Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz

With Eco-Harvest Tea Tree Oil. Same Great Formula. We at Desert Essence believe in renewal.  . Renewal for body mind and spirit.  . Inspired by the healing spirit of the desert our sustainable natural products draw from nutrient rich desert botanicals like Jojoba Aloe and Tea Tree all revered in native cultures for their deep healing properties. Naturally effective without harsh chemicals our products work in harmony with your body to nurture soothe and restore.  . Desert Inspired. Beauty Renewal.  . This gentle and unique cleansing solution leaves your skin feeling clean and silky. Eco-Harvest Tea Tree Oil a known antiseptic leaves skin feeling thoroughly clean and oil-free. Extracts of Goldenseal Hawaiian White Ginger (Awapuhi) and essential oil and extract of chamomile soothe skin. Mineral-rich Bladderwrack harvested from the sea nourishes the skin to leave it looking vibrantly healthy. Regular use ever so gently helps improve the texture clarity and radiance of your skin.
Overall rating:
4.645 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(344 reviews) 301
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 344 reviews
5 Stars
278
4 Stars
37
3 Stars
13
2 Stars
5
1 Star
11
319 out of 344(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Review 1 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tina0805
fromChicago, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Cleans Great!
 April 6, 2014
"I usually buy a Tea Tree cleansing product from The Body Shop (much less product for a lot more $$$). Dessert Essence seems much more natural and I can see a visible difference when I wash my face. It looks clean, my complexion seems more clear and bright. It is a bit thin and initially I thought it would not lather well. Turns out, it lathers nicely. Seems to keep breakouts in check...love it!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tontita
fromJacksonville Beach, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
All natural and cruelty free!
 March 14, 2014
"I love the way this product deep cleans, yet leaves my COMBINATION skin hydrated. Added bonuses are the smell and the fact that this all-natural cleanser is cruelty free!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
flowrchild77
fromLittle Rock, Arkansas
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Excellent face wash
 March 10, 2014
"I love this product because it is effective, and the bottle is so huge!!! Great bang for your buck! I put it in a little pump bottle to make it easier to use. The only things I don't care for is the consistency (very runny) and the smell. It smells like Tea Tree oil, and I've never cared for that smell. But it works great, so I'm going to overlook the things I don't like because they're little in comparison to how much I like this product! I have acne-prone skin, and I think it really helps my skin stay under control."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
chorse
fromLihue, Kauai
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 March 6, 2014
"I was looking for a good skin cleanser and came across this product. I find it to be very refreshing and my skin feels very clean. I never feel as if I have residue left on my skin. And I absolutely enjoy the clean smell. I have been using this product for approximately 8 years"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
debs101
fromEmerald Isle, NC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Excellent product
 February 23, 2014
"I have been using this all natural product for over 20 years as a face and full body wash. It leaves my skin feeling tingly, soft and refreshed. It doesn’t leave anything behind!
I will occasionally use it to wash my hair which leaves it squeaky clean. One advantage of using this cleanser is that I do not get the scum build up in my shower that you get from soaps.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
hyuney
fromalabama
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
i like it
 February 13, 2014
"im using this small one and it almose ran out of this so thats why i reordered big one!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
diy60
fromBirmingham, AL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great facial cleaner for all skin types
 February 13, 2014
"In the 2-step cleaning method in "The Green Beauty Guide," I wash my face with an organic bar soap (like Dr. Bronner's Baby Mild), then clean my face with this pure cleanser. I can even add a little baking soda to this cleanser to exfoliate. In the winter, it can be a little drying to my mature skin, but pure oils and organic lotions quickly remedy the dryness. I just love how CLEAN my skin feels! My 28yr.old son also uses the same cleanser and he has beautiful skin. This economy-32 oz. size is a BARGAIN compared to what you'd pay retail for the usual 8.5oz bottle retail."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
blinky991
fromLehi, UT
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
AAAA++++++ Love this stuff!!!
 February 7, 2014
"I use this daily for my fac wash, I have added tea tree oil to it and it's wonderful... it's great to shaving with as well. Great value for the price and how long it lasts... :)"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Zebra12
fromKlondike, Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great Product
 February 6, 2014
"I love Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean Face Wash! I have been using it for about 6 months, and it helps manage my acne better than any other product out there. I still get an increase in pimples around the usual time of the month, but they are not as bad as they used to be, and the blemishes fade/heal faster. I also recommend the Desert Essence tea tree oil blemish stick. It works wonders as well!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
SeaLady
fromPawleys Island, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 January 30, 2014
"Horrible smell! Cannot use on my face, and even difficult to use on my body. Also bottle is so big, it's difficult to handle. I have a lot left over, but will not use, unless possibly for washing dirty hands in the garden. Will not buy again."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Di826
fromMiami, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great Stuff!
 January 7, 2014
"I use this for my bacne. I use it along with the fuzz brush below and it keeps my skin really clear. It doesn't dry out my skin and it leaves me feeling super clean and refreshed. The only reason I gave it 4 instead of 5 stars is because I still get some really bad breakouts. I do have a pretty bad case of it so it might be more helpful to someone that has a milder case of acne."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
zstar
Great!
 January 2, 2014
"Good cleanser great for oily skin! A little goes a long way!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1healthylady
fromUtah
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Great face wash
 December 13, 2013
"My husband ordered this face wash for me a month ago because I was complaining of oily skin, but I like to use natural products. I have really liked it! My skin seems to be doing really well. My only complaint is the smell. It's not bad per say, but it's not great. I'm pregnant, so I'm sure that's making me more sensitive to the smell. Overall great product!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lbb0221
fromNorth Carolina
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Love it
 November 17, 2013
"This is a wonderful face-wash. I was going to say "a wonderful, natural, inexpensive face-wash", but I didn't want to sound like I was qualifying the fact that it is wonderful. This is objectively great, and I have tried lots of high-end, non-natural brands. It smells nice, does not strip my skin, and somehow just FEELS like it is cleaning well. I've only been using this for a week, and in that time the tea-tree oil has helped clear up a pretty nasty break-out. Also, this lathers nicely, so a little bit of this goes a LONG way. A bottle this size will likely last more months. My only regret is that the bottle did not come with a pump--it's easy to spill out too much, since it's a very watery consistency. I ended up buying a small pump bottle to decant it into, which works nicely. Will definitely repurchase."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aseid
fromIowa
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great product for oily skin
 November 14, 2013
"This product is a great morning face wash for my thirty-something oily skin, and keeps my face clear without drying it out. I buy the large bottle and just refill a pump I purchased at Target."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
hd1200
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great value
 November 11, 2013
"I really like this face wash. Great, thorough face cleanser and a good bargain."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
AquaBluJoy
fromMaine
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Good General Face Wash
 November 9, 2013
"This face wash works really well for my teenage son that is going through the acne stage. I buy the 32oz refill bottle, I fill a smaller bottle to be used in the shower but to put my own spin on it I add a few drops of extra tea tree oil and a few drops of neem oil which are both good for acne. It works really well keeping his acne under control."
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
True1
I really wanted to like this.
 October 29, 2013
"I purchased this product as I am on a quest for natural products. I have oily, acne prone skin, and had high hopes based on the rave reviews. Unfortunately, this product did not work for me at all. First of all, this cleanser has the consistency of water, and I literally wasted half the contents as it spilled through my hands. Really annoying actually. Second, it did nothing for skin and actually made things worse. It dried out my skin, and I had more blackheads and acne. Bummer... still on the hunt for a good natural face wash."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mamagata
fromNebraska
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
AWESOME facewash
 October 17, 2013
"We use to get this in town for twice the price. Found Vitacost and what a save! Everyone in my family uses this product. Its great for all over the skin. I would recommend Desert Essence face wash for anyone with skin problems or just to keep your skin fresh.."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash - Original Oily and Combination Skin -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
wayway
good product
 October 4, 2013
"I like this product, since it can clean my face thoroughly. My only problem of this product is its unpleasant smell."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 16 next