Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz

With Eco-Harvest Tea Tree Oil. Same Great Formula. We at Desert Essence believe in renewal.  . Renewal for body mind and spirit.  . Inspired by the healing spirit of the desert our sustainable natural products draw from nutrient rich desert botanicals like Jojoba Aloe and Tea Tree all revered in native cultures for their deep healing properties. Naturally effective without harsh chemicals our products work in harmony with your body to nurture soothe and restore.  . Desert Inspired. Beauty Renewal.  . This gentle and unique cleansing solution leaves your skin feeling clean and silky. Eco-Harvest Tea Tree Oil a known antiseptic leaves skin feeling thoroughly clean and oil-free. Extracts of Goldenseal Hawaiian White Ginger (Awapuhi) and essential oil and extract of chamomile soothe skin. Mineral-rich Bladderwrack harvested from the sea nourishes the skin to leave it looking vibrantly healthy. Regular use ever so gently helps improve the texture clarity and radiance of your skin.
Overall rating:
4.655 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(356 reviews) 313
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 356 reviews
5 Stars
289
4 Stars
38
3 Stars
13
2 Stars
5
1 Star
11
331 out of 356(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Review 1 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
wyohippie
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Just plain clean
 August 7, 2014
"This product deep cleans without drying my skin out which is prone to breakouts. The price is great for a simple, effective product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
emyclcopedia
fromVancouver, BC
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
everything i wanted and more
 August 1, 2014
"I first started using this product when I stayed over at a friend of mine and found that it leaves a refreshingly clean feeling on my skin without irritating it. Now, I have really sensitive skin and I've changed products over and over again because it was either too harsh on my skin or not effective enough-- but Desert Essence has never disappointed me. Been using it for three years now and skin is as clear as the sunny summer sky! Keeps me feeling confident and happy-- also doubles as a make up remover without taking ALL the oils off my skin. :) Definitely would recommend."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Recessionista1
fromFL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
This soap in an old foaming handwash bottle! LOVE
 July 18, 2014
"This face wash is so awesome! I have combination skin that tends to be on the oily side. This helps balance out my skin and tighten pores. It has a watery consistency, which is tough if you plan to leave it in the bottle it comes in, but I always transfer mine to an old container from foaming handwash. I clean out a bottle from any foaming handwash that is used up and transfer this soap into it. This soap it so light and fluffy when you use a foaming dispenser- just lovely. Great for men too. I will use this as long as it is on the market! Thanks for the clean ingredients!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Starbelle
fromSan Jose, CA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great face wash and cooling body wash.
 June 1, 2014
"I use Desert Essence Tea Tree Thoroughly Clean Face Wash for a nightly face cleaning and once a week as an overall body wash. It is refreshing and is a deep cleaner. Plus tea tree oil has healing properties.My skin feels wonderful with this product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yogini1972
fromQuebec, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great value!
 May 29, 2014
"This product is inexpensive, removes oil, dirt and makeup flawlessly and smells amazing! Love it!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tabithashabitat
fromSanta Cruz, CA
The Face Wash I Keep Going Back To!
 May 26, 2014
"I have probably tried 10 other face washes since going vegan and this is the only one that I have ever repurchased.
Don't be put off by the consistency--which is almost so thin it's behaves like water--this stuff means business. If you like a product that really goes in and leaves your face squeaky clean definitely check it out. I honestly feel like it does a better job doing that than any other wash (vegan or not) that I have ever used, and amazingly enough it does this without leaving my skin feeling irritated afterwards. I do have to make sure that I use a good thick moisturizer afterwards to ensure that my skin doesn't dry out to much after using it though.
That said there's one negative that you might want to be aware of: it stings pretty painfully if you get it in your eyes. Since it's a face wash this is obviously rather likely to happen so make sure that your eyes are tightly closed when you're using it. Because it does such an amazing job at doing what it claims to do I'm still going to give it five stars but I feel like there are people who might dislike this aspect of it more than I do."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
432purple
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great Product
 May 23, 2014
"Works great. Gentle on my face. Great price. Last a long time"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MtnWoman
fromPennsylvania
Best cleanser ever
 May 22, 2014
"I have oily skin and it gets oilier in the summer. It's especially oily when I wake up in the morning. I've tried all kinds of cleansers and never found anything that made my face feel so clean. It cleans that oil without making my face feel tight. I've also always had whiteheads on my chin. This cleanser has cleared those up.
I will never be without this cleanser."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CoconutLuver
fromSt Petersburg, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Squeaky clean!
 May 6, 2014
"Great product, really cleans the oil without drying out skin, tea tree is very cooling, smell is strong but rinses away easily. Like in other reviews product is thin, but a little foams up alot.. I transfered this into a small pump bottle and it works out great.. and what a huge amount of product for the price! Amazing"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ehwi
fromChicago
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily face wash
 April 15, 2014
"I use this as my daily face wash in the shower. I like the economical size, but since the product is quite watery, I fill up a small spray bottle and a few spritzes on my face is all it takes for the soap to lather up. I don't particularly like the smell of tea tree oil, but it doesn't linger after using it. Can't say I have seen any dramatic improvement in my facial skin, but it hasn't gotten any worse, so it seems to be doing its job."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Zammygirl
fromManchester, Nh
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Wonderful skin care product.
 April 15, 2014
"My teenage daughters and I all use this product. We use it as a face wash for clear skin. My daughters make a point to let me know when we are running low as they do not want to be without it. I also use a bit with my regular shampoo for dandruff/dry scalp control. It's a must have in our home."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tina0805
fromChicago, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Cleans Great!
 April 6, 2014
"I usually buy a Tea Tree cleansing product from The Body Shop (much less product for a lot more $$$). Dessert Essence seems much more natural and I can see a visible difference when I wash my face. It looks clean, my complexion seems more clear and bright. It is a bit thin and initially I thought it would not lather well. Turns out, it lathers nicely. Seems to keep breakouts in check...love it!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kalikween
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Love this Face Wash
 April 5, 2014
"At first the smell was a little strong, but after just a week of washing my face with it I could see a difference in my skin. My skin looked brighter and felt soo clean, like the makeup and oils from my face actually came out of my pours. Be careful to let even just a little get in your eyes though, it stings bad! Great facewash and love how big the bottle it. My husband also uses it and loves it. I use it twice a day!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tontita
fromJacksonville Beach, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
All natural and cruelty free!
 March 14, 2014
"I love the way this product deep cleans, yet leaves my COMBINATION skin hydrated. Added bonuses are the smell and the fact that this all-natural cleanser is cruelty free!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
flowrchild77
fromLittle Rock, Arkansas
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Excellent face wash
 March 10, 2014
"I love this product because it is effective, and the bottle is so huge!!! Great bang for your buck! I put it in a little pump bottle to make it easier to use. The only things I don't care for is the consistency (very runny) and the smell. It smells like Tea Tree oil, and I've never cared for that smell. But it works great, so I'm going to overlook the things I don't like because they're little in comparison to how much I like this product! I have acne-prone skin, and I think it really helps my skin stay under control."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
chorse
fromLihue, Kauai
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 March 6, 2014
"I was looking for a good skin cleanser and came across this product. I find it to be very refreshing and my skin feels very clean. I never feel as if I have residue left on my skin. And I absolutely enjoy the clean smell. I have been using this product for approximately 8 years"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
debs101
fromEmerald Isle, NC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Excellent product
 February 23, 2014
"I have been using this all natural product for over 20 years as a face and full body wash. It leaves my skin feeling tingly, soft and refreshed. It doesn’t leave anything behind!
I will occasionally use it to wash my hair which leaves it squeaky clean. One advantage of using this cleanser is that I do not get the scum build up in my shower that you get from soaps.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
hyuney
fromalabama
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
i like it
 February 13, 2014
"im using this small one and it almose ran out of this so thats why i reordered big one!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
diy60
fromBirmingham, AL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great facial cleaner for all skin types
 February 13, 2014
"In the 2-step cleaning method in "The Green Beauty Guide," I wash my face with an organic bar soap (like Dr. Bronner's Baby Mild), then clean my face with this pure cleanser. I can even add a little baking soda to this cleanser to exfoliate. In the winter, it can be a little drying to my mature skin, but pure oils and organic lotions quickly remedy the dryness. I just love how CLEAN my skin feels! My 28yr.old son also uses the same cleanser and he has beautiful skin. This economy-32 oz. size is a BARGAIN compared to what you'd pay retail for the usual 8.5oz bottle retail."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
blinky991
fromLehi, UT
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
AAAA++++++ Love this stuff!!!
 February 7, 2014
"I use this daily for my fac wash, I have added tea tree oil to it and it's wonderful... it's great to shaving with as well. Great value for the price and how long it lasts... :)"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 16 next