soluable fiber to my low carb bread and waffles. It does not add any taste, just as I had hoped.
It does what psyllium should do."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Source Naturals Psyllium Husk Powder -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
amandapoli
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Family Member
Duration of use:30-60 days
smooth BM
 January 12, 2012
"I mix a teasp of this in my protein shakes 2 x day ..makes for a smooth BM..."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Source Naturals Psyllium Husk Powder -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CUREyourCANCER123
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Get it
 November 3, 2011
"The longer you wait to start this stuff, the worse you are off. This stuff is so healthy, its a wonder that everyone doesn't know about it...thanks to our educational institutions. If you are over the hill, you must be on some strong fibers and this fits the bill as a good daily item. Of course there is no taste so it mixes with about anything liquid. Ask your doctor first if you want to take it daily."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Source Naturals Psyllium Husk Powder -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
glad4Grace
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Best Psyllium
 July 21, 2010
"Easy to mix, and a very fine powder consistency"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Source Naturals Psyllium Husk Powder -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Shatoongra
fromCT
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Not happy
 December 8, 2009
"I am really not happy with this product. At least for me it didn't work. I have been using Food Now psyllium husk but vita cost don't have that item that's why I chose it for replacement but I am not satisfied with the results. Since I have it then I am using 2 full tea spoon dose in order to make it work. But still I am feeling some what difficulty. It might work good with somebody but not with me."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Source Naturals Psyllium Husk Powder -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jayersgould
fromBay City, MI
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great Internal Cleanser
 September 11, 2009
"Add this to a smoothie or with some bentonite clay for a great way to detox and cleanse the colon. A little goes a long way. Much more affordable than the brand name products. No taste so it mixes well with everything."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Source Naturals Psyllium Husk Powder -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sadie1325
fromOK
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Great Product
 April 25, 2009
"This is the best psyllium powder, you can't beat the price. I add a squirt of flax oil to the mix so I get the benefits of omegas and a smooth move! :)"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Source Naturals Psyllium Husk Powder -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alfonso
fromHouston, TX
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Fantastic product
 April 24, 2009
"The only psyllium powder I have found that did not contain either sugar are artificial sweeteners."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Source Naturals Psyllium Husk Powder -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
destiny
fromsan diego, california
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
 December 15, 2008
"Works great as a colon cleanse. I take 1 tablespoon with a betonite clay twice a day. Have had great results & feeling more energetic."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Source Naturals Psyllium Husk Powder -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
sms75
fromBoston, MA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Good product, but the taste...
 November 6, 2008
"I purchased this product to boost the amount of fiber in my diet. Since I've always had a problematic digestive system, I can't really tell if it's working, but at least it doesn't make things worse. The taste is something I have a hard time getting past. Even a small amount mixed in a smoothie renders the entire drink unpalatable for me. It also turns to a thick gel so it must be drunk quickly after mixing. All in all I think it's flaws are just part of the psyillium experience, and if that's what you're looking for... it's a good product for the price."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next