Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz

With Eco-Harvest Tea Tree Oil. Same Great Formula. We at Desert Essence believe in renewal.  . Renewal for body mind and spirit.  . Inspired by the healing spirit of the desert our sustainable natural products draw from nutrient rich desert botanicals like Jojoba Aloe and Tea Tree all revered in native cultures for their deep healing properties. Naturally effective without harsh chemicals our products work in harmony with your body to nurture soothe and restore.  . Desert Inspired. Beauty Renewal.  . This gentle and unique cleansing solution leaves your skin feeling clean and silky. Eco-Harvest Tea Tree Oil a known antiseptic leaves skin feeling thoroughly clean and oil-free. Extracts of Goldenseal Hawaiian White Ginger (Awapuhi) and essential oil and extract of chamomile soothe skin. Mineral-rich Bladderwrack harvested from the sea nourishes the skin to leave it looking vibrantly healthy. Regular use ever so gently helps improve the texture clarity and radiance of your skin.
Overall rating:
4.661 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(366 reviews) 322
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 366 reviews
5 Stars
298
4 Stars
39
3 Stars
13
2 Stars
5
1 Star
11
341 out of 366(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Review 1 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MarcieL
fromMartinsburg, WV
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great Product at Great Price
 November 8, 2014
"I really like the clean feeling that this product leaves behind. It really helps if you have a pump bottle to dump this in (I saved one from another cleanser). I also like that you can use this as a bodywash. This is a huge value when you compare to many of the other cleansers here. The bottle is very big!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pawkits
fromHillsboro, OR
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Love it!
 November 7, 2014
"I've been using this for the last few years. Gentle but effective! Keeps my skin clear and soft."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bisbeev
fromBisbee, AZ
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
I love this product
 September 23, 2014
"I have used this face wash for at least 10 years and would highly recommend it for combination or oily skin like mine. It removes the oil without leaving me with tight and stripped feeling skin. It has been great in preventing break-outs!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LB84
fromOK
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
My face feels so clean!
 September 13, 2014
"I have combination oily skin, and I have been using this product for several years on my face. I love how clean my skin feels, and it keeps my acne at bay. I buy this 32 oz size now and just refill my pump dispenser."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cdecrease
fromEast Lansing, MI
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Made me change my routine
 September 11, 2014
"Being a busy college student who works and is very involved on campus, skincare has not always been my biggest concern however, being a senior this year really hit me with the job market coming, and for the first time in my life, my face really suffered. I was desperate to find anything to get my skin back to its happy place. This product did it. If you are looking for something to really work but is also natural GET THIS. The only thing I dislike about it, is the package. I often find myself dumping more liquid into my hand than needed. A pump would have easily solved that issue for me."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LillyR
fromLos Angeles, Ca
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Clean and Refreshing!
 September 5, 2014
"I am 57 years old and have only used products as close to nature as possible. This is an amazing cleanser! It leaves my face feeling refreshed and my skin feeling soft."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MCHS
fromOklahoma City, OK
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great face wash
 September 5, 2014
"I've used this for years, it's great. Leaves my face feeling clean and I rarely ever have a breakout. So happy to be able to purchase it at Vitacost."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
twcoolbreeze
fromTX
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Awesome cleanser!
 August 30, 2014
"Love this face wash; I even use it as my body wash. Works best if you put it in a spray bottle."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Loves2Hike
fromArizona
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Refreshing and Gentle
 August 27, 2014
"Tea Tree is the main product and it makes for a refreshing and gentle cleanser - great for washing up after a hot day, excellent antiseptic properties too. Nice smell, as there are no artificial fragrances of any kind in this face wash."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
wyohippie
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Just plain clean
 August 7, 2014
"This product deep cleans without drying my skin out which is prone to breakouts. The price is great for a simple, effective product."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
emyclcopedia
fromVancouver, BC
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
everything i wanted and more
 August 1, 2014
"I first started using this product when I stayed over at a friend of mine and found that it leaves a refreshingly clean feeling on my skin without irritating it. Now, I have really sensitive skin and I've changed products over and over again because it was either too harsh on my skin or not effective enough-- but Desert Essence has never disappointed me. Been using it for three years now and skin is as clear as the sunny summer sky! Keeps me feeling confident and happy-- also doubles as a make up remover without taking ALL the oils off my skin. :) Definitely would recommend."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Recessionista1
fromFL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
This soap in an old foaming handwash bottle! LOVE
 July 18, 2014
"This face wash is so awesome! I have combination skin that tends to be on the oily side. This helps balance out my skin and tighten pores. It has a watery consistency, which is tough if you plan to leave it in the bottle it comes in, but I always transfer mine to an old container from foaming handwash. I clean out a bottle from any foaming handwash that is used up and transfer this soap into it. This soap it so light and fluffy when you use a foaming dispenser- just lovely. Great for men too. I will use this as long as it is on the market! Thanks for the clean ingredients!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Starbelle
fromSan Jose, CA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great face wash and cooling body wash.
 June 1, 2014
"I use Desert Essence Tea Tree Thoroughly Clean Face Wash for a nightly face cleaning and once a week as an overall body wash. It is refreshing and is a deep cleaner. Plus tea tree oil has healing properties.My skin feels wonderful with this product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yogini1972
fromQuebec, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great value!
 May 29, 2014
"This product is inexpensive, removes oil, dirt and makeup flawlessly and smells amazing! Love it!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tabithashabitat
fromSanta Cruz, CA
The Face Wash I Keep Going Back To!
 May 26, 2014
"I have probably tried 10 other face washes since going vegan and this is the only one that I have ever repurchased.
Don't be put off by the consistency--which is almost so thin it's behaves like water--this stuff means business. If you like a product that really goes in and leaves your face squeaky clean definitely check it out. I honestly feel like it does a better job doing that than any other wash (vegan or not) that I have ever used, and amazingly enough it does this without leaving my skin feeling irritated afterwards. I do have to make sure that I use a good thick moisturizer afterwards to ensure that my skin doesn't dry out to much after using it though.
That said there's one negative that you might want to be aware of: it stings pretty painfully if you get it in your eyes. Since it's a face wash this is obviously rather likely to happen so make sure that your eyes are tightly closed when you're using it. Because it does such an amazing job at doing what it claims to do I'm still going to give it five stars but I feel like there are people who might dislike this aspect of it more than I do."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
432purple
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great Product
 May 23, 2014
"Works great. Gentle on my face. Great price. Last a long time"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MtnWoman
fromPennsylvania
Best cleanser ever
 May 22, 2014
"I have oily skin and it gets oilier in the summer. It's especially oily when I wake up in the morning. I've tried all kinds of cleansers and never found anything that made my face feel so clean. It cleans that oil without making my face feel tight. I've also always had whiteheads on my chin. This cleanser has cleared those up.
I will never be without this cleanser."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CoconutLuver
fromSt Petersburg, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Squeaky clean!
 May 6, 2014
"Great product, really cleans the oil without drying out skin, tea tree is very cooling, smell is strong but rinses away easily. Like in other reviews product is thin, but a little foams up alot.. I transfered this into a small pump bottle and it works out great.. and what a huge amount of product for the price! Amazing"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ehwi
fromChicago
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily face wash
 April 15, 2014
"I use this as my daily face wash in the shower. I like the economical size, but since the product is quite watery, I fill up a small spray bottle and a few spritzes on my face is all it takes for the soap to lather up. I don't particularly like the smell of tea tree oil, but it doesn't linger after using it. Can't say I have seen any dramatic improvement in my facial skin, but it hasn't gotten any worse, so it seems to be doing its job."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Zammygirl
fromManchester, Nh
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Wonderful skin care product.
 April 15, 2014
"My teenage daughters and I all use this product. We use it as a face wash for clear skin. My daughters make a point to let me know when we are running low as they do not want to be without it. I also use a bit with my regular shampoo for dandruff/dry scalp control. It's a must have in our home."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 17 next